We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
Ranked #3 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well located”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Room size was about 12m sq with a pod bathroom off that. Perfect for a couple. Room appears older style in brown and wood. It was clean and comfortable had a small mini bar and all the standard Japanese amenities in the bathroom. We had the western breakfast just to mix it up. The breakfast was average, ask for an omelette as they make them fresh ;)
Located adjacent to Hiroshima station. When you get off the Shinkasen exit through the North exit and the hotel is on your left! Plenty of taxis and shuttle buses, street cars to take you where you need to go. The red tour bus is free with JR pass and takes you on the scenic route to Peace Park. Fukuya and Alee and Mazda Stadium are on the other side of the station.
Would stay here again purely because of its location !

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keffali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    722
    143
    20
    5
See reviews for
312
544
168
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 nights. Booked by Booking.com. I spent very little time in the hotel, did not even have breakfast there. However I can say that all services I asked were provided quickly and all the staff is extremely polite and helpful. The only fault I could find is lack of skills in English (which is common in Japan) . The room was very small but very clean (both features very common in Japan). It has a hair drier and an electric water boiler.
Now the location: whether you arrive by train or by bus from the airport you are at the hotel; you don't have to look for it.
At the (Hiroshima) station there are also several reasonable restaurants (on the hotel's side) and a mini market (on the other side of the railway; cross by under pass).
4 of the 8 tram lines originate at Hiroshima station so it is also very convenient for in town travel .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yshargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is attached to the JR station in Hiroshima and has an access into the hotel from the Shinkansen platform. This is no ordinary station hotel, its very well run and furnished to a high standard. We stayed here for 3 nights and its proximity to the JR station was a great feature as we arrived on the Shinkansen from Shin Osaka and used this hotel as a base to visit not only Hiroshima but also Miyajima and Kurashiki.
A JR tour bus (free to JR rail pass holders) leaves from outside the hotel and is a limited stop get on and off bus and takes you to the principal points of interest in Hiroshima including the Peace Memorial.
We found the hotel staff had a good command of English and of course were very courteous and helpful. We booked a small double room, but it was adequate for our needs and of couse spotlessly clean. I would certainly stay here again if I was visiting Hiroshima.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plymouthtraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We found it tricky to find our way out of the station to this hotel at first, believe it or not! It seems so simple once you have found it but at first it is confusing. Unless you come off at just the right platform the signage to the hotel is lacking. However we did work out which side it was on and found an exit to go out and there it was. Also, if you can see the Sheraton, then go out that way because the Granvia is right opposite it. Later on we found the 2nd floor entrance and the subway entrance but initially it isn't as obvious as you might think.
Reception was welcoming but we were not allowed to check into the hotel until after 2pm but they did mind our cases for us.
We had a Standard Semi Double and the room is quite small, plain but in good condition and functional. As usual the bed is pushed against one wall so you only have one bedside table. There wasn't much room for opening two suitcases but we managed. The bathroom is capsule style but everything works. There are plentiful supplies of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel plus toothbrushes, combs etc. The heated toilet seat was sooooo good! Our room looked out over the square toward the Sheraton. The room was dark at night for sleeping and the bed was comfortable although the pillow was a bit hard. The room was quiet.
Out the front of the hotel you can take the sightseeing loop bus and if you have a JR pass it is free. We only used it once to get down to the A-Bomb dome and after that we walked.
For a selection of restaurants nearby, take the subway down under the Station and walk out to the other side. If you follow the signs for the Post Office and come up there, you will see a department store (Fukuya) on the other side and to the right of that another building "Pachinka and slot" and to the right of that another building lit up like a Christmas tree. There is a sign in yellow outside "Bar and Restaurant" and we went up in the lift and into a restaurant on the 3rd floor which turned out to be a "traditional Japanese pub" and we liked it very much. Remove your shoes, Lots of little private rooms, tatami mats, reasonably good well priced food and good service. They don't speak much English though so you will have to point at the menu pictures and hope for the best.
There are also restaurants on the 2nd floor of the station signed "Souvenir shops and restaurants".
There is an ASSE department store in the station with a Starbucks too.

Room Tip: Room over looking the Sheraton and Station Plaza is likely to be quiet because there isn't much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. It is just above the station. Can't ask for a better location when you are moving with vagus from place to place. It is very clean, nice bathroom with a great shower, a sitting area. BBC news, one down side there is no I room safe you have to take things to the front desk.
The first night we walked to the shopping and night club district it is about a 15 -20minute walk. The second day we took a 1 day streetcar pass. 600 yen...I think it is expensive seeing as you can walk to the areas. We took the streetcar to the A-bomb centre and then walked from there to the castle. A one way pass is only 150 yen.
The staff here also speak English and are helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHRMLWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on the 4 th April. Location is great as it is right next to the station, so as you come off of the bullet train it is easy walking distance. Also very easy to get the street cars along to the Peace park from here. As with all the hotels we stayed at in Japan the staff are extremely helpful and happy to hand out map and give you info as to how to get to places. Although we were early for check in there was no problem looking after our luggage which meant we could get along to see the Peace park straight away.
The rooms were comfortable and clean.
The station is a great place to get food and you must try Hiroshima's version of okonmayaki as they add noodles to it as well as seafood, yummy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Granvia Hiroshima for two nights. We were happy with our accommodations. The room was very clean and a good size (it even had a table and chairs). The location is great, right next to Hiroshima station, where you can catch trains, buses, and street cars. This made it easy to get to major sightseeing spots like Miyajima, the Atomic Bomb Dome, and Hiroshima Castle. The staff were very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theorphanarium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 121 in Hiroshima
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,360 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Property: Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
Address: 1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granvia Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima in the ideal location directry connected to JR Hiroshima Station.A great deal of sophisticated hospitality welcomes you!Check-in Time 14:00Check-out Time 12:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Granvia Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Granvia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing