We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
Nearby Hotels
$170
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$125
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$70
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sapporo Grand Hotel(Sapporo)
$100
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$131
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$106
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$244
$92
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$103
$61
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$211
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$339
$177
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,293)
Filter reviews
1,293 results
Traveler rating
580
600
73
27
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
580
600
73
27
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramen alleyprivilege roomgreat locationaccor membersusukino stationodori parksusukino areaentertainment districtfree shuttlerestaurants and shoppingwalking distancejapanese standardslimousine buschitose airportgood sizegreat roomcrab
Filter
Updating list...
419 - 424 of 1,293 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good things - Great location, very close to many good restaurants and shopping areas. Room is spacious. Parking next door is convenient and just costs 1200Yen per day.

Bad things - Very bad toilet smell, which persisted even after we asked the staff to clean it. Wifi sometimes slow.

Overall, we will not stay there again because of the smell.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 3pig-moto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelSapporo, お客様担当マネージャー at Mercure Hotel Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Mercure Hotel Sapporo, and it was a pleasure to receive such positive feedback regarding the location,restaurant and the room you stayed.

However, we are disappointed to learn of your experience about the clealiness of the bathroom. We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you this time. We have shared your feedback with our management team in order for us to further improve the service we provide to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Sapporo.

Sincerely, 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

fantastic breakfast buffet. great variety. better than any lunch buffet at other places i've been to. room is not big but this is japan. great bang for the buck. nice view. clean and well managed. modern. not too far from the domed market. bit of a walk from the odori park. do check out the ferris wheel a couple blocks away. it's great. nice hotel. very much satisfied. glad we chose this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on the east side are quiet
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelSapporo, お客様担当マネージャー at Mercure Hotel Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Mercure Hotel Sapporo, and it was a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Again, we sincerely thank you for your time taking for writing a feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon on your next visit to Sapporo.

Sincerely, 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Located in the main entertainment area of Sapporo, a place called Susukino, Mercure Hotel Sapporo is an excellent base for your adventures in and around the city. The hotel is also very close to one of Sapporo's food icons - Ramen Yokocho.

Only a few steps away from the hotel, you'll find entrances to Sapporo's underground walkway (under Ekimae Dori) that actually spans from Susukino (southern end of the main CBD area) to Sapporo's Central JR Station (northern end of the CBD area). A walk from Mercure to Sapporo JR Central takes about 20 to 30 mins at a tourist's pace. Around midway along the walkway (10 mins walk), you'll find Poletown - an undergound shopping mall that spans several city blocks. Incidentally, one end of Poletown (the end that intersects Ekimae Dori) is where Odori Park is. Very close by are two subway stations and also the terminus of the streetcar/tram. If you're coming from New Chitose Airport, the Sapporo Chuo bus stops along the street just north west of the hotel - a 3 to 5 minute walk away.

Around the hotel, you'll find bars, karaoke joints, a Mister Donut, a couple of 7-11's and Lawson's, restaurants and cafes. The area is alive at night when the rest of Sapporo city shuts for the night.

Mercure Sapporo supplies wifi in every room along with a CAT5 LAN connection. I've used both during my stay and found it reliable and fast. The rooms are a comfortable size (in Japanese standards) and the bathroom is large. There is a parking garage around the back of the hotel, entry can be gained by driving "underneath" the hotel lobby, just off the main street that Mercure has frontage on. It costs Y1200 per night, but make sure you validate your ticket at the hotel lobby before getting your car out. Note there isn't a coin laundry at the hotel or in the immediate area. Nearest one as far as I know is a short walk away, but I did not need it so I can't say much else.

English is spoken with staff that appear to either be from or educated in other countries. I met with staff that spoke with a Canadian accent and I saw staff with Chinese flags on their badge. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. Although I found larger tour groups can get their attention away from individual travellers.

Buffet breakfast was generally good with no complaints. Not as good as other hotels I've stayed at. However, you've got a reasonable selection of Japanese and western choices. The restaurant is small and if large tour groups staying there turn up to eat at the same time, there'll be a huge line waiting for a table. If you absolutely need to be somewhere or if you need to catch a flight, do ask the lobby staff the night before if they can book you a table.

OVERALL: Great value. Decent room size. Very modern and extremely good location. Food was generally good, but small restaurant. Internet in room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank enjoychewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelSapporo, お客様担当マネージャー at Mercure Hotel Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Mercure Hotel Sapporo and we do appreciate your taking time to write a feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. Also, your detailed explanation of both the hotel and the location can be great help for somone considering to stay us.

Again, we sincerely thank you for choosing Mercure Hotel Sapporo and look forward to welcoming you back again soon on your next visit to Sapporo.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Very nice modern design with a perfect location.

If you are driving, the parking next door is 1,200 Japanese yen for a 24hr period.

Good buffet breakfast with wide variety.

Enjoyed our stay here and there are so many restaurants to choose from all within walking distance

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank glamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelSapporo, お客様担当マネージャー at Mercure Hotel Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post your feedback. We do sincerely appreciate your kind words regarding the location and breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon on your next visit to Sapporo.

Sincerely, 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

On the hotel itself...probably one of the better hotels I've stayed in japan at this price range. Good space, good service, no frills. Pillows unfortunately a bit crappy, though I got to say it seems like every hotel in Japan I go to gives very flat pillows. Location wise pretty central: walking distance from everywhere in Sapporo. Vibrant atmosphere at night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gop S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelSapporo, お客様担当マネージャー at Mercure Hotel Sapporo, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at Mercure Hotel Sapporo, and it was a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Again, we sincerely thank you for your time taking for writing a feedback and are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon on your next visit to Sapporo.

Sincerely, 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews