We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Okonomiyaki!”
Review of Hassei

Hassei
Ranked #1 of 6,176 Restaurants in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Okonomiyaki!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went early with our young daughters aged 1.5 and had a delicious meal! The menus are in English and the staff so friendly!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    71
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food in a very simple place”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The place is the best to eat the traditional food from Hiroshima. It is a simple restaurante with only a few tables and you see them cooking for you. The food is divine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
“Will definitely return!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Terrific food accompanied by excellent and friendly staff. Very classic, small Japanese sized venue which adds to the ambiance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taylorkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best okonomiyaki i've ever taste”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I am not a "super fan" of okonomiyaki but my kids and hubby are. I eat okonomiyaki but it's very minimal because i get full so fast whenever i eat it. But, when we got here, i feel like my stomach are getting bigger and bigger while eating. my tummy's saying more! More! The 1st time i eat a lot! My hubby's quite a "big man" you know what i mean, he has big tummy, after we had our dinner here, my kids tummies and mine looks like my hubby's tummy :)) we kinda laugh, coz we haven't seen ourselves so full like this one. Definitely will come back , and come back, whatever season maybe....long drive is worthy. With this kind of place, food, service, definitely a place to go forever.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Takahashi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartonville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not my best meal, but very Good!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is not your typical Japanese food and it has no Dashi or Seseame Seed Oil that are so much in the food in Japan. This is something different. The portions are quite large and I could not finish mine. The staff speak minimal English but made sure that I ordered the "correct" dish. i arrived about 18:00 and the place was empty. I sat down and looked at the menu (with pictures) so I made my meal with my eyes. While they were cooking my "Okonmiyaki". The place was full in a few minutes, mostly by Japanese. I had a "Nama Biru" (Tapped Beer) and Ow-wa-ka-Lee (one more). I enjoyed the meal and it was quite a lot for the money. I hated to leave any but I was "anuki pie" (full). I might try again if I have time. Great value for money and a different taste if you have been on standard Japanese fare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hassei also viewed

Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 

Been to Hassei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing