We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nakamuraya Ryokan
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
38
31
11
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
31
11
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstatami floorjapanese teatraditional roomtraditional stylepublic bathbreakfast was deliciouswalking distancehot bathgreen teawalked everywherejr stationon arrivalwestern optionson footsapporo snow festivalminute walkodori park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 87 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I chose the ryokan on the basis of Lonely planet and was not disappointed. Friendly service, a personal room maid, great onsen, good food. Breakfast (included) is copious, Japanese style with fruit and vegetables, too. The location is perfect, close to the station, just beside the botanical garden. It is not cheap, but you get full value. It is housed in an ordinary office building with no architectural value, but that's Japan! (there used to be a nice house on the site some 50 years ago...)

Room Tip: In my view little difference.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jippu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Nakamura-ya about a dozen times in the last four years. It is a friendly place in an excellent location (walkable from the station, between Hokkaido University Botanical Gardens and the Former Hokkaido Government Building) in a street lined with magnificent red oak trees. Compared to hotels in Sapporo — which tend to be overpriced — it offers excellent value.

On the downside some of the rooms are small and the (Japanese) breakfast is not great, but there are plenty of other places nearby where you can eat.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skakagrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

A week long trip in Sapporo was an unimaginable delight, and the credit won't go to the beautiful city of Sapporo alone. The time I spent in Nakamuraya was delightful. The room was cozy and well-decorated, the staff was very courteous (even by Japanese standards), the breakfast was delicious and the services and facilities offered were excellent.
Next time I'm in Japan, I'll be sure to reserve there again :)

Room Tip: The rooms are large and the location is excellent, close to everything. Don't miss out on this place! An excellent value for your money
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I stayed here together with 3 other friends in a fairly large room. Even when our futons were laid out for the evening there was plenty of room for our bags in an anteroom.

The ensuite facilities were small (although normal for Japan) but there was also a communal onsen.

A japanese-style breakfast was included in the price.

Service was pleasant but unintrusive - we were served tea on arrival, and our beds were made up for us each night (and put away the next morning) while we were out of the room.

The location is not immediately adjacent to any station but is about 10mins walk from the main Sapporo train station. It is around 10-15mins walk from the commercial centre and the entertainment district of Susukino.

Unfortunately wireless internet was not available in rooms although it was available in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrDurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Arriving late in Sapporo, we were really happy to find a place that wasn't a faceless tower block. The staff were delightful, very welcoming and helpful, and it was lovely to get in to a traditional room with charming service. The facilities were good, the room was spotless, and there was a nice breakfast, but my overriding memory is of the kind and attentive staff. Not a grand place but had a lovely feel, I would return any time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meleze74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews