We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute New Sapporo
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean room, great location.”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Small room, but quite alright for one person. Hotel is in a central location in Saporro, close to the undercover shopping streets and nearby subway station. Great service from staff at this hotel as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brissieb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    185
    80
    9
    6
See reviews for
73
46
80
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Some friends and I stayed in a triple room here for 1 night. We booked a non-smoking triple online. But when we checked in, they told us they only let people stay in non-smoking rooms if they are staying for 3 nights or more. We were very annoyed at this, but luckily our smoking triple room did not smell like smoke. But for this mistake, I would have given this hotel a rating of 3, but instead I am giving it 1.

It is in a great location with reasonably large, if dated, rooms. Breakfast costs extra but we ate from the Famima downstairs. Just a dead average Japanese hotel, a little cheaper than most.

Room Tip: Don't assume they'll give you a non-smoking room, even if you book one in advance. We were l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolocaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here throughout our Sapporo journey. The hotel is centrally located in Sapporo's grid network of streets. When I say "centrally", I mean "CENTRALLY". The location is the only up-side you can get from this hotel. Right outside the main entrance, and off to your left is Odori Park (a couple of blocks walk down) - the site of the Snow Festival. Right hand side will be the Tanuki Koji Shopping arcade where you can find souvenir shops, bars and tons of restaurants.

Staff is helpful but their English is limited. The rooms are small - fair warning! We got a semi-double room and the way my wife and I were gaining weight due to the superb food experience in Sapporo, we found it harder and harder to fit as the days progress!!!!

It's a bugdet hotel - do not expect more! But its location is this hotel's strongest suite! Use it to your advantage!

Room Tip: If you are two to a room - do not choose a SEMI-DOUBLE. Spare yourself and your wife/partner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almondjavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I stayed a night with two friends here in a triple room. It was one of the cheapest places to stay in Sapporo in a good location.

On checkin staff were really helpful sorting out a transfer bus issue we had.

Rooms were a little dated and as most hotels in Japan smelled like smoke but is expected from the price.

Location was awesome as really close to all of the Sapporo sights and nightlife.

For the price location and quality would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dahenchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Booked a twin room for two nights' stay at a very good price. It is a business hotel after all, so we were not expecting much. It was more spacious than those compact business hotels (more typical of Tokyo perhaps?), surprisingly spacious enough for our ski gear and luggage etc. And space to walk around.

The room and bathroom are showing its age. Nonetheless, everything was kept clean and tidy, so nothing to complain. Room had a large HD TV, shower amenities, fridge, and a view of the Ferris wheel!

Check in was easy, and so was checking out, and the hotel holds luggage for guests.

There was free internet using LAN cable in rooms.

The location is very good - right next to the arcade, with a 24 hour family mart attached to the hotel. It is a mere 10 minute walk from Nijo fish market, another 10 minute or less to Odori, and next to Susukino. Even the walk from the hotel to the JR Sapporo station took about 20 minutes - and we did this dragging and lugging our ski gear through icy and snowy paths of Sapporo! Though in the future we'd try to get a cab...

So, will stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank areisende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I've got very cheap price since I had special discount code, I went there during autumn/winter season. This hotel is so nice, located in the city center of sapporo, the walking street is just next door, not very far from the odori park and the fish market. it's in between 2 subway station , so you can enjoy walking to the station. I've stayed in the hotel for 3 nights ,it was so convenience since the convenience shop is on the first floor and there's a thai restaurant colse by. you can enjoy having ramen near by as well. lovely staff, they are good in speaking english with smilely face :). so I surely recommend you to stay in this hotel. next time I will stay here again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We went to Sapporo during late January/February. The location of this hotel was perfect for us. We were able to use the subway and walk underground to Odori Park. We also found some lovely restaurants nearby in the arcade. Like most Japanese rooms yes they are not large, but why pay to sit in a hotel room when really you only want to use it to sleep!! You need to get out and about and enjoy the experiences out of the hotel room. I found this hotel to be clean and tidy. The staff were helpful and their English sufficient. Be patient with people when you are visiting their country, show respect and you will get it in return. We wanted to find where we could use an ATM for our international card and the staff member logged onto the internet, researched and printed us a map. I will return to this hotel because of the location and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just-Julie-Cairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#5 of 163 in Sapporo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Hotel Sunroute Sapporo
#83 of 163 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nest Hotel Sapporo Odori
#68 of 163 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Nishi Juitchome Station
Watermark Hotel Sapporo
Watermark Hotel Sapporo
#39 of 163 in Sapporo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute New Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute New Sapporo

Property: Hotel Sunroute New Sapporo
Address: 6 Minami 2 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0062, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunroute New Sapporo 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sunroute Co., Ltd., Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sunroute New Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing