We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

stayed here as part of a road trip around southern Honshu in Oct 2012.

Great location, just over the bridge from the peace memorial & about 45mins to Mia jima. Super helpful staff, free wifi & computers to use them on, cooking facilities, parking, communal area, smoking area, etc.

Staff really know the area & recommended a great okonomiyaki restaurant & local bar.

Stayed in private tatami room for one night & dorm for two nights, both great.

definitely would stay here again if i return to hiromisha!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRazzeldazzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 203 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is situated in a very good location. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the rooms were good. The only hardships we found was find a breakfast place to eat, there weren't many places nearby that opened before 11am. Otherwise it was a great place to stay and transport and the Memorial park was nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTwigz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed in Inn's, Ryokans and Hostels on my trip, but by far my favourite place was J-Hoppers Hiroshima. I even cancelled a night somewhere else just so I could stay here another night!

I was staying in a 4 person Japanese style dorm, although only on my first night was there a full house - and on my last night I had to the place to myself, which may have influenced my opinion. The rooms have minimal storage, but enough to store away bags, and the futons were very comfortable.

The hostel is situated practically on top of a tram stop, and in easy walking distance to the Peace Memorial Park and the train line to Miyajima. The staff are enthusiastic and helpful, and found the living room to be constantly buzzing with travellers. I managed to get some great advice from nights in the living room, along with some free food.

Loved every night here, and won't even consider anywhere else should I return to Hiroshima.

Room Tip: If staying in dorms, go for the Japanese-style. The western style bunks are nowhere near as comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed in the 3 person Japanese style room and it really gave us an authentic Japanese experience for our last night traveling in Japan. The room was very clean and the sleeping mats comfortable. There were several plug-ins and a little closet which was very nice. There was a weird smell in the room, but it wasnt too unpleasant, just odd.

Across from the room were the toilets, also clean, but no showers on that floor (4th floor). On the 3rd, there is one shower, which was clean and I liked how it had space to dry off and put on your clothes outside of the showerhead/wet area. However, the shower was hard to use because you had to keep pushing this lever every 15 seconds or so in order to keep your water going.

My biggest complaint about this hostel is that they are closed from 11 a.m.-3 p.m. so you cant check in then. The staff was helpful when we got here at around 1 p.m. to put our bags in storage while we roamed around the city to wait for check-in. Yet, we were very tired from being on trains all day and needed showers which we couldnt have.

Overall, its in a good location near Peace Park, etc, the rooms are clean, staff nice, kitchen has many free cooking things and nice facilities so I definitely recommend!

-iに

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkeil921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Very friendly, helpful staff. The location is good, right next to the Peace Memorial Park.

The hostel was clean. The kitchen is particularly good. Clean and with everything you need to make a simple meal in order to save some ££. They even have a stock of basic ingredients such as butter, oil and soy sauce as well as the usual free tea and coffee. Someone had even brought a massive lettuce from their garden we could eat.

The common room is tiny and lacks atmosphere. It wasn't so easy to meet people as it was not a space people congregated in. Appreciated the guitar though!

I recommend picking up one of the free green Get Hiroshima maps. It has some great recommendations for restaurants (inc. veggie), cafes and places to go.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We arrived in Hiroshima quite late at night and left to sight see very early in the morning, so I didn't spend much time awake in the hostel, but what I did experience was top notch, as long as you know what to expect from a hostel. It was very affordable and our room - a traditional tatami double - was a good size. The shared bathrooms seemed clean and well organized. Our room was on the fourth floor and there is no elevator, so keep this in mind if you're traveling with lots of heavy bags.

We arrived after the front desk was closed (They close at 10 PM) but our key and and a sheet with information about the hostel were left for us to be given by the night staff. We were also late for the 11 AM check out the next day by about 5 minutes, but the staff didn't mind at all and were extremely laid back and friendly about the whole thing, which we really appreciated. They provide free tea and instant coffee, as well as bag storage after you check out. The kitchen looked clean and well equipped, which could be nice if you've been traveling a while and want to cook for yourself for a change. They were also kind enough to provide helpful maps of restaurants and cafes in the area and it looked like they rent bikes as well.

There were a lot of nice shops and places to eat around the hostel and it was only a short walk to the Peace Park, Museum, and Genbaku Dome. We saw those in the morning, returned to check out, and then walked about 15 minutes to the JR train station and took the train to Miyajima while the hostel held our bags. We were going to take the tram because we didn't know there was a nearby JR Station but the JR train was suggested by the staff as it's much faster. The staff helped us find the station and seemed genuinely interested in our travel plans and in improving our stay in Hiroshima.

This is a great hostel and worked well as a base for seeing the major sights in the beautiful city of Hiroshima.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

A good hostel in a great location. It was reasonably priced and the staff were really helpful. We stayed in a Japanese style tatami room, and apart from a funky smell in the room, it had everything we needed. The roof top terrace was awesome too! A great place to enjoy a cold beer after a day of sightseeing!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hiroshima Hostel En
#7 of 34 in Hiroshima
17 reviews
Hiroshima Guest House Roku
#8 of 34 in Hiroshima
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuruya Guesthouse
#18 of 34 in Hiroshima
6 reviews
Hiroshima Station
Backpackers Hostel K's House Hiroshima
Hiroshima Hana Hostel
#2 of 34 in Hiroshima
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse

Address: 5-16 Dobashicho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0854, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty lodging in Hiroshima
Price Range: $24 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in Nov, 2006. A former small Japanese sytle ryokan was partially remodelled into a cool Japanese style backpackers guest house/hostel. We are very close to the Peace Memorial Park and the A-Bomb. Also has good access to another World Heritage site Miyajima. Please visit the Hiroshima, the city of peace and water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your J-Hoppers Hiroshima Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing