We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Thoughtful Hotel Staff, the place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Sapporo
Ranked #5 of 165 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent and Thoughtful Hotel Staff, the place to stay”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our trip to Sapporo was hit with much mishaps starting from the day we arrived at the hotel. The hotel staff like Mr Teuaki Umabayashi and Ms Sakai provided us with great assistance and even going out of their way to help us outside of their job scope and working time. While we were coping to handle the situation, Mr Teuaki helped us tremdeously in ensuring that the old folks and kids are well taken care of.

Due to what happened, we hardly got a chance to travel around Sapporo and enjoy the winter wonderland, however Mr Teuaki has provided us much warmth with his kindness in this deep winter. We strongly recommend this hotel on top of it's great location and proximity, it has what that one will look for - friendly and thoughtful staff. Sapporo left a deep impression in us not because of the place but the people like Mr Teuaki whom we have met. We have travelled around and stayed in many different hotels, never had we met staff who truely placed the hotel guests' wellbeing as their priority. When we go back to Sapporo, there is no other 2nd option.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dewhaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    541
    63
    26
    13
See reviews for
333
330
140
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very conveniently located to all entertainment and shopping districts. Lots of restaurants, small eating shops, convenient stores all around the corner. Wouldn't mind staying here again for its convenient location

Room Tip: no special tips. sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjuney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed in Mercure for 2 nights in Sapporo, needless to say I'm very very very satisfied. You can't ask for a better location than this. Right behind it is the ramen alley and just 2 blocks away is Tanuki Koji shopping street which you can access just a few steps away underground. Tons of restaurants and shops nearby, a convenient stores just few steps away. The rooms are big enough unlike hotels in Tokyo and the bathrooms are clean and decent. Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mythary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIngapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice rooms with good breakfast choice though little changes made to menu on alternate days. It's popular with tour group. The hotel is about 5 mins walk to Susukino Station, Exit 3 (Namboku Line) and Pole Town underground mall.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WuMinSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The location is excellent at the heart of sapporo's nightlife, entertainment and food. All within a few minutes walk at a very reasonable price for a renowned 4 star hotel chain. The hotel seems popular with tour groups but the in-room sound proofing is good to block out the racket they make.

Accessibility wise is also good as it is a short walk to airport shuttle bus. But what makes this hotel stand out from the 4 hotels i stayed in Japan for this trip was the excellent service and pro-active attitude of the staff. Considering that service in Japan is excellent. this service was even more outstanding. I wanted to bring my children to Kiroro resort for skiing lessons but as the website was in Japanese, the hotel staff actually booked the skiing lessons for my family and also went beyond their call by actually telling me the bus schedule to the ski resort and which timing was the best. They then communicated with Kiroro resort that was 60km away to confirm our reservation. Besides that,they also provided other alternative resorts. The staff will be always willing to help if you ask them. That alone is the reason why i would choose to stay at this hotel in future because of the excellent customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms are good in general
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mel7155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureHotelSapporo, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mercure Hotel Sapporo, responded to this review, April 27, 2015
Thank you so much for your feedback.
I am so pleased to hear you found our staff efficient and helpful and enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon

Kindest regards
Isao OTOMO
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Rooms were clean. The lobby is not on street level.

The reason I didn't give it a perfect score: No free parking. It is offered at a discounted rate though.

Also a common problem in Japanese hotels: Insufficient power plugs for chargers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rivest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are a good size, with sufficient supplies of bathroom amenities. Location is also convenient as it's near the subway station n close to the shopping belt. Service was good and staff try hard to accommodate requests.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrislye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sapporo hotels
Ibis Styles Sapporo
#3 of 165 in Sapporo
379 reviews
Cross Hotel Sapporo
#7 of 165 in Sapporo
1,197 reviews
Jouzankei Onsen
JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishi Juitchome Station
Sapporo Grand Hotel
Sapporo Grand Hotel
#14 of 165 in Sapporo
1,498 reviews
Keio Plaza Hotel Sapporo
#10 of 165 in Sapporo
954 reviews
Sapporo Park Hotel
#8 of 165 in Sapporo
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Sapporo

Property: Mercure Hotel Sapporo
Address: 2-2-4 Minami 4 Jo Nishi, Chuo-ku, Sapporo 064-0804, Hokkaido
Location: Japan > Hokkaido > Sapporo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 165 Hotels / Ryokan in Sapporo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Sapporo 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Sapporo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing