We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Hiroshima, great location, friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hiroshima Hana Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hiroshima Hana Hostel to your Saves list
Hiroshima Hana Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1-15 Kojinmachi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0807, Hiroshima Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Name/address in local language
Certificate of Excellence
Cantraybridge
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value for Hiroshima, great location, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here two nights, and it was great, really. I don't think we had enough time to fully appreciate the friendly and helpful staff, but they were lovely and I'd found them very pleasant to deal with when booking the room, too. The room was fine - pretty good for a hostel, with a nice little en suite, everything very clean, and we got a good night's sleep despite the central location of the hotel and our room being right by the elevator and stairs. Not a luxurious place, of course - but a good deal for quite an expennsive city, and an excellent location near the JR station and tram stops, too. Nice little shared kitchen. Plenty info in the rooms and downstairs around reception, which helped us make the most of our short time in Hiroshima. (Only a 15-minute walk to the Shukkei-en garden, by the way, so I had a lovely trip there the morning we left!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TankGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    99
    27
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
66
86
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have never stayed in a hostel before and only did so because of our 3 boys - our 20 yr old and 2 of his mates, as triple rooms are hard to come by. They had a traditional Japanese room with futons on a tatami floor, so when rolled up they had quite a spacious room. Being middle aged we opted for a western double. Now we have been in some pretty small rooms in our travels but this room won the prize for "smallest in the universe". (And yes we have been to Amsterdam).

But... it was warm and clean and we quickly adjusted to the space. The location is excellent as another reviewer pointed out there's not much around that area but a 20 minute walk or a quick tram ride and you are in the middle of everything.

Oh something we have never encountered before - you have to rent your towels! I' m glad I realised before getting into the shower - its only 70 yen per towel per day but if you don't know its a wet and soggy trip to reception.

Highly recommend if there a few of you travelling together.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soosie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayateru, フロント at Hiroshima Hana Hostel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment.

< you have to rent your towels!
Most "hostels" which are not " hotels" in Japan don't provide towels .
however ,as you recommended, We will now inform guest upon arrival that
they can rent towels.

Thank you for your advice!

We are happy to hear you enjoyed you time here with us and would welcome
you anytime!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Hana hostel is conveniently located a short 5 minute walk from Hiroshima station, which is also the tram depot. The surrounding area doesn't have much to offer but as it's close to transport its not a problem. We stayed in a double "Japanese style" room - which for us was a bit of a mistake. I'm all up for trying new things, but the tatami beds are just too uncomfortable for our western bodies and we really didn't sleep well - nothing against the hotel though, it was our fault. We went in the Summer, when it was both hot and humid and it was slightly irritating that we were not allowed to turn the aircon below 28 to save energy....I don't know about you, but 28 is not conditioned air to me! Other than that the hostel offers everything you need for a great price. The staff are friendly and can point you in the right direction.

Make sure you day trip to Itsukushima to see the shrine (and the deer), its beautiful and there's nice restaurants and shops. buy a day pass on the tram and use it as much as you want, they really go everywhere. Also if you get the chance go out night clubbing with a random elderly lady who buys you drinks and takes you to a karaoke bar - we did it and it was the best!

Room Tip: If you don't like sleeping on the floor opt for a western room - we regretted trying the japanes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paddlez0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Some rooms have futon, others have bunk beds. Rooms very small but clean. Air conditioning. Centrally located. In the hall a lot of information and leaflets on the city + a free internet terminal. Great for those on a budget but do not compromise on quality (even if it is a hostel).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hiroshima Hana Hostel
1-15 Kojinmachi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture 732-0807, Japan

Stayed at this hostel in October 2012 for 2 nights in Hiroshima, Japan. Overall a good budget place. It is not really a hostel as most of the floors have private rooms. I had a private room and it was good, very clean. A bit small but good overall. Check in was very fast and staff very friendly. You have good internet signal in every room. You are in a good location, close walking distance to train station. Many places to eat and shop in immediate area.
Short walk from the JR station and tram terminal. You can be at the Peace Park within about 15 minutes.It was a good size, although the bathroom was tiny. It was clean and quiet and the common room was a nice place to meet people.Area is very safe, and never felt in any danger.
The 5th floor has a washer and dryer outside on a patio next to a TV room, where you can play DVDs borrowed from the front desk while you wait for your clothes to finish. The first floor has a kitchen and small dining room where there are a couple of free computers to use.
Remember to take your shoes off when you enter.
Only bad part is property is located right next to train tracks, so gets a little loud when train goes by.
Would recommend this place to single travellers, groups and couples on a budget.
Overall a good stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: When in area. Reserve a head. Try a private room if you can. Remove your shoes on entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshima, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed two nights and had a great time. Location is great. Short walk from the JR station and tram terminal. You can be at the Peace Park within about 15 minutes. The people at the desk were really friendly and helpful, gave good suggestions of where to eat and what Hiroshima is known for. The rooms are small, but you don't spend a lot of time in them so it doesn't matter. Would stay again if we came back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules_W1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm traveling alone for a few days before meeting my husband and boys in Tokyo and this was the perfect place for me to stay in Hiroshima. The staff was extremely friendly and spoke excellent English. I had a private room with bath and for the price (very reasonable!), I couldn't have asked for more. Free coffee in the common kitchen was a really nice touch!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberlyeblaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hiroshima hotels
Hotel Granvia Hiroshima
#3 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Park Side Hotel
#10 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hiroshima Washington Hotel
#2 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Hiroshima Station
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
Urbain Hiroshima Executive
#13 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Urbain Hiroshima Central
#6 of 124 in Hiroshima
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiroshima Hana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiroshima Hana Hostel

Property: Hiroshima Hana Hostel
Address: 1-15 Kojinmachi, Minami-ku, Hiroshima 732-0807, Hiroshima Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chugoku > Hiroshima Prefecture > Hiroshima
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty lodging in Hiroshima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hiroshima Hana Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Hostel Hiroshima started the business in August 2008. The building used to be a local “business hotel”.We remodeled this into an advanced international hostel. As we are very close from the station and the guest rooms are well-equipped, we will be an good option to stay for not only backpackers but also for ordinary tourists with suits cases. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hiroshima Hana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing