We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“traditional okonomiyaki” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hassei

Hassei
Ranked #1 of 6,033 Restaurants in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“traditional okonomiyaki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

hard to find little okonomiyaki restaurant near the peace park. we only found this place after asking for directions from a few people (even though there is an english sign outside!).

food is delicious and is prepared in front of your eyes by the charismatic chefs who seem to love what they do.

overall fantastic value for money, a show as well as delicious food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    57
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great okonomiyaki, Hiroshima style!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

It took us a little while to find Hassei, but it was worth it. The sign out the front SAYS Hassei in English, but we more or less stumbled on it.
We sat at the counter & watched as the chef prepared then cooked our okonomiyaki. These were quite different to the ones my mother cooked for me as a child & that I learned to cook myself.
The flavours & textures were superb. Okonomiyaki is a Japanese dish that tends to be overlooked, but is a specialty of Hiroshima. Do yourself a favour & eat here!
Just a little tip - unless you a re VERY hungry, get a half serve - it's still plenty to eat!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank AlainMusigny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Highlight in Every Respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Based on a previous Trip Advisor review, my son and I set out in search of this okonomiyaki restaurant. It was a little tough to find, but boy was it worth it! Watching the chef construct these savory pancakes was amazing. We had never had anything like it. It was fantastic and kept us going the rest of the day. I only wish we had gone back before we left the next afternoon. Sit at the grill!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NotWearyAtAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If you go to one place for Okonomayaki, go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Went to Okonomimura twice and most places were empty, so went here instead.

So busy that we had to wait in the bar across the road. Waitress came out to get us when a table was free.

Staff were really friendly, menus were in English too and the chef was a showman. Food was excellent - we shared some ribs (off the bone, succulent and juicy) and the seafood special (good amount of seafood, large, tasty).

Seemed like a locals place but very tourist friendly. Tucked off on the left hand side of a little side road on the first corner after the main peace blvd when heading away from town centre). Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frampsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Reputation is everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We ordered half an okonomykia each and it was huge. The nicest meal I've had in ages. There were messages written on the walls from all over the world. Only a small restaurant, but friendly efficient staff and a must if you visit Hiroshima. We discovered plum sake and soda.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank barbante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hassei also viewed

Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 

Been to Hassei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing