We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Google
Ways to Experience Sapporo JR Tower Observatory T38
from $6.96
More Info
Reviews (1,046)
Filter reviews
1,046 results
Traveler rating
406
493
134
12
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
406
493
134
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yen snow jr cityscape february daytime scenery hokkaido
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,046 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2019 via mobile

The view was very beautiful. I could see the mountains where in winter time covered with snow
But I recommended this TOWER BUILDING not only for the view but also for some good facilities in this building.
For example we went to ONSEN, hot spring relaxing bath, that was a real pleasure!!!
And we could enjoy delicious lunch in a hotel inside of this building. ONSEN and lunch were in a set and not so expensive for so good quality
Totally recommended!!!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank lilyuriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2019

This Eiffel-Tower-like "Sapporo TV Tower" is a great place from which to get a panoramic view of the city. It costs little to take the elevator up to the observatory, and it's a great way to orient yourself in Sapporo. Built in 1957, the tower is 483 feet high. It's located at the east end of the Odori Park, a grassy green boulevard with fountains and statues bisecting the northern part of the city from east to west. It's also just north of the Tanuki-koji shoping district, a covered street of shops also running east to west; which, in turn, is just north of the Susukino district, famous, among other things, for its world renown Ramen Alley.

Date of experience: December 2018
3  Thank K811WAphilipb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019 via mobile

Probably best view you can get in sapporo. Tallest observatory in sapporo, think its higher than tv clock tower

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Paradise668338
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

JR Tower Observatory is at the JR Sapporo Station. It is on the 38th floor. Cost 720 Yen. The best feature is the great views from all directions of the tower. Make sure you check out weather conditions first. A cloudy day will not offer any views. There is a gift shop and cafe. The toilets, at least men's toilet have spectacular views also. If you are in the underground shopping area, just look for signs for JR Tower. I believe you must go up to the 7th floor for the ticket counter and information desk. Signage is good and in English. Free wifi. All aspects of this sight is wheelchair accessible.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank bob2bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

I visited the tower with two friends on a winter morning in February. After purchasing the tickets from the small stand below, we were ushered to the elevator and taken to the top viewing platform. If you're not used to heights, the glass elevator can cause vertigo as it powers up to the main platform.

Upon reaching the top, you bypass the gift store (you'll go through there when you leave) and get to the observatory. Unlike Tokyo Tower, there's not much in the way of exhibits, however the views are stunning. You can get clear views up Odori Park, and during the winter snow festival it is a beautiful site. Once you've taken in the views you can decide to get an inscribed coin as a souvenir, otherwise it's back down to the gift shop before leaving.

We spent about 30minutes at the tower. Due to the early hour it wasn't too busy, however I assume it fills up as the day progresses.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Hana-in-bloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews