We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Sapporo Beer Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$664.62*
and up
Private Sapporo Custom One-Day Tour by Chartered Vehicle
Ranked #11 of 330 things to do in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sapporo is Japan’s most popular beer; this interactive museum includes a tour and beer-tasting.
Sydney
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Sadly when we went it was closed...even though we had checked on the times and it was supposed to be opened. Not sure what happened but other people were very disappointed too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PAD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    345
    101
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2 hours is more than enough”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was disappointed that the descriptions were mostly in Japanese, with no English translations so I could only try to decipher what the pictures are telling me. It would have been an interesting history lesson. You can get an English leaflet at the entrance but it only provides a short summary of the history of Sapporo Beer.

The museum exhibits were interesting to look at. I spent less than 2 hours browsing through all the exhibits and finishing my 3 beer sampler.

There are lockers at the entrance where you can leave your jackets, etc.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crysl_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited the Beer Museum during the Snow Festival, mainly to get out of the cold for a little bit. Getting to the museum is very easy, there is a 88 Loop Bus that drops you off right at the door for only 200 yen. I wouldn't recommend walking unless it's a nice day. When we went it was absolutely freezing.

The museum is free of charge and tours are only given in Japanese. The people at the front desk gave us an English map and told us we could just walk through...Overall, it was interesting to see but everything was in Japanese. The English map we were given provided enough information to make the trip interesting and let's not kid ourselves, we were there for the beer!

On the first level of the museum there is a beer hall and a museum shop. People have commented that the beer was overpriced but we didn't seem to think so. Everything in Japan is expensive and paying 500 Yen for three (fairly large) beer samples was totally worth it. There was also a glass of beer available for 200 Yen. Overall, we had a great time. The museum is interesting, plus the beer was delicious!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank youngworldtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I went here during the Snow Festival for a look.
The lady at reception told us there were no tours available in English and that we could walk through the museum ourselves instead (free of charge). The museum has old Sapporo bottles and signs that are interesting to look at, but I would have enjoyed the museum more if there were descriptions available in English.
There is a souvenir shop on site, as well as a variety of restaurants.
Head to the beer hall for some beer sampling. 500yen will get you 3 glasses and 3 types of Sapporo beer to try (and a small bag of crackers). Or buy a glass of beer for 200yen. Tickets need to be purchased from the vending machine to the side of the bar (past the icecream counter). Signs on the machine are in Japanese and English. Take your ticket up to the bar to exchange it for drinks.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank grumpy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yona, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
280 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was more interested in going to the brewery instead but since it was a 30 minute train ride away we came here. It is very interesting and has lots of cool artifacts. At the end of the tour, you go to the tasting room and for 500 yen is a 3 beer sampler. They give you the standard Sapporo black label, then the Sapporo Classic (only available in Hokkaido), and the Kaitakushi beer. All three and good and would recommend the 3 beer sampler as the 200 yen beers are in the same size glass. You can buy some souvenirs at there also. Every easy to access from the JR station, take the north exit from the station to bus stand 2 and then take bus 188. It is non stop bus there. Definitely worth the 200 yen bus fare and free entry into the museum.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank tattskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapporo Beer Museum also viewed

Sapporo, Hokkaido
 

Been to Sapporo Beer Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing