We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima
Ranked #1 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed recently and the were a number of advantages: breakfast is a loaded buffet and it was pretty good, the train station could not be closer (and yet the sounds are not troublesome), and the staff is very helpful.
I was honestly confused though as they had gallon size mustard and ketchup next to the omelette station, and I have not seen this done in other places in Japan.
Exit the north side for easy access, when we first arrived we went out the south side, got in a taxi and asked him to take us to the sheraton. Needless to say, we certainly looked like gaijin when he basically drove us around the train station.
MOST IMPORTANTLY: the bed was fantastic, most beds in Asian countries are hard and horrible. This one was lovely.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view, and if you stay on a club floor you get access to the loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    505
    66
    17
    5
See reviews for
335
588
108
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very nice hotel at an excellent location and nice as well as spacious rooms. However, the rooms have an open layout so you can see directly into the bathroom and despite the recent opening there were already signs of wear and tear around the desk area and on the walls. Despite being a modern hotel that opened in 2012 there is no WiFi in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nizolidas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
242 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in November

Pros: next to train station (look for Shinkansen exit), new/modern hotel, free computer usage on 6th floor where you check in.

cons: no real cons. except the shower BESIDE the bathtub is a little odd..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SG_Travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We got a great rate direct from the hotel online for a three night stay. It is adjacent to the train and tram station which is really convenient but we heard absolutely no noise from it. We arrived mid morning by bullet train from Kyoto and took our cases to the hotel to hold them until the 2pm check-in, they had us checked in and in the room within 10 minutes, incredibly friendly and well beyond our expectations. The room was lovely, a great view out over the city, extremely spacious and well appointed plus free internet.

Hiroshima city is compact, we easily walked from the hotel to the Shukkein gardens, castle, Peace Park and museum etc on our first day but if it is too far the tram is very easy to catch back to the station and walk through to the hotel. Restaurants and 7-11 are nearby, or taxi / tram from city are well priced. (For taxi always take hotel card if you don't speak the language).

Transport hub location was very convenient with baggage and for our day trips to Miyajima and Fukuoka (Hakata).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PacificTonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Us
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Extremely convenient location, large room, etc. Can get a great rate on Bookings.com or similar. Have some small complaints but still strongly recommend the hotel.

If you are paying (ie not charging to a company budget) then don't buy breakfast, room service, or make an international call. Examples:

Bfast: 2400 yen pp (US$ 30)
Room service burger w fries: 2200 yen (US$ 28)
Room service Coke: 800 yen (US$ 10) which is really weird since the mini bar Coke is 215 yen!!
A 3 minute international call: can you believe 4000 yen (US$ 50) ???

Literally steps away from the hotel the train station has many eating options including a GREAT little take away croissant place (Forno de Mignon) selling 4 fabulous mini croissants in several flavours including delicious cheese filled starting at 100 yen (US$ 1.25). Way down on the right is another bakery with EXCELLENT sweet and savory pastries you can do for b'fast or a snack (they have tables and chairs). If you need a western food fix the Italian place just inside the station makes an amazing pasta with white clam sauce for 950 yen (US$ 12).

One more thing: I agree with the other posters about the Wifi. Every hotel no matter how big or small gave us free in-room Wifi. The room had a LAN connection...!!! Useless for the iPad. Hello Sheraton, this is the 21st century!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnonUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked a three day stay here recently to explore the area and the other postings aren't wrong - the location is ideal. We stepped off the shinkansen and walked across the plaza and into the hotel!

We booked a club floor room which ended up being a great idea - whether grabbing breakfast in the AM or stopping by to grab a tea on the way back from a day's journey.

Our room was very nice and very large and comfortable. The bathroom situation (semi-opaque toilet) was fine for us but something for friends sharing space should be aware of.

Our only disappointment was there was not any wi-fi in the room and since I'm a gold SPG member I'm used to having access to the internet in the comfort of the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Sheraton Hiroshima for one night. The hotel is reasonably modern but then in Hiroshima most things are. The hotel is well positioned being next to the Hiroshima station and provides access to the city centre. On entering the hotel you have to go up several floors to the lobby reception. The check-in was efficient and speedy. The room allocated was on the SPG floor on a corner that provided a fine view of the city and overlooked the station. there was some noise from the trains but nothing to disturb and the room had secondary double glazing in place. Good bed as expected from the Sheraton. Flat screen tv but with limited channels and very limited English language channels which could be improved on especially as it is a quite a tourist destination. More than adequate wardrobe and drawer space available and a good size safe box. The bathroom was excellent with a bathtub and adjacent shower providing a wet room. Unusual feature was the clear window overlooking the railway station, and although there was a blind it was good hat it was a high floor. There is Internet access in the room but by cable only which is a nuisance. Wi-fi was only available on the ground floor lobby and restaurant area. Staff were friendly and helpful and all those I had interaction with had a good command of English.

The restaurant/cafe was adequate but nothing special with a limited menu. I took breakfast in the same venue which was again adequate but nothing outstanding with a limited choice.

Overall it was a good stay and no complaints. Certainly a good centrally located hotel and would recommend to visitors looking to stay in Hiroshima

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
#4 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
#8 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima
Address: 12-1 Wakakusacho, Higashi-ku, Hiroshima 732-0053, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing