We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen
Ranked #19 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
291 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent location, good value”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very conveniently located outside the North Exit of Sapporo JR Station, just 2 minutes walk in the open; especially good for us with bulky luggage. This Hotel is perfect for both long and short stay in Sapporo with small eateries and convenient stores nearby. Check-in and out were smooth, simple and quick. Staff was willing to help though with limited English. Room and bath were spacious enough in Japanese standard. Excellent to have massage chair in room for relaxation after a day's walk / shop. Concierge was extremely helpful in storing our extra luggage while we went out of town for a few days - great help to us since we were to travel up and down trains / buses. Good value for money with regards to the low season rate we booked at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkpkwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    257
    62
    6
    6
See reviews for
195
73
83
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel is a short walk from JR Sapporo station - really easy to find. You have the option of exiting the North of the station and walking there above ground, or if it's really cold (or snowing!) you have the option of getting to it via the North underpass and coming out at exit 9. Booked a single room and it was really spacious (compared to other hotels in Japan) with a large single bed and even space for a desk and tv unit with fridge and tea facilities underneath. Free internet in the room with a cable connection, however WiFi not available except in the lobby. Room was clean and staff friendly. Lots of shops and dining options within the station complex. Also, easy to travel from New Chitose airport to JR Sapporo on the rapid express train.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScouseOriental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had several meals here whilst staying nearbyand all of them were of the highest quality including excellent foie gras.They were also able to mix an excellent cocktail-if you stick to the existing menu.The way to get around the language barriers seems to be dont stray from the menu and dont make any special requests.Recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calatrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Conveniently located near JR station. No wifi in the room. Only available at lobby. Rooms are spacious (for Japan context). I have problem communicating with hotel staffs. No reception staffs knows english. However, they are very helpful. I had cravings for sabu sabu and they tried their very best explaining to me on where to get good sabu sabu. (although I don't really get a single word of that).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unizkhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed in Sapporo for 3 days after a trip to Niseko Hilton skiing.

Sapporo Aspen hotel has a great location, just 2 min walk to the Sapporo Station which is where the main station is. The station has many choices of food and shopping and 2 subway lines.

Convenient location is the key to the hotel. On top of this, the hotel lobby is clean looking and spacious. Warm feeling is obvious when you enter the hotel. Of course outside is snowing and wind chill is freezing. Rooms are functional and cozy. We had adjoining twin room with one room fitted out with a sofa bed. Everything was done up as per our request and no issues with checkin and out. Service was polite and prompt. Room bathroom was small but acceptable.

Breakfast in the morning was a full japanese meal, with many choices.

I say again, the best thing about the hotel is the location, and on top, the rooms are clean and staff are friendly and great.

A closer hotel to the station would be JR hotel which is part of the connected complex of Sapporo station. However, Aspen is good enough, and everywhere major and worth seeing is either a convenient subway stop from sapporo station or a short walk. However during winter, a short walk can be rather painful due to the strong snowing and winds.

Spend quite abit of time within the sapporo station complex, shopping include Daimaru, Stellar, APIA, ESTA and Tokyu, all connected by underground. You can also walk to the next subway on the Toho line which is Odori station where the Nijio fishmarket is.

Overall, a pleasant and trouble free vacation. Will definitely stay in Aspen again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WYJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We booked 4 nights at Aspen. However, during the booking, there was one night (on the 3rd night) where quad room was not available. Hence, I have to book a triple room instead. We were hoping that somehow they will manage to work out and we could keep the same room throughout our stay without having to shift room twice.

On the day before our trip, we received an email from the manager that he had a good news for us as they would be able to keep the quad room for us for 4 nights instead of 3. He offered the rate of about 28500 yen (without breakfast). However, the price offered to us was almost doubled of what we had earlier booked. We managed to book via Rakuten, 19000 yen for room with breakfast (15200 without breakfast) for the quad room and 13200 yen for the triple room. The price was reasonable then.

So upon check-in, I spoke with the reception staff if we could keep the same room, we were secretly hoping for a free upgrade (but to be honest, such thing only happens in SG and Msia, dream on if you are in Japan) and he told us unless we are willing to pay the new price. I explained to the staff that it is very inconvenient to change rooms (twice) during the 4 days stay and the lady (she is quite kind) tried to offered a proposal which is for us to pay 5000 yen extra from the triple room rate to keep the quad room (without breakfast). We were quite alright and happy to pay the extra. However, to our utter disappointment, the lady came back to apologise that they could only offer us as 285000 as it is the last rate and final price. I even asked if there were booking for the same room the night before and was told they had to reserve the room in case there is booking. We were told to pack our luggage and leave them in the corner of the room and they will shift us to the triple sharing room the next morning.

There was no going the extra mile, service whatsoever, in this regards. All I can say, this is japanese standards. They are polite, courteous and there is always smile on their face. But there is lack of flexibility, they do not bend rules, they do not accommodate.

Another point to note, the pillow was a nightmare. They were filled with beads or beans (I am not sure) instead of down feathers or fibers. Not good at all for people with neck problem.

All these not so positive experience aside, location was great.

Room Tip: Quad room was great but check out the price first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was the second hotel we stayed at during our trip to Sapporo. Easy access - 5 minute walk from JR Sapporo. It was also one of the stops for our ski trip pick up. Rooms were adequately sized (for japan standards), clean and comfortable though the bed was a little slanted in the middle. Overall a comfortable stay with helpful staff. Only grouse was wifi was only available in the lobby. Definitely value for money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miracle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Sapporo Station
HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Station
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#12 of 163 in Sapporo
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#6 of 163 in Sapporo
1,161 reviews
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#5 of 163 in Sapporo
1,102 reviews
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen

Property: HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen
Address: 4-5 Kita 8 Jo Nishi, Kita-ku, Sapporo 060-0808, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Sapporo Station , Kita Juni Jo Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen is a rare gem and a soothing retreat away from the hustle of travel or business. You will find the hotel but a couple of minutes from Sapporo JR station, making it your most convenient stay in the city. All our rooms are lovingly decorated with tapestry and Shimafukuro (owl) carvings, they also offer plenty of space, accommodating the needs of single travelers and families alike. Our restaurants also feature some of the best tables in the city and a much acclaimed breakfast buffet serving your Japanese and Western favorites, all made with love from fresh and Hokkaido produced ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Booking.com, Rakuten, MYSTAYS HOTEL MANAGEMENT Co., Ltd., Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOTEL MYSTAYS Sapporo Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing