We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving it even more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Okura Sapporo
Ranked #28 of 169 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids had our 2nd stay here at Okura Sapporo in Dec 2013. Again, we stayed at 2 connecting rooms.

I mentioned before this was an old hotel. But it has been maintained amazingly well. 1 room was around 34sqm. In total, we had 68 sqm for the price of US$235 a night! I think it's a steal. Rooms were done in a timeless scheme so it didn't feel dated. The bathroom did feel dated and more annoyingly, water always splashed out when showering. This, and the lack of coin laundry facilities is my only complaint. Otherwise, this will be our our hotel of choice when we visit Sapporo again (which we will since it's such a pleasant city!). Free wifi was super fast.

The area around Okura is also more alive compared to the area around JR Tower. Shopping wise, there is Mitsukoshi, Parco, Pivot, Uniqlo all within 3 minutes of walking. And I find the shopping around here a lot more relaxed. Odori Park is 1 minute away. Nijo Fish Market 10 minute walk away through Tanukikoji. The shuttle bus to the airport is 100m away in front of Hotel Resol Trinity.

Give Okura a try, and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pigletthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Okura Sapporo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 586 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

Okura hotels is one of the best hotels in Japan. This hotel is "the" Okura hotel in Sapporo.
I love this hotel and often stay there, because
- The atmosphere of the hotel is casual (not snob) with a good manner as a first class hotel brand.
- There is no hotel parking, but valet parking. And you don't have to pay tips.
- The room is clean and quiet, and the bed is comfortable enough (not posh).
- The hotel will arrange a baby guard for your baby, when you let the hotel know by e-mail in advance.
- The location is very convenient; within five minutes walk, there are an exit of a subway station, convenient stores, drug stores, Ohdori-park (one of the biggest parks in Sapporo, and there are many events held there), and Tanuki-Koji shopping street, and within ten minutes walk there is a downtown Susukino, the biggest downtown in Hokkaido. So you don't have to worry about eating, shopping, or relaxing.
- The cost is not so high as other first class hotels.

As the reasons above, I'll stay again when visiting Sapporo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We are 2 adults and 2 kids who stayed 2 nights at Hotel Okura Sapporo. Yes, it's an old hotel, but the rooms are fantastically big and every thing is well-maintained. Spent 1 night at Cross and moved to Okura since our quad room at Cross was not available. The regular room at Okura is bigger than the quad room at Cross. The bathroom does feel very aged, but the room itself does not at all feel old.

Service was full on Japanese, excellent, and graceful.

Good location. 4 block walk to the wonderful playground at Odori Park for the 2 boys. 15 second walk to Mitsukoshi. Short walk to Susukino. 10 minute walk to JR Sapporo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigletthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Neutral boring hotel, semi-old rooms, toilets etc...it's just really a place to sleep and nothing more. Location is good, close to metro stations and shops. Next time we will think of a more pleasant hotel with nice interior.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helga107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was visiting Sapporo last winter and stayed at this hotel.
The location is great. 10min walk from Sapporo station and close to a tube station. Not far from interesting places.
The room was comfortable and the staff was nice.
The deco is a bit outdated though.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuillaumeTYO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The room is spacious but a bit dated in terms of decor. Having said that I loved my stay in this hotel. The room was well-appointed, very spacious, and convenient. What I liked most about this hotel is its location. It was close to the park, entertainment & shopping areas...very well situated. If I am visiting Sapporo with a friend and looking for a good base from which to get around I would choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumeirah_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel with our 5 month old baby and even with the crib inside, the bedroom was still very big, modern and spacious. The lobby and buffet area decoration was a bit outdated but still clean and kept in good condition.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miffymiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#7 of 169 in Sapporo
1,221 reviews
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#14 of 169 in Sapporo
1,530 reviews
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#5 of 169 in Sapporo
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Sapporo

Address: 9-1 Nishi 5-Chome Minami 1-Jo, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0061, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Nishi Juitchome Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 169 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range: $89 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Okura Sapporo 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Travelocity, Rakuten, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing