We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, best location in town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima
Ranked #1 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great hotel, best location in town.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is literally right next to the main Hiroshima train station. The rooms are very good, as you would expect from a Sheraton. Good breakfast buffet, staff is very friendly and helpful (special thanks to porter Kevin, who solved the mystery of where to find an international card-friendly ATM: 711 and post office, FYI).
Recommended activity: Hiroshima Peace Museum and A-Bomb Dome Park (short taxi or tram ride), then take the river cruise to Miyajima Island and then the train back, which drops you right next to your hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris-in-Bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
宿泊部支配人, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Mr. Cris-in-Bkk,

Thank you very much for posting your comments about our restaurant on Trip Advisor, and we will do our best for reviewing our guests' opinions. We hope you come back again to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    636
    92
    27
    6
See reviews for
426
762
124
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Hotel is located right next to the Shinkansen exit of Hiroshima station and a few minutes walk from the tram (streetcar) lines. Rooms are large, bright, and very modern. Bathroom is spacious and a separate bath and shower is a definite plus. Corner rooms have a great view of the city and the mountains. Air conditioning seems to be a bit warmer than we set on the thermostat, however this was not a significant issue when setting to a lower temperature than usual.

Hotel lobby is modern and very decorative for its small size, however it is heated to uncomfortable levels, which was noticeable when sitting in the lobby cafe. Regardless, the cafe is well priced (for a hotel) with a large choice of drinks and desserts.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
宿泊部支配人, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Mr. chrisarmstro,

Thank you very much for posting your comments about our restaurant on Trip Advisor, and we will do our best for reviewing our guests' opinions. We hope you come back again to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
202 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in February. We booked the Club room and what a lovely surprise we had. Rooms are a good size with a huge king bed. Bed and pillows were lovely to use after some of the places we have stayed in Japan. So nice having a shower that's not in a bath. Found it a bit hard to work out where to go for check in, which is on the 6th floor. The club floor was lovely. I do think they could have a bit more choices in the food in the Club Lounge. We had breakfast up in the Club lounge and the lady working there went out of her way to get what we wanted. On the last morning we were there we met one of the chefs and he was so nice. One of our group wasn't feeling the best and this chef went and made her some fresh chicken soup. So very nice of him. As a matter of fact, all the staff at this hotel were very friendly, helpful and made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watts54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
宿泊部支配人, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Mr. watts54,

Thank you so much for staying with us, the Sheraton hotel Hiroshima and sharing your impressions of the accommodation.
We are very pleased with your state in which you satisfied with the room and service. How has your friend been?
We would do our best to improve services so that you can satisfy more, and hope you come back again to stay with us in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Date: Feb 2014
Price: $200
Room: 20th floor, Club King Rooms

This trip we decided to go to Miyajima, by watching a TV show about it. We were thinking if we should stay at Miyajima, but we decided it was a bit too tiring of a trip to travel from Tokyo to Miyajima, so we decided to make a stop at Hiroshima. Again, I make put my trust in reviews on the internet, I have been satisfied and disappointed. This time there was not much of a choice since Sheraton Hiroshima scored better than any other hotels. And indeed, they do not deserve any less than that.

--Good-- First of all, the location is very good. It is right next to Shinkansen train station. When we entered the hotel we were greeted by concierges, and led to the reception which was on a different floor. The floor design of the hotel may seem confusing but it is good for the security point. To get to guest rooms you need to go pass concierge and reception, taking 2 different elevators, which required room key card to access.

We stayed at Club room which offered complementary of club lounge. It is one of the most worthy in term of its price. The quality of the drink and food may not be the best, but good enough, with a nice variety. And the breakfast food is decent too. I have been to hotels which cost more than twice the price, of which some offer nothing; the quality of club lounge was nowhere close to what Sheraton Hiroshima had to offer. The lady that was in charge was very polite too.

--Bad-- We were going to pay cash, upon check-in we were told we had to pay the full price, plus deposit. I think it would have been better if they do like other hotels which we show credit card and pay later at check-out. Distrusting your customers right at the beginning does not give a good first impression.

The soundproof for guest room could be better. We could hear what people were doing next door. Also, since the hotel is right next to train station, we could hear train passes. All of these can be prevented with better materials.

For security issue, I locked myself out and asked for my room to be opened. I was told I would need to provide proof. I said ok, but it is all in the room. When a staff came and open the door, I think he said "thank you" and immediately left in a hurry. Maybe there has never been a case of imposter, but I think it was a flaw in security. It wouldn’t have taken a minute for me to show him my passport.

--Conclusion--
$200 is a very fair price. We may have stayed during low season, which is why the price was rather cheap. We don’t have any plan to return to Hiroshima on a trip, but I feel like looking for some excuses just to take a few days off to stay at Sheraton Hiroshima and spend some relaxing time around a beautiful city of Hiroshima.

Room Tip: Rooms that offers Club Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yensama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
宿泊部支配人, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Mr. yensama,

Thank you very much for posting your comments about our restaurant on Trip Advisor, and we will do our best for reviewing our guests' opinions. We hope you come back again to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had a great stay at the Sheraton in Hiroshima. All the staff, from reception, restaurant, cleaning staff were friendly, extremely helpful, unobtrusive and made my stay very relaxing and enjoyable. It's in a great location, close to trains, buses and trams, so getting around Hiroshima was very easy. The room was extremely comfortable with wonderful panoramic views over Hiroshima. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jac2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
宿泊部支配人, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Mr. Jac2020,

Thank you very much for staying with Sheraton Hiroshima. Our hotel is located just in front of JR station where traveler can easily access to major sightseeing place such as Miyajima or Peace Memorial Park. And, Airport Limousine Bus stop is just infront of our hotel. We hope you come back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Sheraton is ideally located, next to the Hiroshima station. It's probably one of the best Sheratons, or 5 star hotels, for that matter, I stayed. And not too expensive! In Australia you could only find some doggy motel in Ballarat for the price we paid for a double room. Room is light, spacious, with funky bathroom design - basin opens towards to room. Large and comfortable bed can be essential value for those westerners who have been sleeping on futons for a while! Great breakfast and very personable chef. Excellent and efficient staff. There are a couple of points though I would like to bring to the attention of management. One, the bar prices are astronomical, seriously outrageous and the staff is not that flash. And spa arrangements are not convenient, only by phone bookings and very for a limited time. I needed a manicure done badly and wasn't able to find a spot. I would expect a 5 star facility to provide more flexible spa arrangements.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kartch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
宿泊部支配人, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Mr. Kartch,

Thank you so much for posting your comments especially about our Spa on Trip Advisor, and we will do our best for reviewing our guests' opinions. We hope you would come back again to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We spent one day in Hiroshima, so we had very little time as we were heading onto Miyajima. This hotel is ideally located right next to the train station, and a short bus journey away from the Peace Park. The hotel was very clean and the staff very courteous and helpful. This is a western style hotel, and the room was slightly bigger than we expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
宿泊部支配人, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr. cmbuy,

Thank you very much for posting your comments about our restaurant on Trip Advisor, and we will do our best for reviewing our guests' opinions. We hope you come back again to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,442 reviews
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#6 of 121 in Hiroshima
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#4 of 121 in Hiroshima
381 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima
Address: 12-1 Wakakusacho, Higashi-ku, Hiroshima 732-0053, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 121 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Rakuten, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing