We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Strangely beautiful reminder of something so sad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atomic Bomb Dome

Atomic Bomb Dome
Book In Advance
$155.98*
and up
Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park and Miyajima Island Tour from Hiroshima
Ranked #2 of 167 things to do in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This skeleton of a building is all that remains in the area where the first atomic bomb exploded on August 6, 1945, and serves as a symbol of both the horrors of atomic war and the hope for world peace.
Cantraybridge
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Strangely beautiful reminder of something so sad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It feels rather odd 'rating' a sight like this... but then again, it is something to behold: a remarkable reminder of what the bomb did, as well as its peculiar nature that left some buildings partly intact despite razing 1000s of others to the ground, as well as destroying so many people, and so many more people's lives.

This is an impresive structure, and an impressive entrance to the peace park. It is strangely beautiful to look at - but sort of chilling, as others have remarked - and it is also fascinating to read about it, and to learn more about the surrounding area. Definitely somewhere anyone must visit if they go to Hiroshima.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TankGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,008
    849
    183
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good memorial site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This building is well preserved, world heritage site and a memory of WWII. The only building to see the result of Atomic bomb.Very sad to see this place and it should not happened again. The place is easy to find, close to the tram station. You should walk along the river. Spend sometimes to learn what happened in the past and it should not repeated again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angiiiangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Touching, overwhelming, a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was absolutely touched and moved not only when I first saw the Atomic Bomb Dome but every day I saw it since I spent 3 days in Hiroshima. You need time to digest something like that, you need to seat down and just contemplate it. I had a strange feeling, the same way the writer of the previous review had. There are no words to explain, you just have to go, see it and experience it by yourself. It's a total must see!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LAMENUDA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“chilling attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

don't know why but when i saw this, i had this strange feeling of chill inside my bones... hahaha=) the environment was a bit strange for me, though things are just normal, i had this weird sense of the air. oooh... maybe because reality of what had happen stroke on me! we were able to talk to a "free" guide, though you can't enter the area, she shared the history and then we were able to be introduced to a guy who is an a-bomb survivor. he told us his mother's story (since he was in her womb when the bombing happened) and shared the experiences for survival of his mother. it's just so nice to see how japan manage to maintain it to remind of their mistakes. near this dome is a memorial mound where they buried all the dead people after the bombing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jerai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disturbing and fascinating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It is a great monument of the past. All the descriptions are in English and detailed. You can walk around the Dome and see it from all angles. It looks as if the bomb had just hit it. Very chilling.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mispulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atomic Bomb Dome also viewed

Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 

Been to Atomic Bomb Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing