We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to train station and airport bus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
Ranked #3 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient to train station and airport bus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I felt very grateful for this hotel upon my arrival from Tokyo. It's very conveniently positioned very close to the train station, and the entrance to Shinkansen (bullet) trains is on the second floor of the hotel. There are however no signs posted directing you to the hotel, at the station, which is a bit of an inconvenience. If you follow to the shinkansen exit and go outside you should see it on the left hand side. This hotel, overall, was a bit of an odd experience. There were great things and some that were just weird/not so good. We stayed there for two nights, in the interim for one night going to nearby Miyojima (which I also highly recommend). The room, the bathroom, the breakfast buffet (alas not included but reasonably priced and excellent), the free wifi were all lovely. They kept our luggage and upon our second arrival actually had it waiting for us in our room! It was like magic - I often find service like this in Japan and it's such a relief. But then we decided to go for dinner at the hotel, and chose the only reasonably priced option which was Vern Vert on the second floor. That's where things started to fall apart. They couldn't comprehend that we wanted to do a la carte menu instead of the buffet, simply unable to stomach all that food for the moment, and then when they finally got it they sat us in the very back of the restaurant, in a not so attractive portion of it, and behaved weirdly, doing things like staring at us, switching our chairs, and acting as though overall we were committing some kind of rudeness by not going to the buffet. The food was actually surprisingly good for all that, so I can't complain on that account. Another disappointment was that they had not been able to change money for me - unfortunately I was left without yen by the end of the trip and then I hoped that they would be able to withdraw money from my credit card and give me cash. Instead they sent me to the ATM nearby at the JR station, but I was unable to use all 4 of the machines for some reason. I tried my darndest, to be sure. I don't know about other hotels in Japan, but in other countries I have not had difficulty with doing such transactions at the hotel. So here is a tip: bring more yen than you think you will need. Another tip: next to the hotel, there's an airport limousine bus that costs Y1300. It will take you straight to the airport and take only 45 minutes, running on 20 minute intervals. Finally to get around the city you need to walk through the underpass next to the hotel and head for the street car which only costs 150 yen and takes you anywhere you want to go. For the quality of the room/bathroom/free internet and the overall convenience of the hotel's position, I would recommend it very highly. For dinner, just head to one of the okonomiyaki places around town - we went to Nagataya which is close to the A-Dome and the Memorial Park, and had some of the best food in Japan. They have an English menu!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annaotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    567
    126
    19
    4
See reviews for
246
413
130
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is located just opposite Sheraton and next to the train station and loads of little cafés. We didn't have breakfast included so we ate breakfast in the cafés instead.

The service was good and friendly. The rooms clean and normal Japan size. There were some marks etc on the walls, but it that's kind of to expect where the space is limited. The hotel felt fresh and clean, so no worries.

Would stay there again.

Room Tip: As to the room - no real tips. As always a room higher is quieter. Our was on floor 12 and it was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I took a tour of Hiroshima this holiday weekend. The hotel was awesome. I wonder what star rating it has? Breakfast buffet was nice, and my room was even nicer. Plus it right next to the main JR station in the city. With the city trolley (Streetcars) on the other side of the station. Great location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel_92101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is located in a great location - just outside the Hiroshima train station. We arrived via shinkansen and were relieved at how close to the hotel we were. There is a Hiroshima loop bus just outside the hotel which stops at all the major city sites. It is free if you have a JR rail pass. We actually spent an evening shopping in the city centre and walked back to the hotel and it only took half an hour.

Our room was situated on the 19th floor. It had a great view of the train station; my partner spent too much time watching the trains arriving! The room was clean and large, the biggest out of all the hotels we stayed in during our Japan holiday. There was a good sized bed and table and chairs next to the window. The window actually opened about 10 cm which was great to let fresh air in!

The staff were all extremely helpful, we received a collection of English maps and information upon checking in. We were unable to connect to the free Wi-fi and after calling the front desk they sent someone up to help immediately. After that we had no issues with the Wi-fi.

There are plenty of places to eat at in the hotel and in the train station. We ordered room service one evening and it was fantastic. Initially thought it looked a bit pricey but the meals were huge. The beef curry was delicious and was accompanied with a side salad and rice.

Overall we had an extremely comfortable stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KasTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After stying in a wonderful ryokan for three nights, the kids wanted to stay in a "western" style hotel when we came to town. We only stayed one night in Hiroshima so the location at the station was very convenient. We had a room high up which meant a fantastic view over the city and no disturbing noise from below. A high quality hotel that met our expectations. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel was good and clean and very convenient to the station(walk through the station to the hotel). Hotel Granvia was also on the red bus loop which pulls up outside. This bus takes you to all the main sites in Hiroshima and around the city. The bus goes to the Memorial Peace Park, Museum etc. You can hop on and off all day and with a JR pass it is free. The staff on the bus were really helpful too. We stayed for a couple of days and really enjoyed Hiroshima. The main purpose of our visit was to see the Memorial Gardens and Museum so this hotel was very convenient to the stations, shops and to other sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Granvia hotel can be reached from inside the Hiroshima station if you can find your way to it. On the Japanese site of the hotel there is a page that describes the direction clearly, complete with photos.

The hotel is a Japan Rail West hotel, and is on the north side of the station. Be aware that the south side and north side of the station, separated by train tracks and platforms, can only be traveled between on foot via an underpass. It is crucial that you take the North exit 北口 (as opposed to 南口 south exit) when you emerge from the station to reach the hotel.

The hotel is old fashioned and seems to cater to its Japanese clientele of well-dressed couples and some families. My room with one bed was small, but it has everything except storage spaces. But the service is excellent: good quality towels; thorough cleaning; daily supplies of fresh slippers and robes; Japan Times (English) delivered to the door. Best of all is a superb shower head (a Toto wonder) with tremendous water pressure - a really wonderful treat after a hot day outside.

There are plenty of eateries within and around the station, including a McDonald's and a Danish bakery. The hotel itself has a few restaurants, but they are pricey (20USD for breakfast). The Sheraton hotel and this hotel face each other, and is said to be a newer (but also perhaps more expensive) hotel. One plus of this hotel is that the city's sightseeing loop bus -- which operates during tourist season -- stops right in front of this hotel.

Hiroshima is less English-friendly than Tokyo and Kyoto, and finding your way around without being able to speak or read Japanese could pose a challenge. I didn't have problem communicating with the people at the front desk of this hotel, as each time someone was able to speak in English, including a helpful concierge/bell captain.

I stayed on the 9th floor. The Internet connection worked well during my stay; I used the Ethernet connection instead of the wifi. My luck did run out on the day of my departure, when the connection failed me for no apparent reason, in spite of a valient attempt to help by a staff who came to the room. But there are PCs available for rent in the business center in the lobby.

Minuses: there is no safe in the room, no shelves or drawers for storage, and (for some reason that escapes me) the shower door can only be half closed, which can result in a very wet bathroom if you turn the shower on full blast.

All in all, this is a good hotel to stay in to explore the city of Hiroshima, especially if you need to make use of the train station to travel elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
#4 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
#9 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Property: Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
Address: 1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granvia Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima in the ideal location directry connected to JR Hiroshima Station.A great deal of sophisticated hospitality welcomes you!Check-in Time 14:00Check-out Time 12:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Granvia Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Granvia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing