We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urbain Hiroshima Executive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
Ranked #13 of 124 Hotels / Ryokan in Hiroshima
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hotel's location is excellent - right next to main train station of Hiroshima. Rooms are small, like everywhere in Japan.
A small spa (Jacuzzi and sauna) is free of charge - men and women have separated hours.
Free use of washing machine and dryer.
Nice breakfast, nice (though not so helpful) staff.

Funny to see hotel guests wondering around in green pyjamas (provided by hotel)

Major minus - no WIFI at all.
Overall - okay stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMicha76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    171
    60
    9
    2
See reviews for
47
122
51
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
299 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Many of the things others have mentioned are accurate - by Western standards, the rooms are small, but having stayed in a few hotels in Japan, this seems to be fairly normal. The breakfast is included, and laundry is free (50 yen for washing powder). You also get a cabled internet connection with no restrictions - many places we've stayed at have 'blocked' Skype, so it was great to be able to use this here. The hotel is very close to the train station and tram stops, making it very easy to get around. The bed was fairly comfy, and the bathroom, while small for a tall person like myself, was adequate. Overall, a good, convenient hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeonVenables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I echo some of the reviews that have gone before me. My personal thoughts after spending 2 nights here in November 2012:

Good points:
1. Local is convenient if you have a lot of luggage and don't want to have to carry it around the city to find your hotel - you are 5 minutes away from Hakata Station.
2. Room prices are very cheap for Japan.
3. Free breakfast is reasonable.
4. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
5. Free laundry service is a saviour when you are backpacking!

Less good points:
1. It is a bit of a long walk into central Hiroshima if you prefer to stroll around a city.
2. The rooms are tiny, even by Japanese standards.
3. The building is designed so that there is effectively an atrium that is open to the outside. That makes the hotel very cold, and the rooms become stuffy as you ramp up the heating to compensate for it,

No massive complaints, but probably would give somewhere else a go when I return to Hiroshima next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisUKinHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Overall good value for money. Not too expensive, free breakfast, free laundry (incl dryer)! (only had to buy washing powder 50 yen from reception), nice communal bath with powder room type area with combs, razors etc., amazing state of the art shower. Good-ish location - 5-10min walk from hiroshima train station.

Breakfast was a mix of western and japanese food, there was scrambled eggs, bread (incl crossiants and few rolls), rice, pickles, salad, miso soup. Also 24-7 free coffee and tea (in addition to what you get in your room), juice, and cold drinks (incl coke! wow). Sure breakfast wasnt equivalent to a 5 star hotel or cafe food which you get at home, but it's decent and filling...and FREE! We even got fresh pyjamas every day! (first time in my life! - not yukatas, but pyjamas!)

The only downside i think was the size of the rooms (to which it lost a star), i knew it was small from the reviews, but it is really small! We had a double bed which was small, but enough for both of us (we were 2 girls) but i dont think it would be enough for someone who was much bigger/taller. And location-wise if you want to stay closer to the main attractions plus the main city this is not the place to stay (need to take a tram - 10min away). Good place to stay if all you need is a bed to sleep ( and a nice bath to soak after a long days' walk!)

Room Tip: choose a bigger room - perhaps 2 single beds?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
289 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Considering that this hotel was ranked eight of all hotels in Hiroshima at the time of booking we thought it was a very disappointing stay. For starters there is no wifi. I find that inexcusable. This is something a modern hotel like this one should have in order. Even the smallest ryokan has wifi so why not in this hotel? Besides that we felt that the rooms were truly ridiculously small. The double bed itself is certainly not big enough for two 'western' people of average height and built. But besides that the floor space itself is so small that you can't keep your suitcase open without blocking the passage to the bathroom. The bathroom, of course, is equally small. I know many hotels in Japan are very small room wise, this was no surprise, but this was even smaller than we expected or are used to. Cleanliness left something to be desired as well. One of the kimono's provided, for instance, was dirty. I must admit that the breakfast wasn't half bad though. And the laptop in the lobby for common use quite fast and most of the time free. Staff were also okay though not particularly helpful. Location is very handy though, only five minutes to the station which is ideal. The atomic bomb site and other sights are quite far though and you will have to take a tram for that.

Room Tip: Honestly, in this price range it makes much more sense to choose a quiet, pleasant ryokan. Rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Tiny room! Very good Japanese breakfast. Free laundry. Located near Hiroshima station. The building of the hotel is strange so the result is that the out of the room is kind of out of the building especially may be a problem in cold or rain days.
No wi-fi!

Room Tip: Notice that you have to access the hotel from North exit of Hiroshima station building which is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

As with my previous trips to Japan, I would pick a hotel that is closer to the main JR station for the sake of convenience and also to spare myself from lugging my luggage around after I arrive in a city by Shinkansen. Urbain Hiroshima is about a 5 minutes walk away from the main station. We arrived early and placed our luggage at the counter for safekeeping while we went sightseeing.

We arrived late in the evening after a day of sightseeing and were surprised to find that the corridor to our room was actually open air. It was April and still quite chilly and I wasn't too pleased. Next we went into the room and it was one of the smallest we have stayed in our numerous trips to Japan. Hardly enough space to walk and open up your luggage. As with most japanese hotels, the room was spotless and bed was comfortable.

Overall our stay was comfortable since we stayed only for a night. I would not choose to stay here again if I had to stay another night. The price for the room was value for money considering its location.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank extacy2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Urbain Hiroshima Central
#6 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fukuromachi Station
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
ANA Crowne Plaza Hiroshima
#5 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,171 reviews
Park Side Hotel
#11 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urbain Hiroshima Executive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urbain Hiroshima Executive

Property: Urbain Hiroshima Executive
Address: 16-13 Wakakusa-cho, Higashi-ku, Hiroshima 732-0053, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima > Hiroshima Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hiroshima
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Urbain Hiroshima Executive 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Urbain Hiroshima Executive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbain Hotel Hiroshima

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing