We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Tranquil Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shukkei-en Garden

Shukkei-en Garden
2-11 Kaminobori-cho, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
+81 82-221-3620
Website
Name/address in local language
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 158 things to do in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 17th-century miniature landscape garden was restored after its destruction in 1945, and contains a pond, streams, islets and bridges.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
264 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Tranquil Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Shukkeien Koen which has an area of 15,000 square metres, is a gem not to be missed. It is easy to spend 1 - 2 hours wandering the paths that wind through and around the central lake.
Opening hours are; Oct - Mar 9 am to 5 pm, Apr - Sep 9 am to 6 pm.
Entry; adults 250 yen, high school / clege students 150 yen, children 100 yen.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank StanleyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    186
    43
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taree NSW
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I loved these gardens. This was the best garden I visited in Japan. It had a real sense of peace and beauty. I would recommend this to everyone

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeanneKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quite a walk and only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

An average garden by Japanese standards - pretty in parts but not really worth the walk. Other than the fact that the orginial garden was flattened by the a-bomb, there isn't really anything remarkable about it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantraybridge
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden, lovely staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I really enjoyed seeing different gardens in Japan, and this one really was absolutely gorgeous - even on the freezing cold January morning I went there! I had to leave after 90 minutes as I was due to get a train to Hakata at 11.30am, but could easily have stayed for another hour. The garden is lovely: it really exemplifies the way in which Japanese gardens aim to look different from different angles and vantage points, it was amazing... the range of views available in such a small city park space was incredible! Also the koi were fat and impressive, and the small bamboo grove was beautiful!

I really enjoyed this place - very tranquil, lots to see and experience, and very well worth the modest entrance fee. In addition, it has a nice little cafe and a shop with some lovely souvenirs - handicrafts using scraps of kimono fabric and other things I'd not seen anywhere else! Very nice! Also the staff were very friendly here - especially the security guard who spoke with me for a while in very impressive English, and later took my photo for me as I left for my train! A very lovely place. I can only imagine how much more beautiful it is if you visit in spring or autumn...!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TankGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is so under rated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We thought an hour or two on day one in town nearly got locked in we spent so much time wandering around admiring it.

Don't miss it

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dono1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shukkei-en Garden also viewed

Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 

Been to Shukkei-en Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing