We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“kids loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okonomimura

Okonomimura
Ranked #4 of 6,003 Restaurants in Hiroshima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“kids loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Went to okonomiyaki village on a cold winters night and had a great time. The hospitality in the little place we chose in the village was warm and inviting. It was great watching the cooking going on in front of us and eating off the grill. Was seated in such a way that the children were safe from the grill. Highly recommend. Great atmosphere

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    187
    69
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
219 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Just pick and commit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The problem here is that you have 3 floors and 25 places all serving the same thing. Don't let the decision making ruin the experience, just pick one and commit. Our pick turned out to be good and I'm sure that most are. The way I found the place was by using the large Parco department store. It's just a block or so South of Parco, look for the sign in the pics that sticks out. Fun experience. We split one with a couple beers and you would need to be pretty hungry to eat a whole one but most people seemed to be getting one each. Okonomiyaki is a bit strange in taste but something you should try. We happen to love cabbage.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Many restaurants in a small district”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We walked around a district well known for the Japanese equivalent of DIY omlette/pizza (which is really tasty) and from many choices looked into what looked like a block of flats but turned out to be many different eating establishments in one place (Okonomimura). The entrances to each individual establishment are reached via a lift to several different floors. We like to see inside a place before we go in and so as the lift doors opened onto each place, it felt a little daunting as we didn't know what reception to expect. The people were polite but we weren't sure so we went back outside and saw another street side restaurant nearbye.
This suited us better as we could see in and it was all locals - it was a typical restaurant for this type of meal ( bit like a cross between a roadside cafe in the uk and a carvery) - picture attached.
Great place to eat with very good food at reasonable price.

We can't show it due to the way the website is set up , but our visit was actually in June / July 2011 not long after the Tsunami, and we were received here (as in the rest of our Japanese trip) with an extremely friendly welcoming by the local population.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth hunting down. A must do culinary experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Don't know why trip advisor has this listed as property closed. It's not. It's still there and a must do eating experience. I hhink the problem is that there are many eateries in the one building and many reviewers have tried to review each one individually. You can't as they all share the same address! It's one building with three floors, each floor with several Japanese food outlets. I want to write fast food but don't let that put you off.
It is quite difficult to find but here you go.... From Aioi-bashi bridge head east along Aioi Dori Ave for about 1k. Turn right into Chuo Dori street. Take the 4th right after about 400m. The building that houses all the eateries is then about 100m on left. Look very carefully and you will see the sign. Be brave, don't study the pictures, just run up to a floor and stall randomly and go for it, you won't be disappointed!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pullg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
411 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Good Way to Eat like the Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went to the 4th floor, which had about 10 different "stalls". The one we ate at had a really friendly chef, who helped us decide, and customised it for us. We shared one, which was fine as a full one would have been too much. Cost was about 1,000 Yen for one with squid and bacon. Beer was 480 Yen, which, although painful, was about right for Hiroshima.

Worth visiting to get a good feel for Japan, and Hiroshima in particular.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okonomimura also viewed

Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
Hiroshima, Hiroshima Prefecture
 

Been to Okonomimura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing