We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A warm and friendly ryokan-excellent accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chizuru Ryokan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chizuru Ryokan to your Saves list
Chizuru Ryokan
2.5 of 5
Ryokan
  |   4-12 Fukuro-machi, Naka-Ku, Hiroshima 730-0036, Hiroshima Prefecture (Fukuromachi Station)   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Ranked #29 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A warm and friendly ryokan-excellent accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had the good fortune to stay at the Chizuru Ryokan over the New Year break. There were 3 families ( 11 of us) including teenagers and we had an excellent time. The owners were very accomodating, even preparing a special traditional New Year's breakfast as a treat for us- which was a very nice gesture. The ryokan is extremely conveniently situated within walking distance of the Hiroshima peace park and museum and excellent shopping and eating. The rooms are comfortable, very clean and also very good value for money. It was extremely cold in Hiroshima when we were there but our futons were warm and the rooms had good heating. I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this ryokan- just book in early as we did, especially if you have a larger group travelling. They even sent us a thankyou email upon our return. We will definitely be returning- Hiroshima is a great town and this ryokan an excellent choice of accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    35
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
19
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Basic accomodation in the center of town, but friendly owners, good location, walking distace to the must sees. nice futons. Quiet rooms, a lot of space in the room, absolutely clean, but a lack of mood.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baschior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Correct and acceptable, no more, no less. Spent one night there, so was more looking for a place to crash than a place to enjoy and relax in. Room was adequate, wi-fi was working. Price was very affordable.

Location is great, 2 minutes from the tramway, a few minutes walk to the Peace museum area, and at a walkable distance to pretty much everything else, since Hiroshima is not very big (30 mins walk for some remote art museums, if you enjoy walking). Going to and from the train station is easy : take tram 1 for about 15 minutes.

The host did not speak good english but was trying really hard to communicate. Not ideal and could affect service, but let's say it was part of the experience. we're in the Japan country side after all.. Otherwise, she was courteous.

The bath experience was not as good as my other Ryokan stay, because the bath area itself was small and very plain, so don't expect a spa-like moment in there. It also felt more like a hotel, the host was never really present or active, However I must admit I was not in house during most of the day. But when I was there, no service, no drinks offer, no Japenese bath preparation, etc. Don't expect an "experience" here.

Some small details may be noteworthy : No breakfast. No meals. Bathroom is shared and very tiny. The floors are really cracky and you have the feeling you're waking up the whole house if you come back late. Curfew is 11PM so it is not for the party crowd.

Overall, If you don't expect an "experience" and consider it as a place to sleep, I would give it between a 3 and 4 stars rating and perfectly acceptable :it is convenient, well located, affordable (50$), you have wi-fi in room, many restaurants, coffee places and shops around, getting to/from the train station is easy.

If you want an authentic Ryokan experience, I would advice to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bart_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We only stayed 1 night, but found the location very convenient, walking to many places. We are a family of 4 & our room was huge. Traditional Japanese welcome with tea was a lovely start. One of us speaks Japanese so didn't have any language problems. Stairs are quite narrow & steep, could be difficult for very young children or seniors. We enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

3 weeks in Japan and this was one of my favorite places we stayed!

The location is superb - walkable to all the sites, cafe & convenience store at the corner, close to the pedestrian shopping area and a 15 minute walk to Nagarekawa. It's close to one of the tram stops too, but we just took the taxi from the train station with our luggage and walked everywhere once we were settled. If you prefer taxis, there is also a taxi stop about 2 blocks away.

The owner is very sweet. She immediately took us to our room and served us tea and cookies - she took care of the check in process while we enjoyed our snacks. Plus our room was HUGE - especially by Japanese standards. It was basically two rooms turned into one, which was great considering there were only two of us...think we may have been the only guests at the time. The hallway light shines through the screen at night, but I just turned it off when we were going to bed.

Shared bathrooms, but they were nice and very clean. Shower/bath was on the first floor.

Overall - loved it! Highly recommended and definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NOnionsXPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Great location. I walked everywhere, Peace Park, Castle etc. Very close to shopping malls + food, internet, etc. Can catch the tram from Rijo Dori (the closest major rd) all the way to Miyajima. Very welcoming place, although I don't think English is her strongest point. Traditional Japanese. Very good although I've done the Ryokan thing now so I probably wouldn't stay again. No internet from memory and I think I had to pay in cash upon arrival, no credit card.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LachieAHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

Not much to add from the previous reviewer --
Ryokan Chizuru is in a great location, within 10 minutes walk from the Peace park and close to a streetcar stop. It is probably a 15-20 minute walk to the castle (we went a round-about way). The price, for Japan, is hard to beat (7500Y, no breakfast)
On arrival to Hiroshima Station we took a taxi there to help get our bearings (~1000Y, ~8 minutes). It was easy enough to navigate by streetcar after that -- from Hondori Streetcar Station, just go down the small street at the Family Mart.
The hotel itself has Japanese style rooms with a TV (never turned it on), and a set-up for tea making. It's a bit worn, but very clean and our room was very large. The lady took out a map as soon as we got there and showed us how to get places and where to get okonomiyaki. We spoke a combination of Japanese and English - we don't speak much Japanese, but it worked fine. We told her we would take showers in the morning, and there was no water in the ofuro (bathtub) which was okay.
There was one strange thing, the light in the hallway remained on, and was shining through the shoji screen all night. I'm sure they would have helped us turn it off if we had asked, but we didn't want to bother them. We were tired enough it didn't bother us much, and it was very, very quiet. The pillows were also harder than we're used to, even in other Japanese style rooms. (I'll admit we actually used the seat cushions as pillows, which worked great...)
They were extremely nice and helpful overall, and let us keep our bags there until around 13:00pm our last day when we left for Miyajima.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AL-the-squid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Park Side Hotel
#10 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Ikawa Ryokan
#83 of 124 in Hiroshima
3.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Mitsui Garden Hotel Hiroshima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
Hotel Hokke Club Hiroshima
Hotel Hokke Club Hiroshima
#12 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chizuru Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chizuru Ryokan

Property: Chizuru Ryokan
Address: 4-12 Fukuro-machi, Naka-Ku, Hiroshima 730-0036 , Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Fukuromachi Station , Chudenmae Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chizuru Ryokan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Chizuru Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing