We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Views & Vehicles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Ranked #9 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Views & Vehicles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Paid extra - well worth it - & got a large room with a scenic view back to Hiroshima city. The room was an odd, triangular shape but very comfortable, so not a problem . It had panoramic windows so the outlook was good, although we did look back across the hotel car park to the city. But the view was lovely at night, twinkling lights in the distance. The room was well furnished with a long straight sofa (used for storage) across one wall & a small, round coffee table for that pre-prandial drink!! The bathroom had a good view through a large window. We didn't use the bath - only the shower, which was excellent. There were two (mismatched - one blue & one turqouise) wash-hand basins - one in the bathroom and one next to it in an ante-room. This isn't a problem though a little odd!!
We knew in advance about the shuttle bus to & from the JR station - although this isn't well advertised on the hotel website - & asked our Japanese friend to enquire about times so that we could ensure it would coincide with our train arrival. This worked well & we used it on arrival & departure, as well as for going into town for sightseeing & for travel to Miyajima. We didn't use the hotel ferry but instead took the shuttle bus into town, used our JR pass on the train to the ferry port & then used the JR pass on the ferry. It was pretty quick and not at all inconvenient.
We didn't eat in the hotel but did walk up the road about 15 minutes & found a fusion Italian restaurant, which was very nice. We had drinks in the bar one evening (a tad expensive) but the view goes a long way to compensate & there is a nice ambience!! We were lucky enough to see a bride walk up the glass stairway, all lit up in blue & it was interesting to see cultural differences.
After reading other TripAdvisor reviews, our opinion was that it was an excellent hotel, very quiet & attractive. perhaps there are some areas that might need refurbishing, but generally we were delighted with this hotel.

Room Tip: If paying for a panoramic room, ask for one on a high floor & be aware that the windows may eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zumba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    441
    152
    47
    24
See reviews for
359
245
47
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Located just a short ferry ride from Miyajima Island, the Grand Prince Hiroshima is an ideal choice for tourists looking to explore the island. It's not located centrally to Hiroshima, although there is a free shuttle operated by the hotel as well as a city bus that comes regularly that heads downtown and to the train station. We booked expecting scenic oceans views and the hotel delivered on this quite well. The bathroom was small and didn't include the 'Heavenly Bathtub" that they advertise, which is available for an upcharge. Service was impeccable. Due to its secluded location from the city center, area restaurants are extremely limited, so expect to dine at the hotel. We had dinner on one of the top floors in the Chinnese restaurant which was okay - it wasn't fine dining, but fit the bill after a day of traveling. I had the pork and shrimp dumplings, which I preferred to the main dish. Overall, the price per night swayed from expensive to very affordable, so overall the stay was a good value. Also, you can hike nearby trails or walk along the seafront, which was nice,

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the islands
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mc1emme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is good if u have u own transport cos the location is quite far to town and no jr train but the hotel provide free shuttle service to the nearby jr station.
Room is very big but the room looks aged. Is convenient travel to miyajima cos can buy speedboat ferry ticket from 2 way Jpy 3200 per pax from 8:30 am until evening. The ferry take 30 minutes to miyajima.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were impressed from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. The hotel itself was beautiful and the view from the breakfast buffet on the top floor was phenomenal! The staff was so warm and accommodating. They took so much pride in their jobs! We would definitely return.

Room Tip: I think they are all great! But if possible, a higher room facing west would give a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EagleEyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel to unwind and relax at the end of a long tiring day (which was the case with my group) then this hotel is the right place for you! Not only does it have its own spa, the rooftop bar of the hotel is also a great place to unwind and catch drinks (not expensive!).

While the rooms are mostly for sleeping and one cannot really laze there, the lobby is spacious and quiet enough if you want to just sit there for a while and read a book or catch up on emails (wi fi connectivity was in the lobby area only). As mentioned by other travelers, the rooms are not ornately decorated but rather spartan looking; however I did find mine comfortable and user friendly. Also my room overlooked the bay so the morning sunrise view was excellent.

Breakfast next morning was good (better than in some other hotels in Japan) and the staff is courteous enough to entertain specific requests.

I stayed here for only 1 night so those looking for longer stays in Hiroshima should browse through other reviews for a better opinion on connectivity to airport/ trains etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1lifetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is too far out of town to consider a walk around after hours, however the view across the harbout to the lights of Hiroshima were fantastic.

Room was a little on the small side and bed a little too firm. Breakfast was as good as most Japanese quality hotels

OK as a stop over but would not stay there if you intend to spend a few days in Hiroshima

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is a reasonably new hotel, well appointed, spacious rooms with helpful staff. It allowed us a very comfortable stay. The hotel is out of central Hiroshima but right on the bay so it has a very pleasant outlook. I recommend it but with slight reservations because of the location.

Room Tip: Check that you room is facing the bay (water).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoroniaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 125 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 125 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
#4 of 125 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 125 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima

Property: Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Address: 23-1 Motoujina-machi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 734-8543, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hiroshima
#6 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#11 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beside Motoujina Park, the Hiroshima Prince Hotel looks out toward the picturesque islands that dot the Seto Inland Sea. With magnificent views of the Hiroshima Port and Miyajima Island, the dramatic prism structure towers 23 floors. Below, the hotel's private pier is a great starting point to enjoy leisure activities along the marina or to take a cruise to the nearby islands.Featuring a variety of restaurants and extensive conference facilities, the Hiroshima Prince is a popular venue for international conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Rakuten and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing