We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice atmosphere poor service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Totide

Totide
Ranked #1,748 of 6,033 Restaurants in Hiroshima
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We first ordered a plate of cold meat and chees. Food was nice but no bred was served with it. Had a white wine, which was okay but not more. Main dish was rather small, but had a good taste. The red wine, merlot, was way to warm and no big taste and nose. The grappa at the end was nice thou.

The service was rather poor. They didnt bothered to remove the dishes after every single course nor let us try the wine first but just pured it all in.

The location is nice althought quite modern and not so authentic as i would have expected from the previous comments.

Id say there are better italians around..

Chris, Switzerland

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris_switzerland_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Russi, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice! A real taste of Italy and Romagna Region!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I was in Hiroshima 10 days ago and I've seen other reviews of TOTIDE wine bar.
So we decided to go with a coworker on a Saturday night to have dinner there.
With great satisfaction we found a real "corner" of Italy both for the food served (very high quality and workmanship) and for the 'atmosphere and the furnishings of good design.
Very good wine is served also for a single glass.
Moreover this is reasonably priced.
But what it pushed me to do this review was the warmth and 'welcoming staff (very friendly and helpful, although the place was full of customers).
If you are in Hiroshima did not miss' opportunity to visit it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Massimo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
2 reviews
“A true oasis of Italy in Japan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

I've been in this restaurant just opened, with my Japanese colleague.
I liked the food and friendly service, I have tasted some wines, all very good and cheap price wine
Even the food is very good. Associations food / wine are excellent, especially the Sangiovese wine with cheese.
I very much appreciated the atmosphere in the restaurant, at the same time elegant and simple, which reflects very well the Italian style of old inns, revised in modern times.
Although far from Italy, for a few hours, I felt at home.
The only negative note is the small dimension, would be perfect if it was larger.
Recommend to all the pizza, cheese and pasta. All wines are Italian and very good level, especially Massellina

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Piemil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good wine and food,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Totide is a great place to meet friends or to go for a romantic evening, it's a very very lovely place!!! Their wine are FANTASTIC, and what about the price!!! Very cheap! The food is great too. The appetizer menu is just fabulous......including the best bruschetta I have ever had! The staff was very knowledgeable about the different wines and suggested food pairings with each. All the wine and the food are from Emilia-Romagna, the region of the good food (parmiggiano chease), beautiful car (Ferrari) and excellent wine (Sangiovese).

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nick u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good wine very reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

I was in Hiroshima for business my friend suggest me this Italian wine bar , wine is very convenient and the atmosphere of the place really cool. I suggest to try the wide selection of cheese and my favorite wine Sangiovese Riserva , i do not remember the vintage. I also good pizza. I also suggest to try Albana di Romagna passito it is lime ice wine I tried in Canada and a good original italuan espresso at the end.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PFRANCESCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Totide also viewed

Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 

Been to Totide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing