We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book it without hesitation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hiroshima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
World Friendship Center
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Book it without hesitation”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

One of the highlights of my stay in Japan. I stayed for 2 nights, keeping things relaxed. Seemed like others rushed in and out with 1 nighters. The place is spotless, the directors of the WFC were very friendly and super helpful.

Spending a morning chatting to a survivor who shared his story and some photos was arranged by the WFC and an amazing experience worth a 100 museums and parks. They did also arrange a tour of the park which was nice to have someone show us around as there are many memorials.

I liked that the place is linked in with the community via helping with English and that the founder has a memorial in the peace park - so WFC comes with some proper Hiroshima credentials!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_daysleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
43
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Simple accommodations: futon on the floor, bathroom down the hall, but very well connected to the Peace Park. We had a talk from a A-bomb survivor and a guided tour of Peace Park, plus great conversation with the hosts in this guest house.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NedWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed only one night recently, and our hosts were very welcoming and friendly. The tour of the Peace Park and getting to meet an A-bomb survivor were...memorable. Wouldn't hesitate to return, and highly recommended.

Accommodation is futon mattresses on tatami mats, with lockable room doors, and breakfast is a communal affair with the half-dozen other guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The WFC was an excellent place to stay during our short tour (3 nights/3 days) of Hiroshima. We slept on traditional futons (yes, on the floor!) and shared bathroom facilities (which is not for everyone, but worked fine for our family of six). Breakfast was simple (cereals, fruit, toast, yoghurt, tea/coffee) but sufficient and set us up for the day.
The staff at the centre arranged a (free) tour of the Peace Park and then a (free) talk from an A-bomb survivor - both of which were excellent. The staff also gave us advice on travel around Hiroshima and tips of where to eat locally (lots of great restaurants).

Room Tip: There are no choices on rooms :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in October 2012.

World Friendship Center (sic) was established to provide a place in Hiroshima for international meeting and understanding. When I first considered staying here, I was apprehensive about staying in a guesthouse with a "mission". Such fears were, of course, groundless.

The WFC is a 1960s Japanese-style family home in a residential area of Hiroshima, a short tram ride from the Peace Park and A-bomb Dome. It is staffed by volunteer directors from the US, who at the moment are Larry and JoAnn Sims, who provide a terrific American welcome, extending as far as very personalised restaurant recommendations and really worthwhile advice on which parts of which attractions are most worth a visit (I may have missed Daisho-in on Miyajima if Larry hadn't mentioned it to me).

Rooms are Japanese style, with shared bathrooms. Guests are invited to share a continental breakfast together with the directors, which is a good way of discussing what's worth seeing in and around Hiroshima and, in a very very small way, promoting the international encounters that the founders envisaged (during my stay, I shared breakfast with British, Brazilian, South African and American visitors), although it's hard to know if they would approve of the Saijo sake festival.

One special aspect of staying at WFC is that, with advance notice, it is possible to organise an interview with an atomic bomb survivor, which is an extraordinary opportunity to hear first-hand about the events of 7 August 1945 and their consequences for one family.

I would be very pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nürnberg
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

In a familiar atmosphere we stayed in an original japanese home. The very friendly volunteer directors gave us all information for our excursions and organized an interview with a hibakusha A-bomb survivor. We stayed there with our adolescent children and felt very comfortable. We can recommend the world friendship center for their hospitality and the historical and social commitment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth und H... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The WFC is a fantastic place to stay. You feel like you are at home (I wanted to say thank you for having me when I left!!!) It is a 15min walk to the Peace Park and they can organise a guide and a talk for you too (no cost). The hosts Joanne and Larry are fantastic and will do anything they can to help. Breakfast is good and healthy - cereal, yoghurt, toast and fruit and will keep you going. The restaurants around the place are local and cheap - I went to the same one both nights and both meals were delicious. On J and L's recommendation I went to Miyajima Island which was delightful. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 122 in Hiroshima
1,380 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 122 in Hiroshima
1,311 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#10 of 122 in Hiroshima
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 122 in Hiroshima
350 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to World Friendship Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about World Friendship Center

Property: World Friendship Center
Address: 8-10 Higashikannonmachi, Nishi-ku, Hiroshima 733-0032, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty lodging in Hiroshima
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Center for Peace Education. Free talks with Hibakusha *A-bomb survivors are included. Free tours in the Peace Park are included. Western style breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
World Friendship Center Hiroshima
World Friendship Center Hotel Hiroshima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing