We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2008

We booked two triple rooms at the Sapporo Aspen hotel for our party of 2 adults and 4 teenages for 6nights.
On the hotel website, it did mention that they will provide bigger twin rooms and add an additional rowaway bed for triple use but when we checked in, the clerk said that it was the normal sized twin rooms we were getting.
For twin sharing, it is a good size with ample space to move around but with the additional bed, we had to push the little table and two armchairs right up against the wall to create space.
It was a little cramped but we soon got used to it.
All in all, we found the room cosy with a good sized bathroom quite unlike the airplane sized bathrooms you find in some hotels in Japan.
Water pressure was very strong and ample supply of hot water.
They also provide shampoo,conditioner, foam bath, facial wash and shavers plus toohbrush and toothpaste. They even provide a hairbrush. You don't even need to pack toiletries if you are staying at this hotel.
There is a coin operated laundry on the 5th floor with 3washers and 3dryers. 100yen per load and a dispensing machine that dispenses soap powder at 50yen per sachet.
Vending machines on every even floor and in the lobby.
Internet access via Lan cable is complimentary in the room if you have your own laptop or you can choose to use the computers in the lobby if you don't have your own computer.
I think its 100yen for 10minutes usage There is a Takkubin counter in the lobby as well and we use their service to send two bags to our hotel in Tokyo.Very reliable and fast. Allow two days for delivary.
Hotel security is good and you need to leave the keys at the reception when you go out for the day. You need to show a card when you return to get back your room keys. The card is issued to you when you check in.
We booked the rooms on the hotel website and the hotel didn't ask for our credit card or any cash payment until we checked out which we found surprising.
It is a good hotel, quiet and pleasant and near the train station which is really useful. The yakitori joint across the hotel is worth trying. Very good yakitori. Go early just before dinner as there are often very long queue snacking out onto the pavement. They open at 4pm till late at night.
I would consider staying at the Sapporo Aspen hotel again.

  • Liked — Proximity to the train station
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank YKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    257
    62
    6
    6
See reviews for
195
73
83
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pisa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

I stayed there for 5 nights in a twin-bedded room, due to a business trip. The hotel is nice and very centrally located (3-minute walk from the JR station, also close to Hokkaido University). The lobby is fine and contains also a small shop and a restaurant. Personnel is very polite (even too much ;-)). The rooms are very clean and comfortable, they are quite small if compared to American standards, but this size is common in Japanese hotels. I have visited also a single room, this is actually rather cramped. The bathroom is a classical plastic cubicle: worth of notice the hi-tech WC and the demisiting mirror.

The breakfast is on a buffet basis, with continental/English/Japanese options. We selected the breakfast at booking time, it can be quite expensive (1700yen) if paid on-site.

Definitely recommend Sapporo Aspen Hotel!!

  • Liked — Hotel location, cleanliness, free Internet access
  • Disliked — Small size, especially of the bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank narmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

Two words : Love it !

This is our first time in Sapporo and we decided to book it after reading a few reviews of this hotel. We were deciding between Keio Plaza Sapporo and this hotel, but picked Aspen because it is a lot cheaper.

It is very easy to locate the hotel from the train station. We came out of the train and looked for the North exit and then right in front of the pedestrian crossing there is a convenient store 'Sunkus'. Walked straight for less than 50 metres and you will see a pump station, turn left and the Aspen hotel is there.

Checking in was a breeze, hotel staff are super! Very polite and friendly and there are at least 4 staff to welcome you. Two ladies offered to carry our luggage up but we were not used to that so we pulled it up ourselves.

Hotel rooms are big and tidy. A lot more room than the ones in Tokyo. Very comfortable. We had twin beds and there was enough space to leave our two big luggage open all the time.

There is a laundry room on the 5th floor to do your own laundry. Washing machines and dryer. 100 yen for 30 minutes wash. We were so thrilled by it because we never had one in the hotel before. So we dumped four days of clothes for 30 minutes wash and then one hour for drying drying.

Meanwhile we headed back to the station to the Daimaru supermarket for some great take-aways like Sushi, Tako Salad and the yummy custard pudding. If you like to have dinner at the station, there are rows and rows of restaurants at the basement together with book stores and convenient stores. Look for Joyful Walk for the food and Fashion Walk for the clothes. The JR office is also there, so in case you are planning to Furano or Otaru, make sure you reserve your seats first and watch out for the train schedule. Express train to Furano operates once a day only.

We have breakfast at the hotel everyday. The spread is mostly Japanese plus the usual toast and cereals. I had rice with eggs and miso soup for three mornings. Fermented beans are also great, be sure to stir it vigorously.

So the conclusion, go ahead and book it. I will stay here again when I visit Sapporo.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LauChek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2007

Friendly staff, great, accommodating service, impeccable rooms, and luggage "keep" service.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank mud21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, in between which we traveled to other cities and kept our lugguages there. When we returned and re-checked in, the lugguages were already placed in our room even prior to our check-in process. Talk about service! The location's great, even in winter when it's snowing, the short walk of a block away from JR station wasn't a problem at all. Aside from the free internet service in room, the coin-operated laundry machines available were also very convenient. We will stay there again if we travel to Sapporo next time!

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank purpleflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2006

This was our fourth stay at the Sapporo Aspen. It is very convenient to the JR Station, about a block away. The entire staff is wonderful. On each and every stay they have been able to give us direction on where to find specific items and how to best access the local events. I won't stay anywhere else!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank 2oldbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2006

We spent 12 days at the Aspen Sapporo Hotel. Even though we only speak a around 30 words of Japanese if there was ever anything that we needed they always found someone on there staff that can speak English to help us out. The room was super clean, and very quiet. If it is raining, as you hand them your room key, they run, yes run! to give you an umbrella. The breakfast buffet was well worth the money, and the menu was varied. They served traditional Japanese foods, and breakfast foods that any American would enjoy. Scrambled eggs, breads bacon, fruit, youghert, granola, coffee, orange juice, etc. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the train, subway, bus station. An in this massive building is enough stores and resturants to make anyone happy. While the amount of English spoken in the ticket areas is slim, if you will take the time and study the boards, things should become clear. Sapporo is a beautiful city, with much to do.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lolgillygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Sapporo Station
HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Station
Sapporo Station
Richmond Hotel Sapporo Ekimae
Sapporo Station
Hotel Gracery Sapporo
Hotel Gracery Sapporo
#39 of 163 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sapporo Station
Hotel Monterey Sapporo
Hotel Monterey Sapporo
#17 of 163 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Hotel Keihan Sapporo
#10 of 163 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen

Property: HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen
Address: 4-5 Kita 8 Jo Nishi, Kita-ku, Sapporo 060-0808, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Sapporo Station , Kita Juni Jo Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen is a rare gem and a soothing retreat away from the hustle of travel or business. You will find the hotel but a couple of minutes from Sapporo JR station, making it your most convenient stay in the city. All our rooms are lovingly decorated with tapestry and Shimafukuro (owl) carvings, they also offer plenty of space, accommodating the needs of single travelers and families alike. Our restaurants also feature some of the best tables in the city and a much acclaimed breakfast buffet serving your Japanese and Western favorites, all made with love from fresh and Hokkaido produced ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing