We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant hotel near Hiroshima Peace Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi
Ranked #19 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hiroshima is a lovely, modern, thriving city. If you are a foreign tourist, you probably come here for the obvious reason. The hotel is a short walk from the Peace Park and its thought provoking museum. The perfect combination was to visit the park after dark and again the following morning. For this, the hotel location is perfect. There are nearby convenience stores for food and drinks. The included breakfast was really excellent.

The room was a standard Japanese semi-double, so you get the usual small space and integrated bath/shower/electronic toilet. The air conditioning was effective, it was clean and generally pleasant. The reception staff were helpful.

It is easy to travel from the station to the hotel. Just get the tram from outside the railway station to the Chudenmae tram stop - it is quick and cheap (you can pay the conductor) and was alright with luggage, the hotel is then only a couple of hundred metres away.

Suggested excursion - get the train to Miyajimaguchi and the ferry across to Miyajima. Tip - look up the tide table for Miyajima as it looks great at high-ish tide (Don't read Japanese? No, but you can spot that one column is blue and the other is sandy-coloured and the date and time numbers are all the same as the ones we use).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 893philb893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 290 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Yes, by Western standards, the rooms are a tad small, but ours ($79 a night) had everything we needed and some things we didn't (packaged hairbrushes, razors, etc.) but appreciated. The bed was comfortable. It seems modular bathrooms are common in Japanese hotels. By this, I mean the bathrooms are like plastic cubes created in a factory and then inserted into place. They are small, but if you've ever used a motor home or boat bathroom, you'll be familiar with the compactness. Everything does have it's place to maximize the space available. There's a desk, flatscreen and fridge. We've stayed in smaller hotels in Australia and New Zealand.

The (included) breakfast buffet is huge with many western and Asian options. One of the best hotel breakfast buffets I've ever had. Loved the fresh fruit and yogurt! Complimentary coffee and tea all day.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CompassWhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were staying one night as a side trip from a longer stay in Kyoto. We caught the Shinkansen down and were easily able to find the hotel (after wandering into the other Comfort Hotel just down the street).

Reception were helpful and had laminated English information sheets.

The room are small but very well organised. We were travelling in a group with a couple and a family of four. The couple had a double room which had the smallest bathroom I've ever seen - the sink was ingeniously hanging over the bath and you did have to be careful not to hit your knees getting off the toilet!

The family had two twin rooms next to each other. These were slightly bigger - the "single" beds are not much smaller than the double and there is a table with more living space. The children (aged 7 and 9) also got discounts, the first we'd had in all of Japan.

The location was handy to the major sights of Hiroshima, the museum and the H-bomb hypocentre.

The price we paid was the cheapest in our two week holiday to Japan. It's not a luxury stay but it was clean, very habitable and a bargain. It would be fine for short stays. The breakfast was extensive - western and japanese choices with a lovely spread of fresh fruit.

Room Tip: If you want more room space, go for a twin room, they're only a few dollars more in price.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Endlesstraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Strict 3pm check in enforced, however reception looked after our luggage so we could sightsee before returning for check in. 5mins walk to south entrance of Peace Park. 20mins walk to Hondori and the Okonoyamaki Village.

Front desk spoke adequate English and they had plenty of photocopied English instruction sheets to hand out.

Our room was on the 6th floor and unfortunately right opposite the lifts, which meant we had 4 hours of sleep due to the inconsiderate guests returning at 2am and children screaming excitedly at 6am right outside our room.

Notwithstanding the above, the room was fine. Not too small and we appreciated the clothes line over the small bathtub, as the laundry machines were fully occupied the 2 times I looked. Our room couldn't get the free WiFi, but I had my laptop so used the free LAN wire and used ConnectifyMe to create a hotspot for our iPhone/Android. No English TV but the LAN internet was fast enough for video streaming.

Toiletries (Kao branded) are provided but low quality. We used our own products instead. Plastic bathroom is the smallest out of the 4 hotels we stayed in Japan, but ingenius use of space with the sink 1/3 over the bathtub and a plumbing switch to flow water either to the sink or the shower. They still managed to pack in a gadgety heated toilet.

They provide oversized nightshirts, green stripped which we joked about getting ready to work at the bakery.

The breakfast was the absolute saving grace of our overnight stay. The spread was good: Japanese rice balls, miso soup, minestrone soup, tea/coffee/OJ/green tea, frankfurters, scrambled eggs, waffles, danishes, croissants & slices of bread for toast, butter/jam/cheese, yoghurt with various fruits.

Would stay here again, but will request a room away from the lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellobayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This place has a great price and offers all the basics any business travler needs. Free WIFI, free breakfast (with lots of options to suit anyone) and small mini fridges in the room are great pluses. Its also very close to the International Conference Center Hiroshima and many other attractions. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itravelalot1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Choose the Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi as the neighbouring Sunroute was slightly out of our price range and the price included breakfast.
The hotel is very reasonable at the price. There was free wi-fi in the room. Breakfast was pretty good given the cost of the room, there is a good selection of both Japanese and Western options - there is also free coffee available at the lobby through-out the day. The room and bathroom are of an average size for this type of Japanese hotel but are well maintained. Reception was helpful although their proficiency in English varied depending on whom you spoke to.
The location is no worse than that of the Sunroute, it just around the corner and there is a tram stop just in front of the hotel. If walking, the main undercover shopping street is about a 10min walk or it is two tram stops away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and my husband stayed there for one night. The location of the hotel is good i.e it's just walking distance from McDonald's, KFC, and other Japanese food outlets. Hiroshima peace memorial is around this area as well. To get to the Hotel you need to catch a street car (Tram) from the Hiroshima train station but it's not a big issue because the street car stops in front of Hiroshima station. Hotel rooms are average and no cons to talk about. We got two complimentary breaky buffet vouchers and their breaky included a good selection of western, Japanese food which is a big plus.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDiaz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#8 of 121 in Hiroshima
933 reviews
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
#7 of 121 in Hiroshima
356 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 121 in Hiroshima
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Park Side Hotel
#14 of 121 in Hiroshima
332 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi

Address: 3-7-9 Otemachi Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range: $57 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hiroshima
Comfort Hotel Hiroshima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing