We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent location, decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Side Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Side Hotel
Ranked #10 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent location, decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The location of this hotel can't be beaten. Just a 5 min walk to the A-bomb dome and Peace Park. The bars and restaurants of Hondori area are just a 10 min walk away.

The hotel itself is clean, with more modern rooms than most Japanese business style hotels I have encountered during my Japan trip. Friendly staff, they allowed me to use the laundry facilities even after I had checked out.

Wifi is only present in the lobby. Sadly the hotel was full when I wanted to stay a second night in Hiroshima as the town is quite fun!

The rates for a solo traveller were good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Menno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    146
    56
    8
    3
See reviews for
45
115
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is close to the Peace Park, Museum, A-Bomb Dome, Nuclear Bomb Center Point and the Hondori Street Arcade. Easy to locate too from the Google Map. Just about 6 mins walk from the Fukuromachi Streetcar stop. The hotel itself is good. I have no complain, and I am very satisfied with it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SingC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If there was a dingier room in this hotel than the one I got, I'd be surprised.

If you look at my profile, you'll see that I've reviewed quite a few Japanese hotels. I've stayed in my fair share of dumps that need renovating, but this room was a new low.

I sometimes wonder if the front desk staff give foreign visitors the crummiest room in the hotel. This was one of those times. At the very end of the corridor so you're thinking that you've got a corner room. The view from the window was of the staircase of the building next door. The only way you could tell if it was sunny (or daylight) outside or not was sticking your head out the window and looking right or left to see daylight at the end of the narrow space between buildings. The room smelt dank and musty. Carpet-tile flooring that was very old.

I'd have gone down to switch to another room, but checking in was arduous enough with the staff person on duty - I wanted to get out and explore.

I have to give them some credit. They give you a sheet of paper explaining what the buttons on the room heat/cool thermostat mean. However, they don't tell you what any of the menu items that pop up mean... so that piece of paper is pretty much useless.

Besides its location close to the Peace Park and the Atomic Dome, the only good thing about this hotel is that I only had to endure one night there. I read somewhere that this hotel is popular with foreigners. Perhaps they're all getting much nicer rooms or are backpackers. I don't know.

Actually, another positive was that the wifi worked in my room.... I didn't have to go down to the lobby to get it to work.

Would I stay again? No. Not unless I got a REALLY good rate and was willing to be up for trying to exchange my dungeon for a better room.

Positives: Wifi worked in the room, good location to the Peace park, museums, very quiet rooms
Cons: Old dingy room. Cheap carpet tile flooring, musty smell of the room. Perhaps this room was formerly a smoking room and they're trying to move the smokers to other areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Perfect location for visiting the peace park and museum, only a 2 minute walk away. Surrounded by plenty of places to eat and shop. Lots going on around the hotel but very quite inside. Tram stop to train station about a 10 minute walk. Our room though small had everything we needed for our nights stay, was spotlessly clean with free wifi and a kettle. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Positives:
5 minute walk to the Atomic-Bomb Dome
Less than 5 minutes to the Peace Park
Less than 5 minutes to Hiroshima's main shopping street
Lots of food and convenience stores nearby
5 minutes to nearest Tram/Streetcar stop
Complimentary self-service guest laundry
Free internet access via ethernet
Reverse cycle airconditioning

Negatives:
Some rooms are better than others - mine had very little natural sunlight at all and wasn't well lit
Self-service complimentary guest laundry instructions in Japanese only - thank goodness for smartphones
Free wifi on at reception level only
About 15 minute tram ride from Hiroshima Station (for Shinkansen and JR trains)

Tips (Neither positive nor negative):
Nearest tram stop is Fukuromachi, but the next two nearest stops are well under 10 minutes away, which means you have some flexibility in what tram to get.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank appleton1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I stayed there for 3 nights. Everything was fine !

This hotel had renovated early this year (2010). Room is relatively big when comparing with other Japan hotels. Just minutes walk to main shopping street, around 15 minutes to Parco shopping mall. Another 15minutes walk to Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum. It only costed 6500Yen per night (around USD65)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sst215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Pros: Good price, excellent location. Major attractions really close. ex. A-Bomb Dome 5 min walk. Very close to shopping areas. Cons: Terrible pillows on beds - mine was like a bean bag pillow which made sleep difficult. Front desk speaks very little English, but that's probably arrogant of me to assume they should. No cable TV, in case anyone wanted to watch. Great value for the price though.

I would definitely stay here again due to the price and location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#11 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
#8 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
#4 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Side Hotel

Property: Park Side Hotel
Address: 2-6-24 Ote-machi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Park Side Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing