We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Ranked #10 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Very quiet room”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Wioth a lovely setting on the water, the Grand Prince is a short drive outside downtown Hiroshima - some shopping is available at hotel, but otherwise a drive is necessary. we arrived late and left early, so can't evaluate hotel restaurants or amenities, though the large buffet breakfast was adequate (large tour groups use the hotel, and breakfast was in a huge room). Room clean and bed comfortable, but a bit hard. However, the room was perhaps the quietest hotel room we have ever had - NO nose whatsoever from outside or inside hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    493
    174
    56
    30
See reviews for
409
276
51
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Although this is quite away out of the main city centre, it is totally worth staying here, if only for the view! When we arrived and looked out the window we were greeted with a panorama view of the Setan sea and islands. There is a free courtesy bus that leaves the hotel quite regularly and drops you off at the train station so you look round the city. There is also a trolley bus around the city centre which will take you to the A Dome site and the museums are close by.
The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are generous by Japan terms. The only thing is the food and especially the drinks are expensive. For some tasty food though try the okinayamanaki cafe just next door. Good cheap and filling meals.
There is also a nice walk around the headland - just watch the tide though as the water comes up onto the path. Would definitely stop here again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wynn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night as part of a tour party. Clean room, with efficient staff. Size of room not great, but is normal for Japan. Good view across the bay (especially at night). Situated on a small peninsular, it's ideally located for a morning run or walk. Breakfast buffet limited, but does the job.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joe90_gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ocean view from the room on higher floor up from 14th floor. Onsen bath on 3rd floor is an experience with outside bath with not much view. A direct fast boat to Miyajima, Eda and Kure with two days pass port boat ride is convenient. Minor is no WIFI connection (only LAN cable) free internet connection in the room. Bit far from the station but it's in a small peninsula almost like an island, so quiet and nice beach. Services are not international standard but it's Hiroshima and fairly good will services were there. Rooms are not too big but a fantastic view. We enjoyed staying there.

Room Tip: reserve a higher floor than 14th to enjoy view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJS1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Best thing about this hotel is the great views, the area its located next to world heritage listed Miyajima. However the hotel is badly dated and in need of a major renovation. Basically its an early 90's hotel and nothing has changed since then.
They need to refit the rooms, decor and upgrade with new technology like wifi. Wouldnt recommend this hotel unless your visiting Miyajima and want to be close.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasoooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel not out of choice but because we were invited to a meeting. Our corner suite had breathtaking views across the ocean and the multitude of islands and mountains. However, the decor was a mismatch of wallpapers, curtains, furniture and carpets, which was rather depressing. But worse was what we experienced on the 2nd day. When we came back to our room in the afternoon, there was an incredible strong smell of solvent throughout the suite. It was so unbearable that we had to call the hotel reception for help. We were later advised that they were carrying out some light refurbishment on the floor above, and that the hotel management would like to come and inspect the smell. Upon agreeing with us about the strong chemical fumes, they came back with 2 air cleaners, but did not offer to move us to another room. A few hours later, around 10 PM, our eyes were stinging and we started to experience a light headache, we then called for help again; we also told the hotel staff that we were very unhappy. They turned up with another 3rd air cleaner, so we told them that this was just unacceptable and we would not be able to sleep, and if we did, we would find it hard to wake up again. Eventually, they moved us to a junior suite with clean air and, to our surprise, was much better decorated that the 'suite from hell'. We will not go back to this hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel until they address health and safety issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is soo long over due but whatever. I stayed at this hotel in 2007 with my People to People group when we were touring Japan and let me say it was one of the best hotels I've ever been in. Amazing views and great food for breakfast.The lobby was beautiful and so was the rest of the place. I stayed in a very comfy double room with my friend and they had this great body dryer in the bathroom that i used to dry my clothes lol. The room was clean and I'm pretty anal about hotel rooms. Anywho, some of the boys from the group had a suite and it was also beautiful. The most important thing was that handled a group of 30 pretty reckless American teens very well and made us feel very comfortable. Kudos.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenifaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,471 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 121 in Hiroshima
397 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima

Property: Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Address: 23-1 Motoujina-machi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 734-8543, Hiroshima Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hiroshima
#4 Spa Hotel in Hiroshima
#6 Family Hotel in Hiroshima
#11 Business Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima 4*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beside Motoujina Park, the Hiroshima Prince Hotel looks out toward the picturesque islands that dot the Seto Inland Sea. With magnificent views of the Hiroshima Port and Miyajima Island, the dramatic prism structure towers 23 floors. Below, the hotel's private pier is a great starting point to enjoy leisure activities along the marina or to take a cruise to the nearby islands.Featuring a variety of restaurants and extensive conference facilities, the Hiroshima Prince is a popular venue for international conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Rakuten, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hiroshima
Hiroshima Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing