We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very surprising and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
JMS Aster Plaza Hiroshima International Youth House
Ranked #25 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Aster Plaza is not really a Hotel, nor is it a Hostel. It appears to be a function centre, that has accommodation on the upper few floors. Its in a great location for visiting the Peace Park and Museum. Approx a 5min walk straight up the street. WE arrived by bullet train. The easiest way to the Aster Plaza is the bus. Take the No,24 bus for “Yoshijima”from platform A-3 near south gate of Hiroshima JR Station, and get off at “Kako-machi”which is next stop from the Peace Park stop (about 25 minutes ride). You will see Aster Plaza across the road. Approx 190yen, pay cash in machine near driver.
We had a family of 4. Kids aged 15 and 12. We originally booked a Japanese style room for the 4 of us. However this was our first experience with a Japanese style room. After coming from Kyoto where we had two "double" rooms, the Japanese room seemed quite small. The price for the Japanese room was approx $280 total for 2 nights. We paid more than that per room per night in Kyoto. Ended up changing to 2 "double" rooms for an additional $28 total, ie $308 for two nights for 2 rooms, simply fantastic value. The rooms are your standard Japanese Western room, small bathroom (clean and does the job), 2 single beds (quite comfy), small fridge, kettle and LCD TV. Very little English content on the TV, but that seems standard for Japan. Thankfully the Sumo wrestling was broadcast in English every afternoon. Note there's usually an English button on all Japanese remotes, so if a program has English content it can be changed, but don't expect a lot of choice. Our 2 rooms overlooked the river (8th floor) and faced the Peace Park. They have washing machines and dryers, coin operated, 100yen, ask at reception. They also have a fully equipped kitchen if you need it, ask for key at reception. We didn't see anyone else staying in the hotel. It felt like we had the place to ourselves. This could be dependent on the type of functions being held at the Plaza. The reception staff were very very helpful, and had great English. The Aster Plaza isn't in the middle of the restaurant district, but there was a couple of small Okonomiyaki (google it, Japanese pancake, especially famous in Hiroshima) restaurants across the road. Ask reception to direct you to the Hana-Hana restaurant, small husband and wife setup. Our best meal in Japan.
Don't forget to go to Miajima Island to the south of Hiroshima, easy to get to from the Aster Plaza. I have already recommended the Aster Plaza to friends. You can't book online, but you can email them at reserve@hiyh.pr.arena.ne.jp to make a booking.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jonojoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for JMS Aster Plaza Hiroshima International Youth House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 83 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

the aster plaza is a very good hotel, i stayed in a western style room. walking distance to the peace memorial park.
for 3700 yen it is a very good deal for the otherwise very expensive japan.
bathroom was clean, and the room was very quiet.
as i stayed on the 9th floor I could enjoy a wonderful view over hiroshima at day and night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trillian78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The accommodations at Aster Plaza were clean and excellent value. We stayed in the Japanese style rooms (2) with our teenage children and enjoyed our stay. This is basic, clean lodging provided by friendly and knowledgeable staff. We used the laundry facilities which were a welcome addition to our stay. The fridge in the room was useful. I would not recommend the internet service offered in the common area as it timed out by the time the page refreshed. There is a wonderful noodle house across the street which I would highly recommend. An excellent breakfast buffet is offered next door at the Four Seasons Restaurant. The tram to Hiroshima Port is easily accessible for the ferry to Miyajima.

Room Tip: Some may find the futons in the Japanese rooms thin and difficult to sleep on. We wanted an authent...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funwhereverwego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel because it was recommended as a good, clean, inexpensive option and close to the Peace Memorial Park. My teenage son and I booked a single room each, with a private bathroom for only 3,750 yen. I was a bit hesitant, as we had stayed at some very nice, more expensive hotels in Japan, but was pleasantly surprised. Nothing fancy but comfortable enough with a clean, basic bathroom. There was a TV, desk area, little fridge, good A/C and jug for tea. We had Rooms 913 and 914 and they had fabulous, panoramic views of the river, bridges, city and mountains beyond. To get to the hotel, catch a cab for 1200 yen or take the bus going to the Peace Memorial Park from the bus stands outside the Station. Get off one stop past the Memorial stop. Look across the road and you will see two large, modern, white buildings. The Aster Plaza Hotel is in the one on the left with the curved front. The one on the right houses a Four Seasons Hotel that serves a good buffet breakfast for 1,000 yen until 9.30. There is a 7 Eleven close by with an ATM and freshly, packaged food for snacks. You can easily walk to the Peace Memorial Park and Museum from the hotel. There are Internet terminals on Floors 8 and 9 that cost 100 yen for 15 mins and the phones in the rooms charge home rates for long distance calls. They now take credit card and the rooms must be booked direct through their website. Courteous English speaking staff. I think it is owned by the City. If you want a basic but clean, budget priced room with your own bathroom, this is recommended. They also have a Japanese style room for the same price but I looked at it and found the tatami mats were a bit smelly - perhaps because of the heat & humidity in July. I think the pillows were the typical Japanese ones with the husk filling which may be hard for some.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This was a really comfortable and convenient place to stay. Not really close to train station, had to take a taxi with all our luggage from the station. But otherwise, close to the peace memorial, busline, etc. Most of the shopping places and good eating places were across the bridge but the walk is not too bad if you are in decent shape. I have knee problems so the walk was hard on me but no one else thought anything of it. English speaking front desk during the day, really great hole-in-the-wall ramen shop right across the street. Serves cold as well as hot ramen but will fit only about 10 people max. The best ramen I have tasted yet. Craft fair event was going on while we were there in one of their exhibit rooms. Seems like this is a center for activity. Great view of river from our room. Not fancy but nice. Coin laundry.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwanma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsterPlaza, マネージャー at JMS Aster Plaza Hiroshima International Youth House, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2010

Thank you for stayed with us, we appriciate all your family member.
What was your impression of Japan?
I hope that you had a pleasant time during you trip.

The great taste hole-in-the-wall ramen shop is one of Hiroshima's specialty.
Very small and really local Japanese style ramen shop which we loved.
"Tsuke-men" is name of the cold spicy ramen.
Dippe noodle into spicy soup and eat.

Our building include Hiroshima central cultural center.
We have some event like Music , Art, Dance parformance, etc.

We lookforward to coming you to Hiroshima again.

ALOHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We were so surprised when we arrived at Aster Plaza, it was so cheap ($37pp a night I think!) it was clean, there was enough space, we had our own bathroom which was clean, it was in a great location and we had really great views! It's a basic clean hotel room & fantastic value for money as it gives discount rates to travellers. Easy walk to peace park and the center of Hiroshima.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StaceyErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsterPlaza, マネージャー at JMS Aster Plaza Hiroshima International Youth House, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2010

Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you have returned home with wonderful experience from Japan.

As your review, we located 400meters south from the Peace memorial Park, very close to the center of Hiroshima city, restaurant and shopping district. Easy to access from Hiroshima JR station by No.24 Bus from A3, just in front of south exit of JR station.

If you would like to discovering 'Real Hiroshima', we will suggest you our favorite place, not only for tourists. Please feel free to ask at front desk. The staff are real Hiroshima citizens;-) so, we have a lot of information like tourist center.

We look forward to serving you on your next japan trip. See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We stayed here after reading the reviews and were not disappointed.
The room was the largest we had stayed in - we went for the Japanes type room and it was exactly the same as one we paid 32,000 in Hakone - wow we were impressed. The cost was extremely reasonable and if we could stay in rooms like this all over Japan it would work out cheaper than travelling in the UK. No free internet nor breakfast but for the price we didnt expect it to be included (cost under 7,000 yen for the two of us). It was slightly out of the centre of town, but then only a 10 minute walk away from some extremely good restaurants and the peace park. We left early in the morning so as to leave our luggage at the train station and use our train pass to go to The sacred island of Miyajima. It was so easy and quick and well worth it - would definitely recommend the walk to the top of the hill and back down the otherside - exhausting but lovely. If you want an email address for the hostal it is Hiroshima International Youth House [kokusei@hiyh.pr.arena.ne.jp] they were extremely efficient and spoke English.
Would definitely recommend this though it was a 15 minute walk from the centre of town.
There is an internet point in the area next to the lifts which you pay for and I think there was a restaurant on site, but we liked the walk into town and found some very good places to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsterPlaza, マネージャー at JMS Aster Plaza Hiroshima International Youth House, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2010

Thank you very much for your nice review. It is glad to know that you had nice time with us.

After we read your recommendation comments, we all feel a happy feeling. It is our pleasure that our guest returned home with wonderful memories from Hiroshima. Also, we are very exited to have guests from several different contries.We will improve the quality of customer service more!

As you suggested, the sacred island of Miyajima is beautiful place. We love Miyajima as unspoiled, spiritual island. From the top of the hill, you can enjoy a panoramic view of Seto sea . Not only striking red of the Japanese maple but also deep green of an evergreen forest were brilliant.

If you are a adventurous traveler, it is fun to paddle a kayak on the sea from opposite shore to the island. When the tide came in, you could through under the famouse red gate to the island.
It's half or 1day adventure by sea kayak.

We look forward to welcoming you to Hiroshima International Youth House anytime !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Chudenmae Station
Hiroshimashi Bunka Koryu Kaikan
Park Side Hotel
#14 of 121 in Hiroshima
334 reviews
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
#7 of 121 in Hiroshima
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#9 of 121 in Hiroshima
932 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi
Urbain Hiroshima Central
#8 of 121 in Hiroshima
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JMS Aster Plaza Hiroshima International Youth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JMS Aster Plaza Hiroshima International Youth House

Address: 4-17 Kakomachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0812, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range: $48 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — JMS Aster Plaza Hiroshima International Youth House 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your JMS Aster Plaza Hiroshima International Youth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aster Plaza International Hotel Hiroshima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing