We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The heart of Sapporo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Ranked #4 of 176 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

JR Tower Nikko is the most conveniently located hotel in Sapporo. Also one of the most luxurious. Adjoining the train and bus station, you won't need to hussle to get to anywhere in the city and certainly the surest connection to the airport.

The bad old days of waiting 30 mins to be seated for breakfast in an overcrowded 35th floor restaurant are over. There are now 2 floors open for brekkie as well as the cafe on the ground floor.

The petite lady porters are great. They can even handle my biggest cases. I was a bit reluctant to have them do that, but hey, they insisted as it was their job. Hows that for employee attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HKeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

JR Tower is an impressive, upmarket hotel situated above the Sapporo railway station and a labyrinth of underground shops, restaurants, cafes, take-aways and boutiques. We stayed on the 29th floor with stunning views to the ski fields. Room had a King size bed, large wardrobes and was clean and spacious, as was the Japanese style bathroom which included a hot tub. The army of staff were extremely helpful and polite.
No need to venture into the 'fresh' air of Sapporo as bus and rail terminals are just a few moments walk underground. Sapporo shopping above ground is even more extensive with all the usual upmarket fashion and jewellery shops as well as long arcade/streets under cover with small shops selling everything one could think of. The museum and gardens are a pleasant diversion and, as usual, the Japanese people are polite, friendly and will always return a smile and bow.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaldrickPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

JR Nikko has the best location in Sapporo - it's right beside the JR central station and the way to the hotel is all covered so you don't need to worry about the rain or snow. Daimaru, the Japanese department store, Bic-camera (with all the latest Japanese gadgets) and a big shopping mall are all connected to the hotel.

Service is never a concern in Japan - the staff were so courteous and polite. Their english was perfect and could recommend you the best restaurants to go in Sapporo.

One thing to point out is their save energy program in Japan so their a/c was a bit weak when I was there in late August. It was a little bit stuffy in the reception when there was a lot of people.

Room Tip: Request higher floors for better views. Complimentary Japanese breakfast is on 35/F that you can sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JETSETTER-K861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A great location and helpful staff. Stayed four nights in August and had no complaints. Surprisingly, though, guests were predominantly Japanese tourists from other regions. Didn't see many foreigners or business travelers. I would have guessed this was more a business hotel for international travelers. But this is an excellent hotel for whatever purposes.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Don Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I had a three night stay here in July 2012. The hotel is perfectly located, just next to the central train station and also connected to a shopping mall, so you can easily satisfy any urgent shopping needs without having to navigate your way around Sapporo (though as the city is laid out on a grid system, like Manhattan, getting around is easy enough). The best thing about the hotel is the friendliness of the staff. The concierge went well beyond what I would have expected in sorting out restaurant servations for me, even forwarding me by email a new English language guide to the city that had just been published. When I asked about booking a train to lake Toya, the receptionist did not just advise on the train times but insisted on coming with me to the station to make completely sure that I had the right ticket.

It is important to realize that is a four star rather than a five star hotel, so do not expect vast rooms and luxury toiletries. My room (3320) was a decent size but not large. The shower is one of those where you stand in the bath, though it worked fine. The bed was comfortable, and lighting in the room was good. Air conditioning was via a mobile unit rather than built in, though with Sapporo's climate that was not really an issue. I would certainy happily return. If flying to Sapporo to Chitose international airport be aware that the airport is a long way from the city. Take the fast train (35 minutes) to the central station rather than a taxi, which takes at least an hour and will cost you around $160.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I understand why this hotel is one of the top in Sapporo! We stayed just a night but we enjoyed the great view, fantastic spa, right next to JR station, we didn't even need an umbrella because everything is connected by Chikadou (underground). We get to see the city from the top of the building, nice, English speaking staff, very courteous, they come up to ask me before we try to ask them, the service, room, location, all impeccable!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supportnongmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Directly above the JR Sapporo station, 5 minutes from the turnstile.
I mean, after hours of plane plus an hour of train, you want to slip into bed ASAP!
The rooms are clean as usual Japanese hotels are. Much more roomier than the Tokyo hotels.
Downstairs you will find several huge department stores, Daimaru, etc, with all the shopping and restaurants you want without having to worry about heavy snow outside.
Ideal for families with children.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank subtarget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#14 of 176 in Sapporo
1,593 reviews
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#8 of 176 in Sapporo
1,249 reviews
Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo
#10 of 176 in Sapporo
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Styles Sapporo
#2 of 176 in Sapporo
453 reviews
Century Royal Hotel
#11 of 176 in Sapporo
845 reviews
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
#6 of 176 in Sapporo
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo

Address: 2-5 Kita 5 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 060-0005, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo > Jouzankei Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sapporo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sapporo
#1 Business Hotel in Sapporo
#1 Spa Hotel in Sapporo
#2 Family Hotel in Sapporo
Price Range: $155 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapporo's landmark hotel that opened in 2003 at "JR tower," a business space containing four shopping malls, department stores, movie theaters and medical facilities. With easy access to the adjacent Sapporo Station, this hotel guarantees guests a peaceful experience at an elegant urban resort boasting a natural hot spring spa, four restaurants that offer delicious Hokkaido cuisine, and beautiful views from the guest rooms on the upper floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Rakuten, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jr Hotel Nikko Sapporo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing