We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big hotel room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Okura Sapporo
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Big hotel room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel with our 5 month old baby and even with the crib inside, the bedroom was still very big, modern and spacious. The lobby and buffet area decoration was a bit outdated but still clean and kept in good condition.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miffymiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    227
    66
    18
    11
See reviews for
150
79
104
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

Good location for exploring Sapporo, nice clean room with very attentive staff, really nice Chinese restaurant within the hotel.
(we stayed here with our 2 year old and she was well received.)
internet available in the room but not wifi !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WW7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

PROS: Attentive good friendly professional service.
In an ideal location - near shopping, restaurants, karaoke, convenience stores, and everything you'd want. Near the Sapporo landmarks...we loved where we were located!
A bit pricey, but yummy breakfast buffet. Japanese and Western style.
Clean!
Steps from bus stop.
Beautiful view of the city & the mountains.
Very quiet & peaceful.

CONS: Room size was average - not small, not very big.
We'd definitely stay here again!!

BOTTOM LINE: Hotel Okura is an elite hotel chain throughout Japan which is why we picked it. It lived up to its name. It was our first time in Sapporo, and this was the perfect hotel to be for first timers since it is steps away from it all.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

A number of hotels were offered as part of a Cathay Pacific holiday package. After reading all the hotel reviews, I settled on Hotel Okura. My mom and I have no regrets staying here and would highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking to spend a few days in Sapporo.

The service is impeccable, and the stuff were fluent in English so no issues with communication at all. The buffet and Japanese breakfasts were really good compared to other hotels we stayed at and the room was a very comfortable size. The hotel is about 5 min walk from the Odori subway and 15 min from the sapporo JR station.

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, spent 2 nights away, then came back to stay 1 more night there. We left the main bulk of our luggage at the hotel for the 2 days we were gone. Upon checking in for our last night, we got up to our room to find our luggages already settled in the room. Also, every morning there was a copy of English newspapers available for us (without special request).

I truly appreciate the service from the hotel staff, their helpful and very friendly personas made a difference to our short stay in Hokkaido

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Okura Sapporo for 3 nights over the new year period. The hotel has a nostaligic 70's feel to it however the lobby, restuarant and room interiors are all very modern and very well maintained.

The rooms are quite large by Japanese standards and well appointed. The room appeared to have been renovated in the past couple of years and looked quite fresh.

One nice touch was the bottle of wine which was placed in the room on NYE with a welcome letter for the new year.

The concierge staff were courteous and very helpful giving useful directions on places to see and how to get to them.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ausmithglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

Stayed there for 4 nights in July 2008. It's a pleasant hotel with a small lobby, more a four star hotel than five star one. It has 3 restaurants, 1 Jap, 1 chinese, 1 western/coffee house which also serves breakfast. Guests whose rooms come with breakfast can choose either the jap set breakfast or western buffet. We tried only the western buffet, which did not have as extensive a selection as we've seen in most other hotels, but taste wise, it's good. We had lunch twice at the jap restaurant at the basement. Food's quite good and the service staff there are very nice. When they saw that my two year old daughter was bored, they gave them some origami paper, pen & paper for her to play with. We ordered 2 lunch sets and they brought an extra bowl of rice for my daughter without any charge and without me even needing to ask.

The staff are helpful, but not all of them are proficient in English, I suppose more japanese guests frequent the hotel than overseas guests.

Room wise, it was the smallest of the 3 japanese hotels we stayed at (but also the cheapest), but it's very decent size for japanese standards. Though the room was small, it had all the typical amenities you see at 4-5* hotels, including a small LCD TV. The room looks quite new/well maintained and has a king size bed (not common for jap hotels).

The hotel is located near Odori Park, and it's within walking distance (10min) to Suskino where there are lots of nice restaurants. Weather was good when we were there, so we took quite a few walks around the area. The hotel is 3 min walk from the Odori subway station, so convenient to get around. 1 subway stop from Sapporo JR station or just a 5 min cab ride.

  • Disliked — bulky room key (prefer card keys which are more convenient)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mexxgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2007

First the bad points - our stay was marred by communication problems as the staff did not speak good English. In fact, one staff refused to contact our Tokyo hotel for us (to inform them in Japanese of our late arrival), I suspect because he simply did not understand us or did not want to deal with us. A restaurant reservation got bungled - we got booked into a different restaurant instead. However, and the good points are many, the room was well-furnished and fitted with every modern gadget necessary for the business/family traveller. The room was bright and modern (unlike the rather dated lobby and exterior). And we were thoroughly surprised when, after mentioning the above incidents in our feedback form, the hotel manager himself turned up at 6.30 am on the morning of our check-out, to apologise for his staff and send us off with packed hotel sandwiches ! Location wise, it is within walking distance to lots of department stores, restaurants, and the Odori subway. However, if you are travelling with very young children and plan to use the JR line a lot, be prepared to carry them up and down lots and lots of stairs into the subway (few elevators if at all) ! We just ended up taking taxis to the JR station, which comes to about 800 yen per trip.

  • Liked — Bright and well-furnished room
  • Disliked — Location away from JR station, English language ability of staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nipponfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#6 of 163 in Sapporo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#12 of 163 in Sapporo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La'gent Stay Sapporo Odori
#15 of 163 in Sapporo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Sapporo Station
Hotel Resol Trinity Sapporo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Okura Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Okura Sapporo

Property: Hotel Okura Sapporo
Address: 9-1 Nishi 5-Chome Minami 1-Jo, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0061, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Nishi Juitchome Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Okura Sapporo 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Orbitz, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Okura Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing