We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute New Sapporo
Ranked #44 of 165 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights in a single room. The room was small but ok with all the usual inclusions for the Japanese hotel room. No wifi but they did supply hard wire network for a laptop in room. The hotel was not the most modern most likely built in the mid 80s. The room was clean and met my expectations. The location is right next door to tanukikoji mall with the underground mall pole town two blocks away. Good central location for a stay in Sapporo

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    187
    82
    9
    6
See reviews for
75
46
81
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Nearest train station is Susukino, take exit #2 and walk straight up the stairs. After about 2 blocks with a road intersection, turn right. The hotel is on your left, approximately 5-10mins walk. Airport limousine (Bus transfer to airport) available across the hotel at 1000¥ each. Wifi router available upon request. TV channels only has Japanese shows. Small semi-double rooms with a massage chair. Family mart is readily accessible within the lobby.

Room Tip: Do not book semi-double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mayaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We booked via promotion on hotels.com which the price is very attractive with free breakfast. The hotel is located 2mins walk to 大通 metro station, and 20m mins walk to JR Sapporo (can walk via underground). Close to all restaurants and shops, it's just exactly at the famous 狸小路 4. Wifi in room, great shower, semi double room is small (as expected in Japan), the only complain would be the bed is too soft (maybe too old) and there's stain on it. Mini store just downstairs, buffet breakfast is very good with lot of choices. Check in and out is fast. I do recommend this hotel as you are going out all of the day, so perfect to have a hotel at a reasonable price with a convenient location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tofudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
754 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,205 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Spent a night in this hotel in January 2013 paying 4560 for the seemingly highly controversial semidouble with private bathroom. Felt the stay was in fitting with the price.

Good location in the Susukino district – the largest entertainment district north of Tokyo providing numerous bars and restaurant opportunities not to mention the beautiful neon lights at nighttime. It is around a 10 minute walk from the susukino subway station (can get a subway from Saporro station). It can be a little difficult to spot so it’s worth bringing a map. Despite this above location, the hotel isn’t too noisy. It is also located within walking distances of a lot of other major tourist draws including otari park, clock tower (about 1-2km(. There is a 7-11 which connects to the lobby of the hotel which is infinitely convenient. The Tanukikojo arcade is also next to the hotel providing even more opportunities for eating, shopping, etc.

The rooms itself was of a good size for Japanese standards, although I accept the fact that the semidouble was a little small for 2 people, particularly if you are a bit bigger. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable despite their size. Wifi reached the rooms for memory. Slight smoke smell in the room. Does appear a bit outdated but for the price I think this represents good value.

I would recommend it to all budget conscious travellers. If you are a bit of a bigger couple avoid the semidouble beds. Ask for a non smoking room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is located in between the main venue and the street filled with ice sculptures. There is a bus to the third venue that picks up at the main venue, no more than a 10 minute walk from the hotel. There are several restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel. It is a bit of a walk from the train station, but once we only used the trains to go to and from the airport. Great place to stay. Staff was friendly and helpful and the room nice. The room was small but slightly larger than most of the Jpaanese hotel rooms we have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RONALD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Staff knows close to 0 English. I approached them to ask about black cat service form. They made me stand at the front desk for a good half an hour watching them stare at each other to tell me to call a certain number tomorrow, the hotel can't help. One night we called to ask if there is a pantry with microwave. Repeated myself 5 times till I gave up. They called us back to tell us "no wifi. Wifi only free lobby". The hotel is NOT 10 minutes walk from JR Sapporo. It's about 20-30minutes. Upon my first check out, I was in a hurry. Informed the staff that I will be checking in again 3 days later, thus leaving my bags here till the next check in. I got blur stares and "you come 3pm bag?" Frustrating to communicate with them. So unless you don't need any assistance just a room to sleep then book it. After reading reviews of the horror semi double, we booked the twin room instead. It's pretty alright. Will be looking at other hotels my next trip.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

hotel looked 3-star, but the rooms were ok, generous size. Booked the 3-bedder for our 2A2C family unit - very big room and beds were super single size so it was very roomy

i like that they provided hangers in the bathroom for hanging your wet laundry

coat-hanging area is also very spacious and airy, overall we got a huge room considering we're in the city area

location is good as it's right next to the shopping street with lots of food and shopping nearby that you can't possibly finish exploring in a day

parking was a huge hassle - no onsite parking for our big car (nissan serena) so had to go to a multistory carpark "nearby" (which was horrendous to navigate to as there were predominantly one-way roads. the parking is not cheap either!

booked 2 rooms - 1 via hotels.com (the 3-bedder) which surprisingly included breakfast (for 3), and 1 via agoda.com (a 2-bedder) which did not include breakfast, so i'd go with hotels.com

kids eat free

front desk spoke very limited english

free wifi only at lobby

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myinsomnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Hotel Sunroute Sapporo
#84 of 165 in Sapporo
115 reviews
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#5 of 165 in Sapporo
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sapporo Station
Hotel Hokke Club Sapporo
Hotel Hokke Club Sapporo
#31 of 165 in Sapporo
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute New Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute New Sapporo

Property: Hotel Sunroute New Sapporo
Address: 6 Minami 2 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0062, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 165 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute New Sapporo 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Sunroute Co., Ltd., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sunroute New Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing