We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for such a nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
Ranked #3 of 122 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value for such a nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night in January. The hotel is conveniently located right next to the main train station and a short walk through a subway to the tram stop. It is about a 20 minute tram ride to the Peace Park. Our room was quite spacious by Japan standards and it was clean, comfortable and quiet. I thought the price was very good value for such a nice hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Hiroshima.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrigglespingpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    659
    136
    19
    4
See reviews for
290
479
153
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Elma, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located right next to Hiroshima Station. You don't even have to go outside to get to it. The room we had was roomy and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was delicious with many choices of foods. The staff was attentive and very helpful. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cboyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Spent 2 weeks all over Japan and Hiroshima was a last minute add in .Like the other reviewer, it was great to easily find your hotel after a train trip + heavy luggages in tow. We didnt even have to leave the station. We must prolly missed the sign and kept walking then we decided to ask info center and viola! there it was. They have a huge lobby and accommodating english speaking staff. The room had a good size. They have ethernet for connectivity. Just sucks that 4 out 5 hotels we stayed in during our trip only had wired internet. So convenient that all the transpo means were just below our building..few stops away from all the shopping area and the must see- Atomic bomb dome & Peace museum. Also a supermarket below and food center. You cant go wrong with this hotel.
highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parfum O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel is extremely very well located, attached to the Hiroshima train station - you can go walking to the main tourist attractions, including the Hiroshima Castle and the Memorial Park. Although the staff has some limitations with English, they are really willing to help. Rooms are very new and cozy, I have not found it that small - standard size for a Japanese hotel. The breakfast, although not included, is a worth payment. Delicious mixed Western and Japanese styles breakfast. Loved that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brunnopessoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Yes location and room is good
Food a plenty in the rail station / hotel precinct
BUTs
No WiFi and we had a pad with no LAN connection
Cheap enough to pay for business centre computer Y100 / 10minutes

Satelite TV yes BBC NEWS and not a lot more in English- then the Y1000 card in the hall to get all the other channels and movies
( we way watched the baseball play offs on free to air in Japanese and figured out the rules - that was fun :-) )

Try the bread and cake shop near the entrnce to the tunnel under the stations
Good supermarket & food centre on the other side basement level

Over all a good stay and quiet

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dono1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

After a long train journey, it's a huge relief to know that you don't have to travel far to find your hotel. The Granvia is literally a couple of tiny escalator rides away from the station (and all it's great food options). It is very easy to find - from the shinkansen, just follow the signs.

The lobby is very spacious and has a glamourous feel.The reception staff are friendly and very efficient. We had an economy room which felt quite big for Japan. It had a very comfortable mini chez-chair by the window to admire the great views. The tea making facilties came in handy.

We actually had time to visit the bars. The basement bar had a great value happy hour and the rooftop bar was very popular with local businessmen and felt quite swanky. Staff at both bars were very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to educate us about Shochu and let us try different types.

The patisserie in the hotel also supplied us with proper cutlery when we wanted to take away our beautiful desserts.

Overall, the Granvia had a little bit more of a luxurious feel to it than we were expecting from a business hotel in a station. The only negative point is that there is no wi-fi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Man_with_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Lorenzo
Level Contributor
191 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Hotel Granvia is attached to Hiroshima's main railroad station. Just outside the train terminal is the tram terminal which provides convenient access to the main tourist attractions. The hotel is more than 20 years old. Although public areas are glitzy the rooms are somewhat on the small side and show their age but they are still comfortable. The restaurants we used were mediocre and appeared to designed to encourage a search for better places around the vicinity of the station. There is no wifi and the internet connection system that is in place is primitive at best. It can't hold a candle to the Sheraton that is located across the square but the price is much more reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roamer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
#8 of 122 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Hiroshima

Property: Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
Address: 1-5 Matsubaracho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0822, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Granvia Hiroshima 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima in the ideal location directry connected to JR Hiroshima Station.A great deal of sophisticated hospitality welcomes you!Check-in Time 14:00Check-out Time 12:00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Granvia Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granvia Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Granvia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing