We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hostel in all aspects”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable hostel in all aspects”
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Good well-kept hostel. We slept on tatami mats which were comfortable. Washrooms were clean and available on all floors. We did not use the kitchen but it appeared to be very small. Staff were friendly and respectful but were often busy handling a high volume of guests.

Some nit-picking cons:
- Only have 2 PCs for Internet use and was not free (probably because of the limited PCs). Given the size of the hostel and based on previously visited hostels, we expected a few more computers and free to use for guests. Free wireless was available, but unusably slow in our experience (others may have fared better). Again, I'm nit-picking and this will probably be a non-issue for most travellers.
- There is one pay per use laundry machine and if you need to use a drying machine, you must take your laundry across the street to a public laundromat where it is filled with smoking fumes.

Overall, we found this hostel to be reasonable for budget travellers.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    92
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
15
58
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Really super-friendly hostel in a wonderful city, a great base for a couple of days exporing Hiroshima and the surrounding area. subsequently cancelled our other booking in Osaka and went to j-hoppers there too!

  • Liked — Friendly stadd
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank guygriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
159 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

I live in Japan but due to awkward transport schedules, I decided to stay overnight in Hiroshima city before departing for home. I booked directly with the hostel. I asked for female-only room and they said it was full and only the mixed dorm was available; however luckily when I arrived I was given a female-only room that slept three.

First, the good points:
* The hostel is clean. Toilets are immaculate, and they have both western and Japanese toilets available.
* Although in the hallway so as another reviewer said, not at all private, the sinks are clean and feature a mirror and hairdryer.

OK, so here are the not-so-good points:
* This is not a ryokan, unlike what another reviewer said. It actually used to be a traditional Japanese inn, until it was bought and made into a backpackers. Although you may sleep on tatami on a (rather thin) futon, that's where the ryokan association stops, I'm afraid! If you're looking for a more Japanese atmosphere, this isn't for you.
* Japanese-style rice pillows. My neck still hurts!
* It's cheap for one person, but if you are travelling with more than yourself, you can find better deals either at real ryokans or at inexpensive Japanese business hotels (which there are many and in good locations in Hiroshima).
* There must be some kind of light near the window of the room in which I slept, as even in the middle of the night, I woke up from the brightness.
* There are no lockers and signs everywhere state that the hostel is not responsible for lost items, so you'd better hope these strangers with whom you're sharing a room aren't thieves!
* Phone staff were friendly, but the staff I encountered face-to-face were kind of expressionless-- not rude, just not exactly friendly, either.

I know many people go to hostels to hopefully meet other travellers and save money, especially in a country as different and purportedly expensive (it's not) as Japan. However, with a bit more research you can find a better, more comfortable option for around the same cost.

Some people clearly like it but it didn't do much for me.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bimdonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2008

I was a bit scared to stay here at first as it was more of a backpackers hostel rather than a guesthouse. I had this image of a dirty hostel but i was so wrong. The shared toilets and shower were sooo clean! the only annoying this about it was that the shower was on a 20sec basis so every 20sec u had to push a lever. i guess it's a good idea. it saves alot of water that way. The price was sooo affordable!! the staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. they also had bikes for hire which is always a good idea. The memorial parks and museums are close by so that provided alot of convincence. I would reccomment this to anyone young and looking for a cheap nice place to stay at.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank moshimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

This ryokan is not a bad option for affordable travel to Hiroshima. The rooms are small and there are only 3 showers for about 20 rooms but otherwise had very few faults. My girlfriend and I never had an issue getting into the showers when the time came (although it requires you press a button about every 20 seconds in order to keep water flowing). The kitchen and lounge are nice to relax in although somewhat small and during the warmer months there is a nice rooftop patio.

The location is great within walking distance to pretty much everything that Hiroshima has to offer. Hiroshima Memorial was about 2 blocks and the bar district about a 20 minute walk.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Showers,
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slee64f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

As we came in through the main entrance on a sidestreet that is about a 15-minute walk from the A-Bomb Dome we heard Nirvana playing in the background. The front desk staff was very nice and accomodating (we needed a room for an extra night and they obliged on the spot). Unfortunately, we were on the 4th floor and there is no elevator so we had to drag our bags upstairs.

We stayed in a twin Japanese-style room. The room was small, but that was fine - and it has a balcony. The mattress and bedding were comfortable on the tattami mats. There is no en-suite bathroom, but the private shower rooms were fine. Unlike other hostels, they actually provide you with soap and shampoo; towel rentals are 100 yen for the duration of your stay.

There is a rooftop lounge that closes at 9pm and a lounge on the first floor with 4 computers where people hang out after-hours. It's 100 yen for 30 minutes - cheap. The only real negative is that there is no real chill scene here, there's no bar. But that's most hostels. I'd stay here again.

  • Liked — location, staff
  • Disliked — no elevator, no party scene
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Platna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Stayed in a private japanese style room which was good base for the couple of nights we had planned for Hiroshima. Would definately stay again, cheep, chearful and clean & safe.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Willtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#10 of 121 in Hiroshima
897 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,345 reviews
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 121 in Hiroshima
381 reviews
Hiroshima Hana Hostel
#2 of 28 in Hiroshima
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse

Property: J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse
Address: 5-16 Dobashicho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0854, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty lodging in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in Nov, 2006. A former small Japanese sytle ryokan was partially remodelled into a cool Japanese style backpackers guest house/hostel. We are very close to the Peace Memorial Park and the A-Bomb. Also has good access to another World Heritage site Miyajima. Please visit the Hiroshima, the city of peace and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Rakuten, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing