We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe Corner Twin Room - great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo
Ranked #19 of 171 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Our first choice of Hotel in Sapporo was initially the JR Tower but it was fully booked on our dates, 02-05 July. This beautiful, Vienna inspired Hotel was actually our second choice. But other some minor glitches, we were more than happy with our assigned room.

The Deluxe Corner Twin room that we had booked, was really comfy and quite large at 40 square meters, for a 3 nights stay. As requested, I was assigned a high floor room, 2001, facing the beautiful Sapporo TV Tower. The comfy bathroom has a bathtub for some nice soaking, but with no showers.

Just outside the bathroom is the dresser table and the cupboard for storage of clothings and suit cases. Then there is another door that separates this area from the actual bedroom, making it like a junior suite. I travel extensively and I am quite certain other hotels could easily sell this room as a junior suite, charging at least 60-80,000 yen for it. However, due to the lower key period, we paid only 21,000 yen per night, with breakfasts!

In the bedroom, there is only one arm chair facing a flat screen TV (it would have been great if there were two arm chairs), comfy and big twin beds with a choice of 3 types of pillows. Views of the beautiful Sapporo TV Tower, quite romantic to look at especially during the night were visible from the room's 2 windows.

Other minor cons of this Hotel were -
1. distance from Hotel to Sapporo station is a good 8-10 minutes walk, likewise to nearby Odori Park.
2. reception staff cannot speak good English but were friendly.
3. no conceirge staff to provide tourism info of Hokkaido
4. no free Wi-fi in room

The Hotel's common areas are quite huge, and quite classy to look at. The buffet breakfasts was served each morning at a gigantic sized function hall, quite beautiful to look at but albeit a little too bright and too huge. Food offered include both Western and Japanese choices, good in both variety and quality. There is even a mini-sized convenience store behind the hotel for your drinks and titbits (not at the Hotel front but right behind it).

As the Hotel's client base is obviously the Japanese, rather than the international travellers, non-Japanese speakers would better do their research on tours and sights to catch before they arrive in Japan. Clues - the Nijo fish market (about 5 minutes away by taxi or a 10-12 minutes walk), the Mount Moiwa night scenery, Otaru (30-40 minutes by JR train), ramen at Ramen Republic (in front of the Sapporo station) - are all must dos'!

Enjoy, this is indeed a very good 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 698 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2008

A very nice hotel. Located between Sapporo station and the Sapporo TV tower. It’s about a 10-minute walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the TV tower. Rooms are located on high floors. The west side rooms provide a great view of the downtown and mountains in the background. The lobby is beautiful, all marble. Though the rooms are small (common for Japan), the room was very clean and the floor was very quiet. The bathroom was nice, amazing water pressure and a heated toilet seat. Also there is a refrigerator in the room. The spa was very nice. For 11,000 yen the hotel offered a Spa package for two, each day of the stay. Also there is a small convenient store located on the ground level of the building. The hotel staff was very friendly, though their English was limited. Communication was not a problem. I did not try the restaurants in the hotel, but there are a few to choose from.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minamaru45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

I based my decision to stay at this hotel on the review provided by Frommers. Here is my take on the actual experience. The hotel is on the top of a modern building, 13th through 25th floors I believe (I stayed on the 17th floor). It has a separate entrance and is about 7 mins walk from the Sapporo station (very easy to find in the daylight).

Yes, they have a lot of marble and Vienese atmosphere at least in the lobby. My review is based on my experience, from what I understand, the room was a typical run-of-the-house. Tiny is the only word to describe it (about 6 jo - by japanese measurements), in which they crammed two single beds, a small TV with a stand, a small writing table and a tiny coffee table with one small chair. The bathroom was average, or what I consider as normal-sized -- nothing special.

Buffet Breakfast was a joke especially considering its cost of over Y2,000, and in-light of the fact that Sapporo is generally less expensive for food then Tokyo. Spa looked good on paper -- I never had a chance to try it.

In conclusion, next time I am in Sapporo (probably in the winter 2007) -- I will try a different hotel as I see no special reason to go back to this one -- it is just average.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike-TK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 会員登録してホテルHPから予約するのが最良。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tetsu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 残念ながら初めてなので分かりませんでした
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank tarbo京都市
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monedl, Front Office Manager at Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank babumanabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monedl, Front Office Manager at Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank miho3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monedl, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Sapporo Station
Hotel Monterey Sapporo
Hotel Monterey Sapporo
#17 of 171 in Sapporo
851 reviews
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#9 of 171 in Sapporo
1,239 reviews
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#14 of 171 in Sapporo
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo
#10 of 171 in Sapporo
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo

Address: 1-1 Kita2jonishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0002, Hokkaido
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Sapporo Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 171 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range: $60 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is designed to evoke the luxury of late 19th Century Vienna, with the name Edelhof meaning "Manor House" in German. The hotel is built on the site of the former Hokkaido Regional Forestry Office, and to this day there are many reminders of the site's history such as the big leafy trees in the hotel grounds, helping to create the ambience of a traditional Manor House garden. We hope our guests will feel part of the story of classical Vienna during their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Monterey Edelhof Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing