We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I understand...”

Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.58*
and up
Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima
More Info
$351.45*
and up
Hiroshima and Miyajima Day Tour from Osaka
More Info
$351.45*
and up
Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Kyoto
Ranked #1 of 197 things to do in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park commemorates the explosion of the first atomic bomb, and houses the Peace Memorial Museum and monuments related to the horrific event.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Now I understand...”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Walking through the Peace Park, it was difficult to get my 10 year old to show an appropriate amount of respect. We came to the Museum, and he really go into it. My 8 year old listened to every part of the audio guide, which was very moving and sometimes quite confronting (as it ought to be). She concluded in her journal "it made me feel special". I don't quite know what that means, but I guess she couldn't quite find the right word. Neither can I.
Go and see it. And get the audio guide.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,661
    1,123
    213
    48
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio TX
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Very extensive and sobering museum”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The museum is located in the Peace Park. It is quite large and starts off with background on the war. From there, it covers the background of atomic weapons development. So far, it is rather detached history. Then, the museum covers the human impact and it becomes quite emotional. I was the most touched by the fused and melted child's tricycle and the shadow on the steps left by the vaporized person.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Justifiable reminder”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was our second trip and still had the same impact as the first. The staff were helpful and the building is easily accessable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DianeSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A must see and experience museum”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This museum is located adjacent to the Peace Memorial Park. In fact we took a stroll from the Atom Bomb Dome through the Peace Memorial Park to this museum. The museum chronicles the history of Hiroshima before and after the bombing. A photo of the Atom Dome before the bombing can be seen in this museum.
It also houses a collection of what remains of personal effects of victims of the bomb, the effects of heat, pressure, and radiation on building materials together with educational and facts and figures.It was heart wrenching to see kids were robbed of their happiness.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NKR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sobering Experience”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

this museum is a must see if you are visiting Hiroshima, as difficult as it is to see and fathom what happened back then, it's a must see so future generations never forget, and so history doesn't repeat itself.
The first main room lays out a scale model of what the city looked like before and after the bomb was dropped, then as you make your way through the museum, you see artifacts and photos from that make you stop and shutter…. there are right ups in English as well as Japanese for every item explaining what you are seeing. The most gripping item for me was a childs tricycle that was badly disfigured & the story that went with it, as well as some of the shreds of clothing which was all that remained of some of victims. Also included in the museum are the actual cement steps where the image of a person was seared into it when the bomb vaporized him. You've seen the picture of it in history books, but you don't think it's real until you see it in person. A very emotional and moving museum, but it is history and needs to be preserved and recognized.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank L00kin4aBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum also viewed

Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hatsukaichi, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 

Been to Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing