We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“far from city, no wifi in room, great breakfast view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Ranked #8 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“far from city, no wifi in room, great breakfast view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel is approximately 40mins from Hiroshima train station by taxi, and there is almost no amenities outside the hotel surrounding, although there are a number of good restaurants in the hotel. Breakfast view from the 23rd floor is breathtaking. Bathroom is quite small but well-equipped. Main dissatisfaction is the absence of wifi in the room, and only in the lobby -- which immediately disqualified the Prince as a business hotel for me. Should you take the tram from the city, the walk from the main road to the hotel is a brisk 20min walk.

Room Tip: choose room that faces the sea/pier, the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    407
    143
    39
    17
See reviews for
326
227
42
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

To reach this hotel, you really have to exert effort since this is far away from the city center. From Hiroshima station, there is a bus service so it won't be that bad. I stayed in a twin room and I was quite surprise to see that the room was smaller than what I was expecting a twin room would be. Nevertheless, I loved the sky lounge located in the 23rd floor. The view is just great.

Room Tip: If you would prefer a larger room, you really have to spend. The regular room is quite small. Still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBB1ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

First impressions, great. Yes, far out from Hiroshima center but that was ok with us...the views are to die for and there's a great park next door with a good running path. We are a family of four...wandered downstairs at 6:35 to seek out dinner. So here's a hotel with 5 restaurants...in the middle of nowhere, so it seems you need to be able to feed your guests. We went to two out of the 5 restaurants and were told for both that they were full even though we could see many open tables. Went to the front desk to see how we could get dinner for our children and they confirmed all of the restaurants were full. We were not dressed as hooligans, we were not loud and vulgar. I don't understand how you can have a hotel far I'm everywhere and refuse to seat guests staying at the hotel. So here we are...two hungry kids and no resolution. That has completely soured this hotel for me.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank GreensSEattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were travelling across Japan on a budget and came across a great weekend deal for the Grand Prince and so decided to treat ourselves. Whilst the room price as very reasonable, we were disappointed by the number of "hidden" costs. For example, Service was added for taking up our bags, even though we tried to take them ourselves, when we had a drink in the 23rd floor bar ( the reason we chose the hotel) they added an 8 dollar music charge for the live musician who played a few songs an hour, there is extra charge for the swimming pool and the ferry to the shrine was 30 dollars (compared to 8 from Hiroshima). I appreciate these are all fairly minor but for travellers on a budget, this grated.
Of course if you have a bit more money to play with these are just minor points and there is much to recommend the hotel. The bus and luggage service from Hiroshima station is excellent, the lobby is pretty spectacular, the restaurants are reasonably priced (though soulless) for a hotel of this rating, the view from the roof bar is great and rooms are large by Japanese standards. I would recommend staying here if you want to get away from the bustle of Hiroshima (it's about 20 mins out by free pick up shuttle) or if you have children - the bowling and arcade is fun. However if you are slightly budget conscious avoid at all costs as Internet deals are misleading as costs mount once you reach the hotel. A great hotel for a certain holidaymaker, just not for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This large hotel is situated on the waters edge near the main port. There is a free shuttle bus to and from the Hiroshima railway station at regular intervals. The journey takes about 25 minutes.
It is worth paying extra for a large room as the standard rooms were much too small for 2 tall Aussies! The larger rooms are triangular shape and have panoramic windows with lovely views over the town and the harbour. The staff were very friendly but limited English. It is worth remembering that this is a hot and humid time of the year to travel to Japan so take light cotton clothing!

Room Tip: Didn't try the spa as the prices seemed expensive. They also charge 2100y for the use of a not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at several Prince hotels and this one was a disappointment. I tend to overlook minor issues and just roll with it but this hotel definitely had some issues.
First of all from the positive standpoint, the view of the harbor was wonderful. Breakfast was on an upper level with floor to ceiling windows that were amazing. Breakfast buffet was great. Served dim sum at 740am which was interesting.
For the negative issues, there were many. It really is away from everything which is an issue if you don't have a car. Really no wifi beyond the first floor. Makes no sense at this level of hotel. The room is a strange shape which makes maneuvering with large suitcases a challenge. There is a step up into the tiny bathroom. In the middle of the night trying not trip on a 6 inch elevation seemed unnecessary.
I would choose somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is great for those coming from Matsuyama by boat or for those planning to make a visit to Miyajima the main thing of their Hiroshima visit. For local's, this is a "wedding hotel" with a stunning foyer.

ROOM
----------
Room was nice, with great views of the inland sea. Make sure to get a high-floor room if possible. Babycot was available. They also converted the small sofa into a childrens bed upon request.

EAT:
------
We did not eat at hotel restaurants as they are all very expensive, but there is a small shopping arcade with an Okonomiyaki place which was good. There is also a convenience shop in lobby.

At top floor there is a very very nice hotel bar with live music and fantastic 360 degrees overview of the inland sea.

TOURIST:
--------------
The best part about the hotel is that the high-speed ferry to Miyajima stops by here. You can buy a 2-day ticket at the hotel, and as it only takes 25 min to go there, it works out great for tourists who are dreaming of seeing the floating shinto gate.

CHILDREN:
----------------
The hotel has no special facilities for children, but they do enjoy the lobby for running a bit around. There is also an OK park in connection with hotel and there is a good public playground very close to hotel.

Room Tip: Go high! If you are ready to splurge, consider to get a room with own outdoor spa bath. They look re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sune-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
#4 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Hiroshima
#9 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima

Property: Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Address: 23-1 Motoujina-machi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 734-8543, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hiroshima
#6 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#11 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beside Motoujina Park, the Hiroshima Prince Hotel looks out toward the picturesque islands that dot the Seto Inland Sea. With magnificent views of the Hiroshima Port and Miyajima Island, the dramatic prism structure towers 23 floors. Below, the hotel's private pier is a great starting point to enjoy leisure activities along the marina or to take a cruise to the nearby islands.Featuring a variety of restaurants and extensive conference facilities, the Hiroshima Prince is a popular venue for international conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing