We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL, EXCELLENT LOCATION”
Review of Hotel New Hiroden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel New Hiroden
Ranked #20 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Best thing is the location, really next door from the railway station. This is not only good if you are travelling by train. Stations in Japan are normally associated with shopping centres, and in this case with an astonishing food-shops gallery, where you find all prices and a lot of alternatives. Indeed, that's all you will find close to the hotel by night, other than a huge number of "pachinko" houses (Japanese bingos). Hotel is not far from the Peace Museum and monuments, and the romantic Hiroshima Castle, you can go walking. Rooms are normal, with a clever distribution concerning the bathroom. The staff was extremely hard (but polite) when we asked for a little extension in our check-out, even though the hotel had vacancies (and we were travelling with a child). But they kept our baggage carefully and allowed us to use the (clean an ok) common bathroom. As it was raining when we left, they lent an umbrella to our guide, who accompanied us to the nearby station and brought it back afterwards). Breakfast is normal. WiFi is all right.

Room Tip: Apparently there are bigger or better rooms for the same price. Try to get one of those. View is unw...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicardoRabinovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Hotel New Hiroden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 412 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

The location is the biggest asset of this hotel. The train station is just 'next door' . Breakfast is pretty nice - you'll find both japanese and continental dishes. The room was spacious, the beds comfortable. Unfortunately, due to our alleries we would smell mold all time. The ventilation system in the room is aparently not working at all. After taking a short shower the bathroom was completely fogged up. Not sure whether I would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg3be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Turn right out of the south entrance to the station, follow round, crossing 3 small roads including under the railway line & there is the hotel (3 mins). This was the best hotel of our trip to Japan, I must admit to having a lovely quiet room on the 8th floor, at the end of the corridor with great views to the river. Entrance area had a dressing table, wardrobe and wash hand basin, also bathroom including toilet plus bedroom consisting of twin firm beds, which we prefer, small two seater settee of good quality & chair plus TV (no English language world news programme), kettle, fridge but no safe.

Breakfast had a huge variety of western & Japanese food, including fresh fruit & yogurt, although the dining room like the hotel was busy - trays were cleared away quickly & tables cleaned.

It is possible to walk to the centre of the city - but the tram (No 2 or 6) was available to take you to the city centre and the Peace Park. from immediately outside the station. For a great meal try Okonomi-mura (near Parco store) - 25 stalls selling okonomiyaki - fantastic. Check LP or ask hotel for more details

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was definitely the biggest sized room we stayed in during our travels in Japan. It was made up of a lobby area with a desk, large cupboards, where we could store our rucksacks, and a mini fridge. Connected to that was a decent sized bathroom and then there was another room encasing a lounge area with sofa and tv and a large bed. It provided a great place to relax from a long day of sightseeing.
It was a hotel that was part of our guided tour of Japan and it was picked for its closeness to Hiroshima train station. Whilst it was a bit of a walk to get to other sights in Hiroshima, in general it was in a good location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

ROOM:
Room size is a bit bigger than usual Japanese size which is nice. Plenty of closet/luggage space which is rare. Bathroom is also a bit bigger than usual Japanese standard and clean. There is no in-room wifi (only downstairs in lobby) so either you use the ethernet cable for Laptop/Netbook or bring your own wireless router if you have phones/tablets that can't plug in.

NEARBY:
There are a few 24hr convenience stores around the corner and small eateries under the overpass bridge. And of course the Hiroshima Station is just a 5min walk away for even more food options. From the hotel you're 10min walk across the bridge to Shukkeien, 15min walk to Hiroshima Castle, 30min walk/15min streetcar to Genbaku Dome).

TRANSPORTATION:
Hotel is a quick 5min walk from Hiroshima Station. It's the same station for Shinkansen and for the local lines which can connect you to nearby attractions like Miyajima (via JR Sanyo Main Line, get off at Miyajimaguchi, then take the JR Miyajima ferry). The interesting Hiroshima streetcar also stop/begin at Hiroshima Station and is worth at least a ride if only for nostalgic reasons.

Stayed in Sep 2013

Room Tip: if you're a light sleeper, ask for a high floor room away from the train tracks which are almost...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsgiguere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Me and my Family stayed one night in The hotel in the beginning of Aug. 2013, and found the hotel a short walk from the central Hiroshima JR station. The rooms was Nice with a bit of more "plastic style" Décor. The room itself was functional, but small. Has an Automatic Parking next to the Hotel that will cost you 900 Yen per day. very basic. Very Nice and clean. The stuff are very helpful. Near all the very big names of car rental companies in Japan, so you can rent or bring back your rental car quickly and easily.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shai V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

2013 Aug 08. We stayed one night and found the hotel a short walk from the central station, but still the room was large by Japanese standards and a quiet location overlooking the river.
We walked to a Hiroshima Carp baseball game --- great fun after the sombre part of the day at the Peace Park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookie_mmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,509 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 121 in Hiroshima
426 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#9 of 121 in Hiroshima
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Hiroden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Hiroden

Address: 14-9 Osuga-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0821, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range: $61 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Hiroden 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New Hiroden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hiroden Hotel
New Hiroden Hiroshima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing