We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Ranked #14 of 171 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here twice and my recent is Dec 2012 trip. I had wanted to change after my first stay in 2010 but my travel agent insisted it has a great location which I can't denied. The rooms are pretty worn out, and the breakfast so so. And there is no onsen. Think will have to change my travel agent or research for other hotel myself.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank YC N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

I liked the service we received from the receptionists to concierge to the room cleaning crew. However the facility itself is in dire need of a makeover. It is a 4 star hotel in the service it provides. But the physical state of this hotel is what I would expect from a run down 2 star hotel. SORRY!

Thank vmktizabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at the Sapporo Grand Hotel from Sept. 7-13th, 2012. Was told this is where the Emperor of Japan would stay when in Sapporo, (That must have been in the 1970's when the hotel was built!) This hotel provides 4 star service: the employees maning the reception and concierge desks were all very helpful , considerate, going out of their way to assist. However the "bones" of the hotel, specifically the original building (I cannot speak about the annex or newer part of the hotel) are in desperate need of remodel. The carpet is stained...there is a musty smell in the hallways (we were on the 8th floor). At one point the hallways wreaked of vomit! The hotel room was definitely ample. Of the 4 hotels we stayed in during our 2 wk. trip this was by far the roomiest. Space comes at a premium in Japan! (I gave the room a rating of AVERAGE...but the room size deserved an EXCELLENT, while the carpeting, wall covering and stained sofa deserved a POOR rating.)The wall coverings were dated, the bedspread as well, However the linens were clean. On the other hand the bathroom (also dated) is in dire need of a makeover. The hotel tubs in Japan are not caulked, There must be a drainage/water collection system between the wall and tub. Every time water ran down the wall into this cavity out would come dark, moldy/mildew flakes.The room temperature is controlled centrally and was not kept at a comfortable temp. I was always hot. The lobby on the other hand was always cool.The hotel lobby definitely aspires to a look befitting a 4 star hotel, The Sapporo Grand Hotel seems to have a case of "split-personality", The double bed room we stayed in just isn't what we expected after walking into the lobby and reading reviews! The hotel is in a great location, close to the municipal government building and Odori Park. The Botanical Garden and 2 museums are also close by. There are many restaurants within walking distance (including 2-3 restaurants inside the Sapporo Grand Hote we didn't try). The Sapporo Train Station is a few blocks away and can be accessed underground in bad weather.. Sapporo is a very nice city...I enjoyed it, However I do not think I would stay here again unless the hotel were remodeled. Service was great but I expected so much more....

Room Tip: I was told the ANNEX building of the Sapporo Grand Hotel is kept a degree or two cooler. We had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vmktizabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I just stayed at this hotel for a conference. Rooms are small majority are single twin beds, very old hotel. Hardly anyone in the hotel spoke English. Very over priced for what you get. Breakfast food was cold every day.Bars close at 11,00pm in hotel every day even though its says open till midnight.

Room Tip: probably only the suites on 4th floor may be good the rest is very ordinary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolm37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We booked a triple room and was given a spacious room on the top floor of the Annex building. Since the Annex building is west facing and the air condition was preset at 25C, the temperature inside the room exceeded 30 degrees even after midnight. The hotel was not to blame because the daytime temperature was 33C in Sapporo during late July when we visited and the preset temperature was not efficient enough to cool down the room. We asked for a room with either windows that can be opened or with adjustable air conditioning. They provided us smoking rooms in the Main building where windows could be opened and took the trouble to show us the rooms. However, since those rooms were all deeply soaked with smoke from years of serving smoking customers, it was impossible for us to stay there with children. They understood our concerns and finally moved us to the non-smoking floor in the East building so we finally settled down in a comfortable room after 2am.

The breakfast was not exactly as we anticipated. It was a pleasant and slightly above average buffet but not comparable to the one at Hotel Nikko JR tower. Pastries and bread tasted worst. Not much fruit was available. Cream of corn soup was great.

The location is unbeatable and we used the new underground walkway a lot. Parking was 1000 yen and was quite efficient. WiFi available free in all public area, including the restaurants. Beware that a small bucket of ice cost 300 yen.

Room Tip: East wing only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmomVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice in our trip in June. On the first two nights, we stayed at Room 1101. When we first entered into the room, it was a bit warm and stuffy, even though it was late June. We thought that it might be energy-saving practice in this country. However when we stayed at a different room (Room 601) upon return, it was much cooler. Then we realized that the air-conditioning in the room 1101 might not be working well. Both rooms are big. Unlike some comments here, most of the staff at the front desk can speak English. There is a small business centre on the hotel lobby. For internet access, it costs JPY100 for 15 minutes.

The location of this hotel is good. It takes 10 minutes walk from Sapporo Station to the hotel. Actually it is faster to use the underground walkway which is more convenient in the rainy or snowy days. There are 7-11 and two Lawson stores nearby. The buffet breakfast at Node 43 is good. I like the sweet corn soup in particular.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordKimberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our room was really big! It had two twin beds and there was a big wardrobe to fit our clothes in. The bathroom was also quite big compared to other japanese hotels i've been in. The location was great! Very close to the station, and there is a connecting underground walkway to the hotel so we didn't need drag our suitcases out in the cold during January. The staff were really friendly, and I found it very inviting. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo
#10 of 171 in Sapporo
996 reviews
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#9 of 171 in Sapporo
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#6 of 171 in Sapporo
1,210 reviews
Sapporo Station
Hotel Monterey Sapporo
Hotel Monterey Sapporo
#18 of 171 in Sapporo
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapporo Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapporo Grand Hotel

Address: 4-2 Kita 1 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0001, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Nishi Juitchome Station
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 171 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range: $58 - $790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sapporo Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapporo Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing