We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Central, very clean, very "you know what you will get" (in a positive way)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
Ranked #3 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Central, very clean, very "you know what you will get" (in a positive way)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After stying in a wonderful ryokan for three nights, the kids wanted to stay in a "western" style hotel when we came to town. We only stayed one night in Hiroshima so the location at the station was very convenient. We had a room high up which meant a fantastic view over the city and no disturbing noise from below. A high quality hotel that met our expectations. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    601
    129
    19
    4
See reviews for
264
430
135
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel was good and clean and very convenient to the station(walk through the station to the hotel). Hotel Granvia was also on the red bus loop which pulls up outside. This bus takes you to all the main sites in Hiroshima and around the city. The bus goes to the Memorial Peace Park, Museum etc. You can hop on and off all day and with a JR pass it is free. The staff on the bus were really helpful too. We stayed for a couple of days and really enjoyed Hiroshima. The main purpose of our visit was to see the Memorial Gardens and Museum so this hotel was very convenient to the stations, shops and to other sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Granvia hotel can be reached from inside the Hiroshima station if you can find your way to it. On the Japanese site of the hotel there is a page that describes the direction clearly, complete with photos.

The hotel is a Japan Rail West hotel, and is on the north side of the station. Be aware that the south side and north side of the station, separated by train tracks and platforms, can only be traveled between on foot via an underpass. It is crucial that you take the North exit 北口 (as opposed to 南口 south exit) when you emerge from the station to reach the hotel.

The hotel is old fashioned and seems to cater to its Japanese clientele of well-dressed couples and some families. My room with one bed was small, but it has everything except storage spaces. But the service is excellent: good quality towels; thorough cleaning; daily supplies of fresh slippers and robes; Japan Times (English) delivered to the door. Best of all is a superb shower head (a Toto wonder) with tremendous water pressure - a really wonderful treat after a hot day outside.

There are plenty of eateries within and around the station, including a McDonald's and a Danish bakery. The hotel itself has a few restaurants, but they are pricey (20USD for breakfast). The Sheraton hotel and this hotel face each other, and is said to be a newer (but also perhaps more expensive) hotel. One plus of this hotel is that the city's sightseeing loop bus -- which operates during tourist season -- stops right in front of this hotel.

Hiroshima is less English-friendly than Tokyo and Kyoto, and finding your way around without being able to speak or read Japanese could pose a challenge. I didn't have problem communicating with the people at the front desk of this hotel, as each time someone was able to speak in English, including a helpful concierge/bell captain.

I stayed on the 9th floor. The Internet connection worked well during my stay; I used the Ethernet connection instead of the wifi. My luck did run out on the day of my departure, when the connection failed me for no apparent reason, in spite of a valient attempt to help by a staff who came to the room. But there are PCs available for rent in the business center in the lobby.

Minuses: there is no safe in the room, no shelves or drawers for storage, and (for some reason that escapes me) the shower door can only be half closed, which can result in a very wet bathroom if you turn the shower on full blast.

All in all, this is a good hotel to stay in to explore the city of Hiroshima, especially if you need to make use of the train station to travel elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshima
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A most pleasant stay in an excellent room. The room was larger than the two other small double rooms we stayed in on this trip. The attention to detail with the room servicing was exceptional. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Very well located newer hotel in Hiroshima. Clean and well kept. We stayed in a triple room which was large, very we'll laid out with nice beds and a beautiful bathroom. The automatic toilet was a hit. Attentive staff. Ours came with breakfast, internet and a free bus tour. Great value and highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DougBstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night to explore Hiroshima as well as miyajima island having come from Osaka.

Location- The hotel was perfectly located next to the station with an adjoining link directly into the hotel. This was super convenient- we had all our luggage with us and it was nice to be able to get off the Shinkansen bullet train and go straight to the hotel with no further transfers. With respect to exploring Hiroshima, the hotel was close by to the street car terminal so we were able to easily make our way into town to see the peace memorial park, the a bomb dome and the museum. With regard to traveling to miyajima, it was quite convenient to catch a train to miyajimaguchi station, walk down to the pier and catch a ferry. We also travelled to Kyoto after our day trip to miyajima and it was incredibly convenient to pick up our bags from the hotel and catch the Shinkansen to Kyoto. Regarding food, there was a department store near by and a few shops that we visited for snacks however we ate our meals in the main part of Hiroshima and would recommend that future travelers do the same.

Rooms- Our room was a bit cramped but we were able to fit all of our luggage and we were only there for one night... The rooms were however clean and we had no issues. They also laid out pyjama robes for us, a lovely touch..

Hospitality- The hotel staff were lovely. On arrival they provided maps and tourist information before we even requested them, they all spoke good English and on check out, they offered to store our bags before we had even asked.

Overall a great experience for one night..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NPreethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent location adjoining the train station which made it easy for transporting our luggage. Impressive lobby, fast check-in and helpful staff. Room was a little dated but fine for our 3 night stay and for the price we paid. Tourist bus was right next to entrance and free to use for JR Passholders, tram was at the other side of the hotel. There were a few choices for breakfast nearby. Only downside was when we tried to have a drink on the rooftop terrace we got turned away as you had to have a meal as well !! Downstairs bar was quite formal and I couldn't really relax. Overall a good stay in an excellent location and would definately return if ever in Japan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
#4 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
#8 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Property: Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
Address: 1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granvia Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima in the ideal location directry connected to JR Hiroshima Station.A great deal of sophisticated hospitality welcomes you!Check-in Time 14:00Check-out Time 12:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Granvia Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Granvia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing