We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Small functional room, close to station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Hiroden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel New Hiroden
Ranked #17 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Small functional room, close to station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Hiroden Hiroshima for 2 nights in one of their double rooms. The room itself was functional, but tiny (small even for a Japanese hotel room!). There was no wifi in the room, only in the lobby, though there was cabled internet in the room. On the plus side, the rooms were clean and the hotel is in a great location - lots of eateries in the neighbourhood, it's very close to the station, and it's an easy walk to Peace Memorial Park and Hiroshima Castle. The staff were great too, they spoke great English and were really helpful. Good value for money if you want something basic and functional.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    181
    88
    17
    4
See reviews for
73
89
51
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Hotel New Hiroden recently. It is located about 5 minutes from the right of the south exit of Hiroshima Station. In fact, the building is quite tall. This made it very easy to recognise from a distance. There were many eateries and a supermarket (that closed quite late) within Hiroshima Station. The tram terminus is just outside the station. This made the hotel a really convenient place to commute within the city.

The exterior and the spacious lobby of the hotel looked impressive. After a quick check-in, I was given a room at level 12 of the property. However, I was less than impressed of the room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The design was slightly dated which could benefit from a refurbishment.

The air-conditioning was not working well and I had to leave my window opened. Since my room faced straight on the railway tracks, noise was an issue. In fact, I could still hear the sounds of the trains after closing my window.

As usual, Wifi was only available at the lobby and there were no bottled waters in the room. Vending machines were located throughout the property for my convenience. Breakfast came with extra which I didn't try given the abundance of breakfast places within the vicinity.

All in all, I liked the location of New Hiroden for its easy access to shops and transport. The staffs were quite helpful and friendly. However, I guess if the room was more comfortable, it would have been a perfect stay for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the railway tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minghui79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BSB
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three nights during our visit to Hiroshima. It came in a package of flight and hotel. Hotel New Hiroden is a few minutes walk from the Hiroshima station, about 15 minutes from the bus stop. It was a little difficult to find the first time. We followed the access information from the hotel website. We entered the station building, came out the station building again, and eventually found the entrance to the underpass in front of the station. In short, as we came out of the bus from airport, we should not enter the station building. The underpass entrance is in front of the building. Following the suggested path, there were a few stairs to climb. We later found that we could avoid stairs by using the elevator right after the underpass (marked as B in the hotel access map). The elevator leads to point E in the access map. Then, coming out of the elevator and exiting the building, turn right to walk to the hotel (about another 7 mins walk). The hotel room was really comfortable.  It was spacious.  The layout was nice in the air-conditioning position, the room and entrance lobby has  a door in between giving homey feel.  It had sound system to play music, with controls right at bed top.  Beds were comfortable.  Pillows were fine for me, too high for my wife. No view from the room, although there are windows and they can be opened. However, we spent most of the time outside the room and the room served a comfortable base.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank porkrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
213 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The hotel is well-situated near the train station, which unfortunately reverberated into our room with a beautiful view of the tracks. The air conditioning didn't work well so the room was always stuffy. Decor was minimal and bathroom outdated. They had plastic sandals instead of the nice terry ones all other Japanese hotels offered.
The beds were good, though. Breakfast was a mob scene as scores of tourists of various nationalities swarmed the offerings. (The yogurt was good.)
Wifi only worked in the lobby, such as it is. The food was surprisingly good at dinner there our last night.
Surely there are better hotels with handy locations in Hiroshima.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side away from the tracks, apparently facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisABeaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Thi hotel is conveniently located nearby the train station. The reception desk speaks very little English, they appear to be no specifically targeting at foreigners to Japan. The rooms are small, like almost always in Japan, and a bit noisy as there is a main street going to the train station in front. The breakfast buffet has also a selection for westeners, good enough to start the day. The rooms have a desk but it does not have wireless in the room, only cable connection. The hotel has the non-smoking rooms mixed with the smoker's therefore the corridors are rather smelly the room is clean though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Staying there for two nights, two minute walk to train and electric tram to Hiroshima Bomb Museum. Few minutes straight to the museum and Peace Park, we went in the evening and spent whole next morning at the museum. Across the street to a building filled with eateries. Friendly staff, room was comfortable and quiet enough even though by the train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having read some of the other reviews we must have been lucky cos we had a fantastic size room. You walked into the room which had a seperate hallway containing dresser, wardrobes, sink and seperate toilet. The other room had a massive double bed (7ft) , dresser ,tv ,couch and side chair. I was only dissapointed no sauna lol.
Our view overlooked the river to one side and the park to the other. The Hotel staff were friendly and Hotel had a great bar.
Great location. 10 minutes walk to Shukkeien gardens, a must even if you dont like gardens. another 10 minutes walk to Hiroshima Castle and the Peace Memorial park. Basically all on you doorstep.
Overall great stay, we were sorry to leave. Definately the best hotel we stayed in Japan.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingmonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,212 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
Hotel Sunroute Hiroshima
#10 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Hiroden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Hiroden

Property: Hotel New Hiroden
Address: 14-9 Osuga-cho, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0821, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Hiroden 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel New Hiroden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hiroden Hotel
New Hiroden Hiroshima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing