We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice, Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Ranked #4 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was large and the beds were comfortable, and we had great view of the city. We had breakfast at the hotel, and the self-serve buffet had a great coffee maker that made a cup of coffee from fresh coffee beans at the push of a button. Our room was dated and in need of an update, but overall it was a very nice experience, and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woottons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    442
    105
    37
    8
See reviews for
243
260
124
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed for 11days and it was a wonderful stay. The #1 reason I chose this hotel is the size of the room. It is larger than other good hotels in Hiroshima. It has a closet to hang my clothing! It is conveniently located and the famous Atomic Dome is a walking distance. Sogo department store is connected to the hotel. On the basement floor you can find and buy many variety goods there. If you choose to eat at the restaurant in the hotel, you will get 15% discount. I like “Shusen” Japanese bar restaurant. I ordered room service twice. They were prompt and the dish I ordered (spaghetti with a Japanese twist) was very tasty. I didn’t go all the way up to the top floor to dine, but I heard the view is spectacular. Their bar is small & dark and located discreetly. Mr. Sakamoto is in a charge. He is very nice!
Rihga Royal Hotel is a large lobby area and the scale of the lobby tells it is a wonderful hotel to stay. I will come back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keiko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Overall, the hotel was okay. Everything was well organized and clean. But room is a bit small, and room's design was bit old. e.g. there was no powerpoint beside bed, meanwhile redio&BGM machine is available.Room service was ridiculously expensive, and too much costs for other facilities such as gym/pool/restaurants inside the hotel.

Room Tip: I had a good city view from 16th floor. But for better view, you can ask if you can have castle view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack1988JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel was in a good location but you cannot open the windows. We had a premier room and it was far too stuffy and hot. It really was like sleeping in a sauna. I would not stay again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GINGERTWIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Incredible location with beautiful views of the city from the rooms. The rooms were not as modern as other hotels in larger cities in Japan, but were very comfortable, clean and quiet. The service was incredible and one particular experience blew me away: On check-out, we were in a rush to catch the train to Osaka. We took a cab to the terminal, and when I boarded the train, I realized that I had left my camera in the taxi. I emailed the hotel concierge and they were able to a) locate the taxi that took us and find the camera and b) fedex the camera to the hotel in Osaka FREE OF CHARGE. This was incredible and I did not expect this, but was very gracious for that. In the evenings, we really enjoyed having sunset drinks in the rooftop lounge and restaurant. The live music (lounge music) was fantastic and the selection of Single Malts was commendable.
We really enjoyed the swimming pool in the hotel - It was huge, clean and full of natural light. Definitely a great way to start each day.
The proximity to the Peace Museum was a bonus.
While this hotel is not equivalent to some of the 5stars in other, larger Japanese cities (Tokyo, Kyoto), it is definitely the best hotel in Hiroshima.

Room Tip: Get a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We selected this hotel over others in Hiroshima because of two reasons, one we got a good price through their website (although it was January so pretty off-peak ). Two, it's placement is probably the best in the city from a tourist perspective.
We stayed in a Superior Standard King room because we got such a good price. I had read on Trip Advisor that the rooms at this hotel could be a bit small and stuffy so I hoped that getting the superior room would be a bit better. Well I couldn't have been more pleased when we entered the room! The superior rooms are all on high floors ( ours was on the 29th ) so you're guaranteed a good view. The Rihga is probably the tallest building in downtown Hiroshima so from a high floor you can see forever, and the views of Hiroshima are well worth it. We had seen advice that you want to get a room facing the castle side of the building, but we didn't make any request and ended up facing the other way. I don't know why the castle side would be better, from our room we had a huge corner window which looked out over the A-bomb dome, the downtown area, and the Seto Inland sea together with Miyajima! Really I've never seen a better view from a hotel room. I don't think we turned the TV on once, it was just impossible not to look out the window the whole time.
The room was also impressively large and nicely appointed. It's not a modern hotel, a lot of the fixtures look like they would have been state-of-the-art about 20 years ago, but everything was immaculately taken care of. Although the taps and bath weren't modern, there were no chips or cracks anywhere, so it wasn't something we really noticed.
The breakfast was included with our room and was excellent. It included all the standards of a western breakfast, toast, eggs, pastries, fruit etc. There was also a Japanese breakfast on a different floor which we didn't try.
We also didn't try the sports facilities because they are very expensive, but there was free wired AND wireless internet, which was good. I hadn't expected wireless internet access but it worked perfectly. The staff also were excellent, with English being well spoken on the front desk. They helped us send our luggage to our next hotel in Osaka and made the whole process incredibly simple.
The hotel's location is probably it's biggest asset. It's about 5mins walk from the A-bomb dome itself, and the peace-park. But it's also right next to the downtown shopping area, it actually has direct access from the hotel into an adjacent mall complex which has loads of interesting restaurants. There's also a tram stop outside which will get you to the main station as well as the ferry for Miyajima (hint buy a Miyajima pass ticket when you get on this tram).

All in all I don't think we could have found a better place to stay in Hiroshima, I would recommend this place to anyone, especially if you get a superior room.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have guaranteed views, are very big and include breakfast. Get the view of the Set in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffrey_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Styllish elegant hotel in a very good location, our room had a very impressive view. The huge department store next door also impressed. Had to ask for softer pillows which arrived almost as I requested them. The room was I think small although all other hotel rooms encountered on this trip were about the same size.

Warning- Japan is not a smoke free zone, although significant changes are being made.
A non-smoking booth next to a smoking one at a restaurant and a non-smoking room on a smoking floor does not work, especially at a temperature of about 26 'it is now 'winter' degrees. These comments are general and do not apply to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boggle103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 125 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 125 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 125 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
#9 of 125 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima

Property: RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Address: 6-78 Motomachi | Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0011, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Kamiyacho Higashi Station , Kamiyacho Nishi Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hiroshima
#3 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stylish exterior designed in the image of Rijo, Hiroshima's famous "Carp Castle", the RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima offers a wealth of facilities and services befitting a hotel of the 21st century. This new symbol of Hiroshima, an international city of peace and culture, is sure to meet your every expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Hiroshima
Hiroshima Rihga Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing