We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Ranked #11 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night in July. We purposely visited Hiroshima to visit the Peace Memorial Park and this hotel was the perfect location for it. A 5 minute walk across the street.
The rooms are out dated and furnishings are old, bathroom is small. It is what you would expect for the price. There is only WIFI in the lobby and not in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vancas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    395
    166
    32
    19
See reviews for
140
267
94
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed in Sunroute for 2 nights in Oct 12 with family, this property is old and so are the rooms. The biggest advantage of this hotel is the location, its 5 min walk away from the Peace memorial.
Location wise excellent, also good connectivity with the trams in Hiroshima.
Room are old and lots of smoking smell in the lobby. If you just spend the night for sleep and day for sightseeing then ideal hotel with the price they offer the room. So in that sense value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for River View Rooms they have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel was cheap and cheerful, a little dated in its interior and rooms, but well worth the money.
You can't get a better location in Hiroshima, and the room came equipped with a small refrigerator and kettle.

The staff spoke English and were helpful.
Perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mendokusai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last night and apart from the fact that it is in a ideal location we really regretted staying here.

Im not sure if we were assigned the worst room in the hotel as i cannot believe the number of good reviews it had but we found the room gross.

It felt like we had stepped back into the 70's as the furniture and carpet were old and very worn out. There were dark stains on the carpet in both the hotel room and the hall ways. The carpet in the elevator looked like it had not been vacuumed in 6 months.

The bed was hard which i guess is normal for some japanese accommodation but we had two pillows that were very hard. One was really lumpy and it felt like a sack of rags. We had a third pillow and it soft but really thin. I managed to sleep ok on it after folding it so it support the weight of my head.

We paid about 100 for the night and although not much we still think they need to do some refurbishment.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ollielolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

From my room I had a view of the dome, park and river. It was also convenient to catch the boat to Miyajima.
About a 10 minute walk to the main shopping area of the city.
The room was clean but a bit tired looking.
Overall by Japanese hotel standards its a good place to stay, especially as this was by far the least expensive hotel during my 3 week stay in Japan.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Perhaps the best attribute of this hotel is its location. It is on the river, directly across from Peace Park, less than a 5 minute walk. Along the river is a very nice walking trail and restaurants are very nearby. There is a Starbucks and a UCC Diner (typical diner food) all within a block. We ate at the UCC Diner every morning and it was very good. Within a 10-15 minute walk is Hondori St., the food/shopping area of the city. Also within a few minutes walk is the Chuden Mae (orange) tram stop. From this location with the tram system, you can go anywhere in Hiroshima.

The lobby is very modern and comfortable. There is a bar on the lobby floor and a restaurant on the top floor, neither of which we visited. Also available at the front desk is a currency exchange, which is very convenient!

The room decor and furnishings are dated, but are still nice and comfortable. The bed was comfortable and the pillows very plush. The room size (ours was a single bed room, 11th floor) is adequate for two adults and a small child.

The bathroom has the typical Japanese features: heated toilet w/motion sensor which runs some water when you sit down, heated no-fog mirror, and good shower water pressure.

This hotel still uses and actual key for the room lock, of which you leave at the front desk when you leave the hotel. I've found this is common at most hotels that don't have electronic locks.

They will also store luggage for you if you want to check out, but still sight-see before catching a train/plane.

The only downside to this hotel is the HVAC air/heating system. The hotel shares one system, so you cannot choose between heat/cool in individual rooms. This is no problem in the winter or summer, but during transition months can be problematic. We visited in mid-April and it was warm outside. The hotel still had the heat on, so our room was very warm. There is a thermostat, but it was only a matter of choosing between warm and hot air. We inquired at the front desk and they were very apologetic for the issue and explained about the HVAC system. They offered to move us to a smoking room, which has windows that open. We declined since it was our last night there, but we did appreciate the offer. Later that night, the air was much cooler, so we suspect they either turned the air conditioner on or dialed down the heater.

In all, we had a very pleasant stay and would gladly do so again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjhess74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and conveniently located to the sights of Hiroshima. The rooms of this hotel are larger than many Japanese hotels. It is a very clean and well appointed hotel. Very quiet. Walking distance to everything you want to do. We walked to the Peace Memorial Park and Museum, A-Bomb bldg., adjacent shopping district and the Hiroshima Castle. All were very interesting. Also, walking distance to restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LWMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
#8 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Park Side Hotel
#10 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima

Property: Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Address: 3-3-1 Otemachi, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0051, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing