We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay in connecting room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Ranked #13 of 165 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Hiroshima Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One night stay in connecting room”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Hotel is located in central Sapporo and has parking facilities next to the hotel. Stayed one night in connecting rooms with our 3 kids. Rooms are booked as one room. One smaller room with 2 beds and one larger room with 3 beds. Check-in was efficient and smooth but after arriving in the room(s) the connecting door was still locked. Since we arrived fairly late in the evening I expected some better preparation and the door to be unlocked . It eventually took 30 minutes to get the door open. Coffee/tea facility in room are good, real coffeemaker. One of the bathroom was typical Japanese bathroom as at home and this is very convinient with my kids. No complain about the amenities. Beds slept very well and we were well rested in the morning. Didn't use breakfast but instead wnet to Starbucks which is actually in the same building and can be entered from the hotel lobby. Overall a short but good stay in one of the famous hotels in Sapporo. Will consider to come back based on the roomtype which fits my family perfect.

Room Tip: When travelling with (young) kids and you are looking for connecting rooms this hotel offers connect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jans_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    714
    233
    41
    25
See reviews for
502
257
222
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very satisfied with the following features and advantages of staying in this hotel .- (a) Ability to accomodate 4 adults in 1 room, very comfortably. Room decor was modern and clean with comfortable single beds as well.
( b) Excellent location with close walking proximity to the JR Sapporo station, and a leisurely stroll to the interesting city sights and restaurants. (c) Good choice of in-house restaurants, cafes, car rental services. Would seriously consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoobybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, situated close to the JR station. Only about 5 minute walk down the main road. Great amenities. Price included breakfast and they offer three options - three different restaurants. Also lots of good restaurants in the neighborhood. No complaints.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HarrieTheTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This well located Sapporo Grand Hotel is not just grand but its the attitude of the staff that makes you feel special and grand. Members of the staff especially at the reception are very attentive, helpful and ever ready to render the warmth and friendliness that every guest in any hotel hopes to receive.
I was very impressed with Mr Takashi Izumi who has also clearly set the high standards as can be seen and felt in the front line staff's eagerness to serve.
The room I stayed in was absolutely clean, comfortable and with good room supplies
I shall not hesitate to recommend the Sapporo Grand Hotel to my associates and friends as the best choice of hotel to stay in Sapporo

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip Chua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Sapporo Grand Hotel really does live up to its name of being a grand one. There are three entrances from which you can come and go, including one that is directly accessible from the Sapporo Underground Walkway. (I would advise accessing it via the underground walkway since the hotel’s monotone exterior is a tad hard to spot amongst many other buildings which resulted in us losing our way back on a couple of occasions – I know, geography wasn’t one of my strong subjects at school.) There's a lounge of sorts that plays jazz music regularly, not to mention a pretty commemorative library cum business centre, making the walk back to our rooms slightly pleasant.

Our room was more like a mini apartment of sorts, with a walkway to store your luggage and wear your shoes, as well as a generous dressing area. Standard amenities included a mini fridge and tea making facilities (delectable roast tea packets).

And not forgetting their service which was also impeccable; a lady porter who transported our luggage and showed us around the room so we wouldn’t have to scratch our heads over how to use the amenities. The front desk was a great help too; they even provided us with scissors to cut a crab that we had bought back for dinner, along with newspapers to cover up our table. Definitely one of the few hotels to go above and beyond the call of duty for their service.

The only oddity was the tap for drinking water being installed right next to the sink in the bathroom (what?). That, and the fact that we found a peanut under our bed (which sorta contradicted the "Sterilized" cards that they placed in our room. Otherwise a near perfect stay for a family of three. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chueonit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itoshima-shi, Fukuoka, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have stayed in many hotels in Japan throughout the years, this hotel made me feel I was in a major capital, not a northern Japanese City.
The twin room was average size for Japanese hotels, but the facilities and extras were lavish, beautiful robes and indoor wear, coffee pod machine with four pods, lots of really good toiletries,large Hd screen TV and it was spotlessly clean and modern. My wife found a deal on-line for possibly our lowest price ever.
The lobby is grand and there is a Starbucks and pastry/bread shop inside the hotel building too.
WiFi was automatic and the staff very friendly, We would like to return.
Its 8 minutes walk from the train station and near to several Sapporo attractions, if you can find a good deal (It can be expensive at certain peak times), it is well worth it.

Room Tip: There are inside bedrooms with no view, we had this but didn't mind as the deal was so cheap. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YVR
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

About an 8 minute walk from the JR station, on the sidewalk, or by the underground walk where it is easier to roll a suitcase. A big hotel, with a spacious lobby, with a gallery, Starbucks, a local sweet shop, and I think 4 restaurants. The rooms are nice sized, a bit bigger than typical Japanese hotels. Make sure you are given non-smoking if you requested it, as we were not, and all three of us had to ask to switch, as the rooms stunk. The rooms they moved us to didn't. Amenities, safe, nice shower, everything worked well. Not a lot of English spoken here. The breakfast was excellent in the buffet choice on the main floor, which we had included. Huge choice and lots of it, but it was very busy. We didn't need much help for directions and restaurants as we had a Japanese friend with us, so I can't comment on the concierge. Didn't use the spa.

Room Tip: The outside street side rooms up side were still quiet. Make sure you get a non-smoking room, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#7 of 165 in Sapporo
1,201 reviews
Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo
#10 of 165 in Sapporo
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#5 of 165 in Sapporo
1,148 reviews
Century Royal Hotel
#9 of 165 in Sapporo
776 reviews
Ibis Styles Sapporo
#3 of 165 in Sapporo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapporo Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapporo Grand Hotel

Property: Sapporo Grand Hotel
Address: 4-2 Kita 1 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0001, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Nishi Juitchome Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 165 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sapporo Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapporo Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing