We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient with lovely service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi
Ranked #27 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Convenient with lovely service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good budget hotel close to station. Take north exit and you can see the hotel straight ahead to the left of Lawsons. Many convenience stores close by. Easy access to all major sights either by walking (30 minutes) or trams. There is a pedestrian underpass to get to the tourist side (south exit) of the station. It is located on the outside of the north exit just in front of the car pull up.

Staff were wonderful with the lady on duty (31/12/12) going out of her way to find information on new year celebrations for us. She really was lovely. Free breakfast was good, traditional Japanese options plus fresh bread to toast with jams. Only negative is the thin walls which make the room a bit noisy (ear plugs fixed this). Thin walls seem to be common in all the Toyoko Inns we have stayed in. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsutt35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    43
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
11
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

Did not have any problem walking to this hotel after getting off at Hiroshima Station. The rate was a little high on 14 December 2011 (Wednesday) at 6982Y for economy double, so I used our free room night (Toyoko Inn’s stay 10 nights and get 1 night single-room free scheme for members) we had chalked up earlier. Only paid 1000Y to convert the single room to a double room.

Checked with reception for estimate on how long it takes to get to Peace Park from the hotel – the lady said to go by tram, as it would take too long to walk. How long? At least half an hour she said. That was fine with us as half an hour’s walk is nothing, especially nice in a new city we’ve arrived in. We’d be seeing the city streets, looking at people, getting a feel of the place as we walk.

Walked back towards Hiroshima Station, then used the underground pedestrian walkway. Keep going straight till you can’t go further (it was rather short, actually), then walk the rest of the way on the surface.

After Peace Park and the museum, we walked to Honduri shopping street nearby, and had okonomiyaki lunch. Then we took a tram back to Hiroshima Station in order to get to Miyajima faster. TIP: The JPRail site has great pictorial direction for getting to Miyajima, which I had printed out to follow. So we did Miyajima as well the same day with our JR pass.

This Toyoko Inn was pretty much like any of the 12 Toyoko Inns we stayed in during our trip. It’s walking distance from Hiroshima Station, very clean, safe and provided breakfast – all with good value for money and that’s what I wanted.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hissyfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

I stayed there with my family in January, hotel is very simple but clean and very good service. Walking distance from train station but not in the side of city center. You have to go to station to take the bus to visit tourist sites.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DS-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night in August of 2010 with my brother while traveling through Japan. It was my second time to Japan and I have stayed in many other Toyoko Inns.

Location: Located about a five minute walk from the north exit of the Hiroshima JR station, this hotel is quite convenient for those traveling with JR passes. The surrounding area itself has some restaurants and attractions, but most of the cities shopping and historical sites are located a short tram ride away. It has to be noted that the tram station is located at the south exit of the JR station and to get to there (the short way) you need to cross through the interior of the station (requiring a JR Pass).

Hotel: The hotel itself is built and run like a typical Toyoko Inn. You get a good value stay without many amenities. No problems encountered with anything in the hotel. There were two computers downstairs with internet access and free breakfast. They also helped us keep our bags before check in and after check out so we can maximize our day in Hiroshima.

Room: Small room typical of hotels in Japan. Bed is hard but functional. The air conditioning unit is self controlled; however, we had trouble reading the Japanese labels on the remote and didn't know how to control it. Eventually after playing around a while, we got it to work. The washroom is small but functional. The most important thing is that it is clean. The cleaning staff certainly do a great job with this.

Overall: With this hotel you know what you get when you pay for it. It is a good value and you will receive a solid, clean and functional hotel room. I would recommend for any traveler with a JR pass that is only spending a short time in Hiroshima. This allows you to not have to drag your luggage around on trams to get to your hotel deeper in the city. You can simply drop off your luggage at the hotel right outside the JR station and walk back to the Tram station. Similarly, when departing, you are close to the JR station. One of the best values in Japan is the Toyoko Inn branch.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgeamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

This was by far the nicest hotel i stayed in during my time in Japan. It was quiet modern (or atleast appeared that way). The rooms were large by "business hotel' standards, the staff were helpful and smiling, and the general atmosphere of the hotel was just generally great.
Cons: Could have been a little close to JR Hiroshima, it is on the 'wrong side' of the station so if you wanted to get to town you had to go through the station (i had a JR pass so this wasn't a problem). I don't want to harp on this issue and it was a minor downside to what is a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ET8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hiroshima Station
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
#12 of 125 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Hiroshima Station
Toyoko-Inn Hiroshima Ekimae Ohashi Minami
Hiroshima Station
Hotel Flex
Hotel Flex
#30 of 125 in Hiroshima
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Station
Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
Chisun Hotel Hiroshima
#14 of 125 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Hiroshima Station
Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Minamiguchi-migi
Hiroshima Station
APA Hotel Hiroshima Ekimae
APA Hotel Hiroshima Ekimae
#61 of 125 in Hiroshima
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi

Property: Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi
Address: 2-6-25 Hikari-machi Higashi-ku, Hiroshima 732-0052, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, JAPANiCAN and Booking.com so you can book your Toyoko Inn Hiroshima-eki Shinkansen-guchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing