We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
Ranked #4 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is stylish and Newly remodeled with slightly bigger rooms than most Japanese hotels. Bathroom are exquisite for a Japanese hotel: separate room for the toilet and shower/tub. Front desks speaks little English, but very patient and helpful. Beds are harder than most in Japan. Very clean room and bathroom. Parking is $15 per day and breakfast is $12 per person. I found a good price on Kayak.com, but otherwise this hotel would be on the more expensive side. Right next to Hondori Street (shopping and restaurants).

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 450 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a brand new hotel, only opening in October 2013, a week or two before we arrived. The taxi driver had not even heard of it & had to ask others for the location.

We had asked for an earlier check-in, at 1pm, but they would not allow us to check-in until 2pm. They would not even do the paperwork before that time, so when we did come back at 2pm we still had 15 minutes of checking in!

On top of that, they were charging us a higher price than the confirmed price! We had the email printed out, but even then they were reluctant to give this rate to us, with much conferring over it before they finally acquiesced!

On their website, they asked if there were any special requests. I put down the request for an earlier check-in, & also asked if we could have a bit of a view from our room please (I didn't mind if it was city, mountain, whatever). We were given a blank white cement wall to look at!!! Both requests were ignored. Don't ask if you do not intend to even try to accommodate please Washington Hotel!

Whilst we were waiting in the lobby to check in, we looked for maps & brochures. There were none on display in English at all. We had to ask & they had to dig around in a cupboard to find one for us.

We liked that is was brand new & very clean. The bathroom was excellent, including the toilet with the warm seat & all the Japanese type buttons & accessories. The shower & bath were in a separate 'wet room', a great idea & I loved it (but if you take any photos of it just before your shower, just remember there is a band of mirror on the wet room wall.....).

The location was excellent too. There is a new/refurbished shopping centre opened just beside the hotel, & a long arcade of shops, spanning several blocks, extending from beside the hotel to The Peace Park. So a good proximity to The Peace Park, shops, restaurants and cafes.

We appreciated the location of this hotel, & the newness, free wifi in the room, but we didn't feel welcome at all. We felt 'tolerated' is probably the best description. There seemed to be many business men staying here, & the hotel didn't seem set up for tourists really, particularly English speaking ones! And they did not seem particularly efficient, but perhaps this will improve with time. We would probably consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Not really. They didn't give me what I asked for anyway - a room with a view. I didn't appre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minxSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank チャンコ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Huangyupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank M I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank アカシヤ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masanobu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#2 of 123 in Hiroshima
1,545 reviews
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 123 in Hiroshima
1,434 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#8 of 123 in Hiroshima
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiroshima Washington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiroshima Washington Hotel

Address: 2-7 Shintenchi Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0034, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 123 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range: $66 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hiroshima Washington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Hatchobori, the downtown area of Hiroshima. Our location makes us ideal as both a business hub in and around the fast-developing city of Hiroshima and as a tourist base for two World Heritage Sites: the A-Bomb Dome and Miyajima Itsukushima Shrine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Rakuten, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hiroshima Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing