We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very pleasant place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima to your Saves list
Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-1 Wakakusacho, Higashi-ku, Hiroshima 732-0053, Hiroshima Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #1 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

My wife and I very much enjoyed our two-day stay at the Sheraton HIroshima in early November. Very pleasant staff, with both supervisors and support personnel eager to please. As others have noted, it's a new hotel, which is nice. And the location practically next door to the train station is great. As a Starwood Platinum, I got a corner room on a top floor with a good view. Room was not huge, but certainly was adequate. Now, the hotel is not in the same class of luxury as some of the more expensive, swankier places in Japan. But it's a good value, comfortable with good service. We'd definitely go back and we recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Corner upper floor room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    504
    65
    17
    5
See reviews for
333
588
108
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
140 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

This is a great addition to the Starwood family. No complaints regards rooms or service, though one could find the Japanese service a little idiosyncratic compared to other Starwood properties.

Locates next to Hiroshima Station, it's a great base if you're coming in on the Shinkansen and planning to explore the region.

A trip to Miyajima is a must. I spent the better part of two days there. A JR train (+ferry) will take you straight there. Tram service from the Station is also excellent. Consider a trip to the Inland Sea from Hiroshima Port. A trip to the 3000-year old Dogen hot spring in Matsuyama is only a short ferry ride away

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjcSING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We used miles to get a free room here for one night, to see the Peace Park and check out Hiroshima and Miyajima. The hotel was beautifully designed and seemed brand new. Our bed was very comfortable and with great linens. Very spacious room by Japanese standards, big tv, nice bathroom, wifi in the lobby and friendly staff. The location adjacent to the train station could not be more convenient. Very pleasant for a stay in Hiroshima.

Room Tip: We had a King Room on a high floor, it was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebomze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
379 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We booked a club room and thought it was worth the extra charge. The hotel’s location is really convenient to the train station which made getting around easy. It is a new property so everything is fresh and new. The rooms are really nice with a big bathroom and shower room with the tub. The breakfast in the lounge was very good and so we never paid the club floor’s discounted rate to go to the restaurant for breakfast. The cocktail hour also often had a nice selection of food. We really liked the steam your own vegetables.

Room Tip: Go for the club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank detraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Sheraton Hiroshima was the second hotel we stayed at on our Japanese adventure. What a wonderful surprise...we were escorted, after a very quick check-in & shown to a huge room, even with the extra rollaway bed we required. The quality & luxurious feel of the king size bed, decor, linen, bathroom amenities & toileteries was unexpected as we had heard all Japanese accomodation was on the small size.(At this stage we were still getting used to the japanese style of shower room but this one was huge!). There was even a view of the city which was quite impressive at night especially. We immediately wished we were staying more than one night!
The Hotel is situated alongside the JR Hiroshima Station so we stepped straight off the Shinkensan & walked across the carpark to the Hotel - great for anyone with a bit of luggage...very accessible & easy to find.
The staff were more than happy to help with directions as we wanted to get started on our sightseeing as quickly as possible. The hotel was a decent taxi drive away from the Peace Park Memorial Museum & Dome but if we had more time I'm sure the public transport would have been easy to negotiate.
We ate breakfast in the onsite restaurant which was an extra 2000yen each but was quite pleased with our choice..there was a fairly good selection of western options & it was a nice way to start the day with attentive staff & nice food.
All the staff at the hotel that we encountered, were quite fluent in english & exceptionally polite & helpful. The public areas of this hotel are also very well presented & feel welcoming to guests.
As expected, checking out was smooth & simple & leaving the luggage with them for a day of sightseeing was not a problem.
After our stay at this hotel, we wished we had booked other Sheraton properties on our trip!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toowoombatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

This past weekend my family of 4 (two young daughters) traveled to Hiroshima, Japan. We stayed at the Sheraton, a newer hotel, located right by the Hiroshima Station. The location, while not right down by the main tourist attractions, is convenient due to the fact that the train station is right there, as well as the Street car, which you can also use to get around Hiroshima. The rooms were fairly spacious, and included a smaller sofa type couch, that my 5 year old slept on and worked out perfectly (the beds, though "double" are smaller than the normal American sized double- the extra sofa couch worked out perfectly). The front desk staff was friendly, and one of the woman took the time to help us figure out where to eat in advance, as well as recommended the Christmas lights/decorations down Peace Memorial Blvd - which were fantastic!. The buffet breakfast was also very good- it had a lot of Western options (omlets, toast, cereal, lots of varied fruits, bread pudding) as well as the traditional Japanese style breakfasts (salad, smoked/grilled fish,rice, etc). The only complaint I do have is the cost of the swimming pool- it is very small, and costs 1575Yen/person. Due to this, we did not use it (this is typical of Japanese hotels, to have to pay extra for the pool- just disappointing every time we go to a hotel and have to pay another $100 just to swim). Overall, the hotel was very good- I would recommend and stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, and though the view isn't great (Hiroshima Station) the room was pretty ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This Sheraton was the best hotel we stayed in during our entire trip to Japan. It is brand new, the staff is clearly new and trying to please, and the location next to the bullet train station was great. As with many Japanese hotels, it's always helpful to speak a little English, but the staff here clearly went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The room was fantastic with a great view and had the new hotel "Wow" factor that my girlfriend loved.

Compared to the Westin in Osaka and the Sheraton in Tokyo, we loved the Sheraton Hiroshima so much we wished we stayed there a few days more!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Kamiyacho Higashi Station
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
RIHGA Royal Hotel Hiroshima
#4 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Grand Prince Hotel Hiroshima
#8 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima

Property: Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima
Address: 12-1 Wakakusacho, Higashi-ku, Hiroshima 732-0053, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Rakuten, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Hotel Hiroshima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing