We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Rude & unprofessional” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Mario

Ristorante Mario
Ranked #17 of 5,997 Restaurants in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rude & unprofessional”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and i were in Hiroshima last Sunday (10th June 2012) and after some lunch. We'd just finished up in the Peace Park so went to Ristorante Mario a place we had heard good things about. It was towards the end of lunch, that is true. But we walked in, two staff ignored us and nodded to a third. He ran past us crossing his fingers saying 'closed' and picked up the closed sign which to that point had been nowhere near any of the wide open doors or windows. For whatever reason they didn't want to serve us despite their opening hours apparently being all day. Ten minutes later having found nowhere to eat still we found ourselves walking back past the restaurant. Doors wide open, closed sign nowhere to be seen. Why did they not want to serve us? I won't guess but whatever the reason it made us feel very upset and soured that day.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpyuncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I am giving Ristornte Mario a 4 star for overall appeal. The food was pretty good (though they do not serve Pizza, as reviewed here previously- it may be something they recently removed?), and the wine was great. The location, right across from the Peace Memorial Museum/Park, was very convenient. The only issue was the communication part- the English menu is great, though there is very little understandable English spoken by the waitstaff, so communicating was a little bit difficult (we ordered 3 of one type of food, and ended up with one, and 3 bowls- so we ended up waiting quite a bit for everyone to get their food). Overall though, a good place to take kids!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Leighg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly staff, understand & speak English”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Had a great Italian meal, reasonable prices, nice menu. definitely recommend
and on Peace Boulevard near Peace Park.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Hiroshima”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

If you are in Hiroshima, make a trip to Mario's Peace Park.
It is overlooking one of the most solemn sites in the world.
They deliver great Italian food and fabulous service.
English food menu and great and accomodating staff close the deal.
Try the Ox Tail red sauce and you will not be disappointed.
Short wald to Peace Park and marvel at the Japanese-way of honoring destruction with one of the most solemn sites in the world.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pattoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Italian with a spash of Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

After searching all over for a restaurant with an English menu (or pictures at the very least) I stumbled upon this quaint little place across from the peace park. The atmosphere was lovely and the service was excellent. (It was a weeknight, so it wasn't busy).

The food was excellent! Bread and olive oil were brought whilst I was looking at the menu. I decided on the set course and chose an appetiser of Rosemary Potatoes and Chicken, followed by Linguini Carbonara, and a desert of Tiramasu. Everything was wonderfully delicious. The tiramasu was a bit of a surprise as it had chestnuts in/with it. I would have never put chestnuts with tiramasu but it was wonderful.

The wait staff were very friendly and attentive and the atmosphere very cozy and inviting. There was an English menu and the staff spoke some English, so we were able to manage.

Would definately go there again and highly recommend it!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oohmercyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Mario also viewed

Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 

Been to Ristorante Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing