We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quiet, restful and unique international experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hiroshima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
World Friendship Center
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This accommodation is recommended by the Michelin Green guide 2009 edition. Well equipped for modern travelers, dozen of plugs to recharge your gadgets, good quality wifi internet access (free of charge), new AC unit in a clean Japanese style room. Simple occidental Breakfast is served at 8am and allows discussions with other guests. Highly recommended for visitors of all ages.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cj98103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for World Friendship Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 139 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2010

We arrived late in Hiroshima on the shinkansen from Kyoto and followed Ron and Barb's extremely detailed directions to their place - this was much more like staying with friends than staying in a hostel or hotel, a very comfortable and homey environment. They're Americans volunteering with the World Friendship Center and made us feel right at home. Their house is Japanese style and they had futons laid out for us on tatami mats and we slept like logs! The next morning was like family breakfast - the three of us plus a family of five and a solo traveler all gathered around the dining room table - which was the low Japanese style - on cushions while Ron and Barb bustled about serving us the most marvelous breakfast we had our entire two weeks in Japan! Afterward, they were extremely helpful, providing us with copious maps and had even arranged a free guided tour of the Peace Park! (Note: this was done with advance notice but is one of the services they provide - the other family had asked beforehand and a guide had been called, and we were free to go along with them, which we did quite happily!) It really increases your awareness of the details of the park.

We couldn't stop talking about how much we'd enjoyed our stay afterward, and if (hopefully!) we ever go back to Hiroshima we'll definitely stay there again! It was a nice mixture of Western and Japanese styles. Their overall attitude was I think what made the stay so special - Hiroshima is the City of Peace, and that's the sense we got there!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calitaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We only stayed here for two nights in December 2008 and I wish we had planned for longer. Kent & Sarah were the most welcoming hosts we came accross in Japan (and that is saying something!). They offered us local knowledge about what to see and where to go and some background on Hiroshima and it's history but also it's hopeful vision for the future. On Kent's suggestion we visited the A-Bomb museum first, a very humbling experience, and followed it with a visit to Mirajima Island (my absolute favourite place in Japan) which is a totally uplifting experience and a very beautiful place. The WFC is an old traditional Japanese style house, so it is small! But very comfortable and clean. The breakfast, served by your hosts, will set you up for the day and there is a laundry service available for a very small charge as well as free internet access. The WFC is easy enough to find if you follow the clear directions provided - there is a tram that runs straight from the train station. I would most definitely recommend this place for a heartfelt experience of a fascinating city. Come in Peace, Go In Love! x

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollydaydreams02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

We were so glad we stayed at the World Friendship Center, our hosts were very warm and immediatly made us feel relaxed and at ease. They were also very helpful with advice on the peace park, travel around town or any other questions we had.
The bedrooms and bathroom are nice, and sitting down to eat breakfast in a small home dining area was a nice change as opposed to a hotel dining area.
Public transport to the center from the train station is relatively easy and when at the center there's some nice small local restuarants nearby and of course the peace park which is only a short walk away.
Of about the dozen places we stayed in Japan, the friendship center is one that holds some of our nicest memories.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

The WFC felt like a home away from home. The co-directors were welcoming and helpful and nothing was ever too much trouble. Breakfast was sumptuous. It is a nice stroll from the Peace Park, and the family-run restaurants they had recommended were fantastic.

The place and the people made our experience in Hiroshima even more enjoyable.

Big thank you to Sarah and Kent!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DaveandSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

We stayed here in Oct 08 and were a bit disappointed. I agree with the other reviews that the volunteers were friendly and easy going and gave good advice. It was also interesting to have breakfast with other travellers at the same table to talk with. However we found the place over priced, a bit shoddy and poor a location, compared to other hotels for much the same price.

Heres why:

The price has gone up - Its now 7800 yen (cash only) for 2 people and you get twin beds and have to share 1 shower. There are some very good modern hotels for a similar price (8000-8800 yen) with your own bathroom and free japanese breakfast, free internet pcs and far better location.

Poor Location- Its on the wrong (West) side of the peace park in a residential area-15min walk to peace park with not much around. Other hotels are on the commercial (East) side and a similar distance or closer to the peace park, but with hundreds of good restaurants and shops all around you and on the way. From WFC to the commercial area its about a 30 min walk or 10 min walk and a tram ride. Its worth going into town if only for the excellent hiroshima style okonomiyaki at Okononomi-mura in the commercial area and theres not much choice around WFC.

Rooms- There is nothing in the room except the beds, a light and a clock and not much space. The pillows are awful (big sewed-in hole in the middle!) I found it a bit old and shabby and little details like having an electric socket next to your head when in bed, made it all seem a bit shoddy.
In hotels for a similar price you get a beautiful and comfortable modern room and ensuite, lots of amenities like TV, slippers, tea and coffee and a kettle, english newspapers, shampoos, moisturisers, razors, a mirror and hairdryer etc etc which are missing in rooms at the WFC.

Internet- It costs 300 yen to use the pool PC for internet (usually free). Theres a washing machine but with STAFF USE ONLY sign.

Getting a shower in the morning- Sharing with 7 other people and with breakfast at either 7:45 or 8:30 means a rush for the shower and waiting around. Its an old bathroom with blocked drain in the shower at the time.

Sure the breakfast is a social experience, but without a shared lounge, its not that social here outside of that time.

9:30 check out time! (usually 10)
No Alcohol !

Its not a japanese experience staying here. The place is setup in western style except that you sleep on the floor have tatami floor in the rooms and take off shoes at the door. Theres not the Japanese attention to detail that one may start to become accustomed to. Its kind of like staying for free at friends house or a student flat, except that you pay. If you want a Japanese experience you will find a Japanese run Ryokan much more japanese.

I would recommend the better value Toyoko inn (8000, for 2 people) or Hotel Active 8800 (for 2 people) over this place for a far superioir, more comfortable room, your own bathroom and all the little japanese touches that make Japan so cool! Comfort Hotel Hiroshima Otemachi (8500 2ppl) is also a good option.

However, if you want a more western experience, western breakfast (toast and muesli, although its easy to get bread and use the often supplied grill ovens anyway), speak to some fellow travellers during breakfast and dont mind some discomfort and inconvenience you may like to stay here.
Their brochure says the volunteers are from the Bretheren church and they have some "peace" activities, also on their website, which you may wish to read before you assume they have a worthwhile impact on world peace.

For us it was the crumbiest place we stayed in Japan and one of the more expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank argeybargey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed at World Friendship Center for one night in September, 2008. Our room was cool and quiet at the height of Japan's hot, humid, and rainy typhoon season.

We arrived at the Center after a night on Miyajima. Kent gave us detailed instructions prior to arrival on how to use public transportation, but we took a taxi from the station since we had our packs. The driver had some trouble finding it, but entered the information we had into his GPS and found it quickly. The center is in a quiet neighborhood along the river.

Our room was on the second floor with fantastic air conditioning and fans. The room had two futons and a small table. The closet had board games and extra blankets. The restroom upstairs had a sink and toilet and the bathroom downstairs had toilet, tub, and shower. Breakfast was fabulous - toast, juice, fruit, cereal, and more. We ate with other guests at a small kitchen table.

Checkout was at 9:30am, which was fine because Kent and Sarah had arranged for an early guided tour of Peace Park. The park was 15 minutes away on foot.

We couldn't have asked for nicer hosts and recommend the Center highly.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheapTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 121 in Hiroshima
425 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#9 of 121 in Hiroshima
933 reviews
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,397 reviews
Hiroshima Station
Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
#12 of 121 in Hiroshima
429 reviews
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Friendship Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Friendship Center

Address: 8-10 Higashikannonmachi, Nishi-ku, Hiroshima 733-0032, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty lodging in Hiroshima
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center for Peace Education. Free talks with Hibakusha *A-bomb survivors are included. Free tours in the Peace Park are included. Western style breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
World Friendship Center Hiroshima
World Friendship Center Hotel Hiroshima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing