We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined our stay in Hiroshima”
Review of Park Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Side Hotel
Ranked #13 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ruined our stay in Hiroshima”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have stayed in many other hotels in Japan andHotel Park Side Hiroshima Peace Park was really a dissaster.

The room was uncomfortably dark but the biggest problem was the smell in the room. Not only smoke but also fried oil smell from downstairs restaurants. (we stayed at the highest floor already)
When we opened the window it didn't help. Airconditioning didn't help either, because the smell came out of the airco as well! Curtains had a yellowish colour ,smoke?

We went to reception and asked if they have gave us a smoking room instead. But they told us it was a non-smoking room and gave us some purifier spray........
We were quite angry because we really felt unwell in the room, couldn't breath properly anymore. We are really not making a drama it was really how we experienced.

Staff showed us some more rooms, and all had the same smell! We recognized that he only showed us the corner rooms. So we asked him to show us another room but he didn't. We were very frustrated because we didn't had the idea he understood us. Later he showed us a room which was facing another building, still the same smell but a little bit better.

Location is indeed perfect, 2 min walk to Peace Memoral Park, and close to main down town Hondori.

Anyway, we won't stay here again! We checked for another hotel but mainly fully booked. So we just slept a few hours every day, because we didn't want to spend much time in the room.

Room Tip: No corner rooms. Don't stay here if you have asthma!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8TTYL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    164
    63
    12
    4
See reviews for
49
136
45
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Excellent hotel just 3 minute walk from the Memorial Park and A-Bomb Museum – visit to which was the main purpose of our visit. Excellent location also to walk around and visit/shop/eat in Hondori area where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. We arrived by train and took tram no. 1 from there to the hotel – very easy and fast. Our room was on the 9th floor with a beautiful view on the park and museum. The room was ok, a bit larger than standard Japanese hotel rooms which are normally tiny. Staff at the reception was very friendly and polite, did no charge a telephone call I made. The room was well equipped and super clean - as everywhere in Japan. The hotel was also the cheapest we paid during our 15 day tour in this country.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitrije56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Having stayed in other box size rooms in Japan, this one was generally on a par with others, but the location makes up for the size. It is very close to everything you would want to visit, even a great park where we went running every morning. The quality of the room was fine. Small issue with noise from the corridor but nothing too bad. Didn't try the breakfast as it finished too early. Biggest complaint was the slowness of the lift!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had an excellent stay at Park Side hotel. Room was a little bit larger than the standard japanese hotel room, and it had all sort of amenity: fridge, boiler, hairdryer...and the bathroom is well equipped. Wifi is strong and reliable in the room.
Staff speaks English without any problem; we arrived early, and not only we were allowed to leave our bags in the lobby, we found our bags directly in the room once we got back to the hotel.
The area is the best both to visit Hiroshima's landmarks and to enjoy some restaurants and shopping. It' s very close to the Peace park. The closest tram stop is Hondori, you can take Tram no. 1 from Hiroshima station.
Super cheap price, less than 40€ a night, during cherry blossom season!
If you're coming to Hiroshima, this is definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogotad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Because there were thin bathroom walls and there must have been a section not filled out, there was an eerie red light when we had turned off the bedroom lights. Not exactly welcoming view of brick either.

The bed was barely enough for 2 people however, I guess it was close to all the sights and they did come with robes and slippers to wear.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Fantastic value one street down from the peace park, not far from the street cars , Well worth the price, the bedrooms weren't large but plenty of room to lay your head. Staff were friendly, and would stay again if we were to come back to hiroshima

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

A great located hotel, next to everything you need to see in Hiroshima. Great value, friendly staff, decent sized rooms, clean. A plus is you can do free laundry, which is especially handy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mykepyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#10 of 121 in Hiroshima
897 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 121 in Hiroshima
380 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,343 reviews
Urbain Hiroshima Central
#9 of 121 in Hiroshima
335 reviews
Hiroshima Station
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
#15 of 121 in Hiroshima
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Side Hotel

Property: Park Side Hotel
Address: 2-6-24 Ote-machi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Side Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Rakuten and Priceline so you can book your Park Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing